Find companies:
Next Step Living
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

Next Step Living Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Senior Solar Rating Analyst (Current Employee), Boston, MADecember 2, 2014
Next Step living is a good company to work for with a friendly atmosphere and with plenty of career paths to follow within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity
Outreach Event Rep Manager (Current Employee), Boston, MANovember 22, 2014
They are well respected in the industry and grow very fast. Gives solid foundation and has strong support base.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great growing company
Weatherization tech (Former Employee), Boston, MAOctober 31, 2014
company was great I was with them for 3 years and started from the bottom as a tech in training after a completion of a weatherization course and moved my way up to running a truck with a crew of 3 men and keeping a stocked truck and materials loaded prior to each job aswell as customer interaction and problem solving dealing with homeowners personally – more... to inform them on the completion of the job – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Our customers deserve the best
Account Manager (Current Employee), Boston, MAOctober 12, 2014
The job has changed a lot from the culture initially found. Because we offer more, our customers expect more from us. Only you as their account manager, can really provide the sort of service that customers deserve.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent, on field
Outreach Representative (Current Employee), New Haven, CTAugust 7, 2014
Pros: work independently, flexible schedule, hourly or commission
Cons: driving far, non receptive people
A few hour shifts at events. Each day is different. Management sends you a calendar of events for you to attend each week. You work alone most of the time. You sometimes have to drive far out for an event. Pick up supplies at the office location whenever you run out. The hardest part is having people be receptive towards you and give them your time – more... to talk to them. It's very rewarding when you sign someone up because you make commission off of it but also knowing you helped another family save energy to save the environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sold the Dream/Bought a Lemon
Sales (Current Employee), BostonJune 21, 2014
Cons: see above
Biggest mistake of my life, love the concept, the customers, and coworkers.
Management is horrible and don't even try going to HR they laugh at you.
If you have a disability don't apply offices are on the second floor and they have NO elevator, and if your GAY they'll make your life a living Nightmare til you vacate they lie about the salary telling – more... you you'll make xyz then once onboard they explain it's really abc. Stay clear away unless your unemployment is about to run out – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Mission, Poor Execution
Coordinator (Current Employee), BostonMay 6, 2014
Pros: high energy workplace, great overall mission and business idea
Cons: expensive benefits, absurd goals, poor management and communication
One of a kind company with great mission on how to make green energy an easier path for people to take. Incredibly fast paced constantly changing work environment filled with young people.

That being said, they have a serious lack of poor oversight, management and communication between departments and among all levels of the company. Not much room – more... to grow and develop as everyone is incredibly overwhelmed by their workload, competition for postitions within is fierce. They tend to hire/promote based on ability to do a job, not based on whether that person may be a good fit for management, etc.

Goals by set by upper management are never achievable and limited resources are given to make up the difference.

There is no or very limited accountability for unprofessional behavior and the turnover rate for employees is exceptionally high. They tend to attract top talent, take them for granted, and burn out those employees and then replace them.

Enjoyable part of job is working with young energetic group of peers. Hardest part of job is working around the clock and reporting to people who are to inexperienced to properly manage.

Limited on the job training, constantly moving goals and targets and limited communication. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Young Fun Crowd
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Boston, MAApril 9, 2014
Though the office culture is young and fun it was at times hard to enjoy my time here because:
- the serious lack of communication within the company
- employees were consistently late and never reprimanded
- transferring calls to other departments were a challenge because no one wanted to take the calls
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It flows downhill.
Home Energy Advisor (Former Employee), Boston, MASeptember 5, 2013
Pros: the end goal of the work is well intentioned
Cons: not all of the people here are contributing in a useful way. employee turnover is high, and pay is low. not a place to build a career.
Typical day at work includes 2-3 site visits to residential customers. There we conduct combustion safety testing and examine the building shell for possible improvements. Insulation may be simple but working with the varieties of structures is not always so. Assignment of leads occurs well after hours, the expectation is that you will log in at 9 pm – more... to receive the next day's assignment. Long days are the norm for field staff.

I learned about building science and how heat and moisture moves within a building. I also learned about how NSL is very much a two-tier company with a large pool of high-turnover auditors, and an 'elite' group of b-school grads and consulting dropouts who think their spreadsheets hold all the answers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting challenges of troubled female adolescents
Founder/Director/Owner (Former Employee), Celina, TXJuly 29, 2013
Pros: founded the first of it's kind in the country
Cons: client payments
Re-establishing healthy relationships for client with family, school, education, employment, social, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home Energy Efficiency new business development and energy assesments
Outreach Program Manager (Former Employee), Boston, MAFebruary 27, 2013
Pros: doing good things for the environment and economy
Cons: rapid growth of company presented many challenges with implementations of systems.
I started at Next Step Living over 3 years ago and worked there until 2/19/13. I started doing home energy assessments, focusing primarily on the Mass Save program and was promoted in 7/12 to the Outreach dept. I managed a group of 6 people promoting our company's services in the south shore region of MA. The company has grown from 70 to 450 employees – more... since I started. I enjoyed the people I worked with and the people we served on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day at work
Outreach Event Assistant (Current Employee), Boston, MANovember 5, 2012
Pros: good pay, good commissions.
Cons: negative prospects.
A typical day in my job start mostly going to a new places, them meeting new people and giving promotion to Home Energy Efficiency. My manager is a good person always understand problems that come up during an event and give solution to it. My co-workers are awesome. the hardest part of the job is the people who believe that knows everything, and do – more... not take advantage of awesome products. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Weatherization and Insulation Technician (Current Employee), Boston, MAJuly 22, 2012
A typical day is getting your supplies and equipment ready for the job of that day. We learn about the building envelopes from working on the exterior walls, attics and basements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job description disliked the treatment I received
LOGISTICS COORDINATOR (Former Employee), Boston, MAMay 22, 2012
Pros: loved my job description
Cons: no benifits, no value, not fair
I love the job that I had within this company but did not like the treatment they gave me while I worked so hard for them during my pregnancy! I was a valuable employee that never showed up late, never called out, and always did all of my work with time in advance leaving me with free time to get other work done, that they could not finish themselves.