Newton Public Schools Employee Reviews in United States

See reviews about:
Showing all 9 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with children with a disability
Teacher's Assistant (Current Employee) –  Newton, NJApril 18, 2016
I enjoy the environment and working with the students, however, there is no room for advancement as my degree is in social work.
Pros
Hours, children
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable, good working community
Behavioral Therapist (Current Employee) –  Newton, MAJuly 27, 2015
I enjoy working here. The kids are easy to build a rapport with. I have learned more about the education field since working here. Co-workers are easy to get along with and the hours are great!
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large district
Occupational Therapist (Current Employee) –  Newton, MAJune 14, 2015
Dynamic programming, exceptional teachers, and staff. This district continually pushes educators to be the best at what we do. Unique within buildings
Pros
Large district, mentorship program
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality education for children with special needs
Behavior Therapist (Former Employee) –  Newton, MAMarch 15, 2015
Providing direct instruction to children with special needs. Incredibly rewarding yet very challenging at the same time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellence in teaching K-12
Art Teacher (Former Employee) –  Newton, MAOctober 11, 2014
Morning:
Classes K-6 at elementary school
Afternoon:
Classes 7-12 afternoon

Working knowledge of children and development appropriate lessons throughout K-12.
Acute organization of materials and curriculum always provided..

Most difficult part of the job was time management; ie. getting from one place to another.

Most enjoyable part of job was the children.

Collegiality and people skills needed to interact effectively with varied staff, parents at more than one school
Pros
art room beginning and end ofyear time for room and inventory set up.
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Classroom Aide (Current Employee) –  Newton, MAFebruary 22, 2013
i thought it was Ok. I just didn't see much for advancement or really, pay. I was always broke. Everyone was nice though. Newton Parents are great at my school - not at others.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, friendly environment with many learning opportunities
School Psychology Intern (Former Employee) –  Newton, MAJuly 12, 2012
The teachers and staff that I worked with in the Newton Public Schools were very professional and friendly. I had the opportunity to learn through hands-on practice.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisted in 2nd grade classrooms
Second Grade Teacher Aide (Former Employee) –  Newton, MAApril 30, 2012
Early teaching experience with two second grade classrooms. I learned how to run a successful classroom from a veteran teacher and a second year teacher. I also worked closely with special education students as well as special needs students.
Pros
running a successful classroom, colleagues
Cons
compensation, no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes3No6

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 9 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture