Newton Public Schools Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Behavior Therapist (Former Employee) –  Newton, MAAugust 21, 2017
Exciting work environment which allowa you to introduce your skills and abilities i whatever areas you are willing to work in. It provides a healthy atmosphere and well adjusted schooling system.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
School Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Newton, KSAugust 9, 2017
School social workers address the psychological and social well-being of students, ranging from elementary school to university students. They provide information and counseling and help students, parents and school staff work together to solve problems by communicating and providing referrals to other resources.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great start..
Systems Administrator (Current Employee) –  Newton, MAAugust 7, 2017
The district is a fairly fast-paced society requiring IT employees to be quick to respond and be extremely resourceful to find solutions to often near impossible problems. The union representation provides a certain job security not often found in today's industry.
Pros
vacation, sick time, pension
Cons
less pay, no lateral movement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair work practices
Executive Chef (Former Employee) –  Newton, MAJuly 10, 2017
Great kids, Great education profile. the educational aspect of Newton public schools is top notch. The school administration takes great pride in there program, with focus on student curriculum.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Janitor
Custodian (Current Employee) –  Covington, GAApril 30, 2017
I've worked first and second shift before and both have pros and cons but the company is okay for the most part. This is a job where you get paid monthly as well so if that's okay with you I welcome you to apply
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing community
Behavior Therapist (Current Employee) –  Newton, MAMarch 22, 2017
I actually look forward coming to work everyday. I learn so much from my supportive coworkers and students. Every day is a new learning experience for me!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great community of learners
Behavioral Therapist (Current Employee) –  Newton, MAMarch 11, 2017
My experience has been overall positive. The teachers and administration are generally supportive and friendly. Teachers provide a positive, creative, and effecive learning environments. Students really seem to enjoy coming to school! One area of need for the school I work in is the special education department is very disjointed. They need to be more approachable, and follow up with employees when concerns are expressed. Staff report to too many supervisors which is confusing. Their focus should be geared towards modeling, and discussing their expectations rather than solely pointing out implementation flaws with no feedback provided. Overall, it is a great place to work.
Pros
Friendly, hard working staff, can advance, great families and students, supportive administration, great learning environment for students
Cons
Special education team need to be more cohesive, provide positive feedback, learning opportunities to correct errors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Public School
Special Education Paraprofessional (Former Employee) –  Newton, MAMarch 2, 2017
Great public school system. Very large district. Good support from staff and teachers. Worked in special education and felt that it was a strong educational community.
Pros
compensation
Cons
large district
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked there for 33 year was a good place to work and the staff was hard working
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newton, MSJanuary 30, 2017
It was and still is a wonderful place to work. The staff in the central office where I was they were professional. We were a family that helped each other. We had paper work and deadlines to deal with all the time. The Superintendent was very professional. Overall in my years we all got along and did our jobs.
Pros
good retirement, great holidays
Cons
couldnt have everybody
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was nice to work with good people.
Food Server (Former Employee) –  Newton County, TXNovember 14, 2016
I would get there in the morning and help make breakfast (stock coolers) Then we would serve breakfast. Then clean up (wash dishes) and then get ready for lunch. After we served lunch we would clean up ( wash dishes, sweep, mop, take out trash) then get ready for the next morning.
Pros
Good people
Cons
I was a sub so i never knew if or when i worked until that morning
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MIddle School
Clinician (Current Employee) –  Newton, MAJune 23, 2016
I enjoyed my time working in the middle school program. I enjoyed the inclusion program and working with students to increase their speech and language skills to access the middle school curriculum.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with children with a disability
Teacher's Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newton, NJApril 18, 2016
I enjoy the environment and working with the students, however, there is no room for advancement as my degree is in social work.
Pros
Hours, children
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job for semi retired
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Newton, KSNovember 29, 2015
never had any problems with the school system or the kids great place to be if there was more hours available. The management was great and never questioned the safety of the kids or the driver.
Pros
hometime
Cons
lack of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable, good working community
Behavioral Therapist (Current Employee) –  Newton, MAJuly 27, 2015
I enjoy working here. The kids are easy to build a rapport with. I have learned more about the education field since working here. Co-workers are easy to get along with and the hours are great!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large district
Occupational Therapist (Current Employee) –  Newton, MAJune 14, 2015
Dynamic programming, exceptional teachers, and staff. This district continually pushes educators to be the best at what we do. Unique within buildings
Pros
Large district, mentorship program
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality education for children with special needs
Behavior Therapist (Former Employee) –  Newton, MAMarch 15, 2015
Providing direct instruction to children with special needs. Incredibly rewarding yet very challenging at the same time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellence in teaching K-12
Art Teacher (Former Employee) –  Newton, MAOctober 11, 2014
Morning:
Classes K-6 at elementary school
Afternoon:
Classes 7-12 afternoon

Working knowledge of children and development appropriate lessons throughout K-12.
Acute organization of materials and curriculum always provided..


Most difficult part of the job was time management; ie. getting from one place to another.

Most enjoyable part of job was the children.

Collegiality and people skills needed to interact effectively with varied staff, parents at more than one school
Pros
Art room beginning and end ofyear time for room and inventory set up.
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Classroom Aide (Current Employee) –  Newton, MAFebruary 22, 2013
i thought it was Ok. I just didn't see much for advancement or really, pay. I was always broke. Everyone was nice though. Newton Parents are great at my school - not at others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, friendly environment with many learning opportunities
School Psychology Intern (Former Employee) –  Newton, MAJuly 12, 2012
The teachers and staff that I worked with in the Newton Public Schools were very professional and friendly. I had the opportunity to learn through hands-on practice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisted in 2nd grade classrooms
Second Grade Teacher Aide (Former Employee) –  Newton, MAApril 30, 2012
Early teaching experience with two second grade classrooms. I learned how to run a successful classroom from a veteran teacher and a second year teacher. I also worked closely with special education students as well as special needs students.
Pros
running a successful classroom, colleagues
Cons
compensation, no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Newton Public Schools. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.5
Culture
3.8

Newton Public Schools Reviews by Location