Find companies:
NextCare Urgent Care
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

NextCare Urgent Care Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AWFUL, STAY AWAY
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Mesa, AZMarch 31, 2014
Pros: can make good money
Cons: no breaks, brutal hours
Very clique oriented, managers play favorites & rely on office gossip. All about making money & not patient care. Promote atmosphere of bad medicine, promote return visits from drug seeking abusive patients. Work you like a dog 12-15 hour days with no lunch breaks or any breaks at all. Don't know how they get away with it. Not employee oriented, minimal – more... vacation time & if you call off sick, you have to make shift up in the same week. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adrenalin pumping office that keeps you on your toes.
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 10, 2014
Pros: 12 hour shifts; time differencial after 10 hours.
Cons: healthcare was not that great.
Days very between busy or slow depending on sick season of course however keep you on your toes with emergencies.

Co-workers were kind and very helpful in any situation.

The most enjoyable thing about this job was the variety of situations and challenges that were faced on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proceed with caution
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Mesa, AZMarch 6, 2014
Pros: decent pay
Cons: bad management, toxic environment
Oh boy this place is a mess. Management plays favorites openly and allows the favorites to run the place. Gossip is widespread and even with a number of complaints to my manager about other employees controlling the work atmosphere with gossip nothing was done and was still seeing one individual who was the main culprit in the gossip being promoted. – more... I saw many good working people being unfairly fired because they weren't liked by the popular ones. I luckily stayed under the radar. Pay was OK but there was very little flexibility in schedule and hours and sometimes the work environment was oppressive. At one point we weren't allowed to go to the bathroom unless we had permission which was ridiculous, we were often treated like children. Felt like was being scrutinized all the time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative assistant
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Mesa, AzJanuary 20, 2014
Provided costumer assistance at front desk. Helped with marketing projects as well as EMR charting research.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, Caring, Great Benefits
Business Office clerk to Executive Receptionist (Former Employee), Mesa, AZJanuary 6, 2014
I loved working at NextCare Urgent Care! NextCare is a large company, however I felt like a part of a family working there.
I had full time hours that they allowed me to customize to my life. They were always positive and management was kind and not overbearing allowing me to work comfortably. I learned a great deal in various jobs and my co-workers – more... were always willing to help and courteous. Holidays were the most fun as the office was allowed to decorate, have contests and bring in delicious food, as well as company BBQ'S with the CEO, CFO, and COO. It was a very positive and family like environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company.
RTR (Current Employee), Greensboro, NCDecember 26, 2013
This was a good company. I worked part-time/full time. I enjoyed the time I was employed. Good employees and environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Patient Service Specialist (Former Employee), Gastonia, NCSeptember 28, 2013
Pros: some employers were great to work around
Cons: no authorized breaks/lunch, had to sneak off to eat
Busy atmosphere. Hardly saw the manager. No ethics. Money coming in was the priority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy environment
Patient Service Specialist (Current Employee), Fredericksburg, VAAugust 27, 2013
Pros: holidays are paid double, discounted sick visits for employe and household
Cons: no lunch breaks, barely get restroom breaks
Nextcare Urgent Care is and ok place to work. They provide full time employes ( 32 hrs or more per week) with benefits such as medical, dental, vision and so on.
At first the position is ok working 12 hr shifts 2 days per week and a 6 hr shift on fridays and every other weekend. When you have children that still depends on you if gets hard. They are – more... open 8-8pm which makes you 12 hr shifts more like 12.5 shifts or longer because you have to arrive 30 mins prior to your shift to get ready and set your work station. During flu season it gets tough because there has been times I have stayed at work until 11pm due to patient flow and long wait times. Most of the time there is only one person at the front desk working and that is YOU. No lunch break you eat when you can during you work days.
Co workers are ok certain clinics ( 5 in my area) make up there own rules such as what injuries they will see, what physicals they will and not perform. Things like that makes me mad because we are not our own individual clinic we are based out of Arizona and the rules are supposed to be the same across the boarder.
Also there are no limits as to when the last patient is to be seen so basically it could be 7:59pm ( yes one minute until close) and if 3 people walk through the door we HAVE to see them!!!!
Over all the company is ok to work for...Ive been there for one year and my experience with the company has not been the best but hasnt been bad either. The pay is good for me ( way above minimum wage), its local and my manager is very very good towards his employees. I have a family and the hours are not working for me anymore. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Employee (not disgruntled just relieved) :)
Medical Payment Poster (Former Employee), Mesa, AZAugust 14, 2013
Pros: coworkers
Cons: management at all levels
While employed at Nextcare I experienced a VERY hi turnover due to the poor management group they rely on. These incompetent group of inconsiderate individuals find it amusing to attack people who they think are a threat to them and make you feel as though you are doing something wrong and have to look over your shoulder. You do the best you can with – more... the training given or shall I say the lack thereof. When you are given reviews you are expected to work with your co-workers but then if you are caught saying good morning or asking a work related question while not on break you are given a verbal warning then a write up. CONFUSSING????? Management DOES use foul language towards their employees, creates management clicks, and asks for suggestions on how to ideas but when given they take full credit when it works in their favor, totally DOUBLE standard. There are a group of women in their Business Office at Corporate that find it entertaining to promote employees then eventually terminate them and laugh about what they have done behind closed doors. If you would like to work at this level of IMMATURITY this is the company for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A step below an ER. One will gain extensive knowledge working in an rgent care.
Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJuly 16, 2013
Pros: training new employess.
Cons: having to hurry and eat your lunch
The hours were long. I had worked a few 16 hr shifts. Other than that, I enjoyed my job. Management was different at times. The turn-over was high.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for company was fun.
Customer Service Specialists (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCMay 21, 2013
Pros: exciting busy work enviorment.
Cons: i worked there when company was going through changes in mangement and cutbacks.
Very busy office. Heavy customer service and billing accounts. Daily deposits and night reports.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee), Woodbridge, VAMarch 26, 2013
Pros: good place to work
Every day presents new challenges and always feels good to be able stand up to all those challenge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management and Flexibility
RT Clinical Care Specialist (Current Employee), Fredericksburg, VAMarch 21, 2013
Pros: great manager who understands that value of good patient care, and knows how to keep employees with minimum stress due to work
Cons: lack of advancement
My manager at nextcare is great, he agrees that his is there to smooth over any situations that arise in which we as techs cannot handle. He is like big brother to all allowing time off when needed for personal matters as long as clinic back and front offices are staffed. Since working for the company I have trained to work side by side with medical – more... assistants drawing blood and running labs which is something not covered in xray school. – less

Hosein – June 4, 2013

Sounds like the manager,lets staff run the show and is absent unless there is a crisis. Sounds like absenteeism is how the management strategy works. Funny, the person said there was no opportunity to advance.guess Big Brother isn't growing his team to move up. Oh, right the organization isn't designed that way,so why would a manager try to train someone to take his spot?

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work for nothing! - Former Empolyee
Radiology Technologist (Former Employee), Calle Santacruz, Tucson AZFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: i guess it's a job!
Cons: well just read my review and the others! there are too many for this little box!
Although the providers there are great to work with.......Management and corporate are nothing but CORPERATE! There is never job security because corperate does not know who works for them and DOES NOT CARE! The coperation DOES NOT cover any portion of the healthcare benefits provided! (Unacceptable for a medical practice)! As far as patients go, they – more... dont care about that either. Their goal is to have the providers spend the least amount of time with the patient as can be possible! Hence faster times = more money for Coperate!!!!!!!! There is little advancement because there staff is ever changing. Most empoyees don't last more then a year! There is a constant turn-around of staff! They seem to get rid of "star" employees, and chase away the others! Two words for anyone who works here. Good Luck! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
former employee - Corporate Billing Office
Accounts Receivable Representative (Former Employee), Mesa, AZFebruary 19, 2013
Pros: good hourly pay
Cons: no consistency in management
No room for advancement, Team Leads, Supervisors and Manager have a way of not communicating to their employee's. Policy's and procedures would change constantly leaving one to question decisions being made. There was never a firm way to do things. If a call came in and on your line, you answered it even if it was not a payor that you had not worked – more... with. The pay was good, the benefits were expensive, time off was questionable during holiday time. PTO and Holiday time off were combined. If Christmas fell on Saturday you did not get the day before or the day after off, and that went for all of the major holidays. The co-worker's I worked with were good, but most of them have left for other positions outside of the company. If Management could get their act together as well as upper management, NextCare would be a great company to work for. For now, they have a lot of work ahead of them. From being audited by Medicare and fines that were paid, they are facing an uphill battle. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
corporate is ok
customer service marketing (Former Employee), mesa,azNovember 27, 2012
Pros: competitive salary
Cons: the office can use some fun and motivation.
I use to work in mesa, az the main HQ for the nextcare urgent care. The place is ok, but not friendly. I would say the moral and environment is less than friendly and lack of life. Once a while you will hear the vp of marketing yell something random and sometimes uncall for. The vp and the director of marketing make funny sayings and inside jokes to – more... each other which sometimes is creepy and weird. Overall the place is ok , but don't expect anything else. Its a plain corporate office life with old people. – less

GBlady – February 13, 2013

He/she graduated from the University of Phoenix? Where anyone can get a degree if you pay up.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of responsiblity, overall a good place to work.
Clinical Care Specialist (Current Employee), Fredericksburg, VAOctober 26, 2012
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: unsupportive higher management. lots of responsibility
I enjoy my job greatly, I am currently trying to move closure to family.
This job is flexible but carries a lot of resposiblity. As an Xray tech, I was able to learn multiple other skills here. There are a few management issues that I feel need to be addressed by someone of power in the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Patient Services Specialist (Former Employee), Wilmington, NCOctober 2, 2012
Pros: online classes for emr.
Checked patients in and out, verified insurances. Mulit line phones.
Hated I was laid off.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great coworkers
Patient Service Specialist (Current Employee), Avondale, AZSeptember 6, 2012
Pros: work 3 days a week then done
Cons: cut back on hours, not guaranteed 40hrs a week
Downside just like any medical workplace would be the mean/rude patients. But we get over it with coworkers laughing and of course the nice patients and drug reps.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good place to work and learn
Accounts receivable (Former Employee), Mesa, AZJuly 19, 2012
Pros: bonus check
I enjoyed working account receivable Worker Compensations, appeals, claims status, resubmitting the claims, research claims, calling the claim adjuster and taking inbound calls