Nielsen Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible culture
Client Support (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILNovember 20, 2017
Fantastic place for those with a passion for growth. You'll work with the brightest people in media, and have unlimited opportunities to challenge yourself. High integrity, inclusive, supportive all come to mind.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
INTERVIEWER (Former Employee) –  Oldsmar, FLNovember 20, 2017
It was a great enviroment to work and gain expirience. Has losts of groups to join so one can comunicate with other employees and gain knoledge of job opportunity withing the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-pace environment with lots of work and opportunities to make good money
Research Interviewing Agent / Arbitron Inc (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDNovember 19, 2017
Best call center job with great pay. Great training that really prepared you for the job. The management team is supporting and understanding. The job is great for full time or part-time. I would work there again if I relocated back to the area..
Pros
Bonuses and Working extra hours
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
managed greensboro and raleigh tv ratings markets.
Field Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCNovember 15, 2017
the job required every other week to be away from home in the Raleigh market. They wanted to add another market to me in Roanoke taking me away from home 2 out of every 3 weeks with no increase in pay. They kept increasing my workload, but not my pay.
Pros
independence
Cons
too much travel and paperwork and long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to Work
Research Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 15, 2017
Soon as you come out of a 3 week training you have only one week to maintain the quota or you are let go. The Team Leaders do not help you and expect you to do thing on your own. The coaching was useless.
Cons
Lack of Proper Training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great schedule but closing soon doing no new hiring
TV Diary Editor (Former Employee) –  Venice, FLNovember 15, 2017
Offered both a days and night shift great schedule for people. I work in editing the paper tv diaries sent to household across the country. This part of the company will be closing within the next 6 months due to the technologic advances of electronic monitoring of tv viewing.
Pros
Great schedule for those that might need more freedom
Cons
Closing within 6 months; entire department for paper tv diaries will close.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Interviewer
Research Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 8, 2017
• Manually dialed households utilizing a keypad while following specific dialing guidelines.
• Persuaded reluctant respondents to participate in surveys and diaries
• Listened to and accurately capture respondent answers over the phone.
• Maintained a high level of patience and professionalism throughout lengthy surveys.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intersting place to work
Senior Sample specialist (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYNovember 8, 2017
Ever changing environment
fast paced
Very customer service based with a lot of data analytics
You get to see every aspect of market research
Never get bored
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for Nielsen
Role - Project Manager/Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Oldsmar, FLNovember 7, 2017
Excellent company to work for although has changed dramatically over the past 10 years. Much opportunity to advance if you wish and facility in Oldsmar is phenomenal
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work and advance your career
Field Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 3, 2017
Nielsen is no stranger to the industry and community. I was only employed for four years and held first the part time field rep position then the full time field rep position and was more than happy working in either. Eventually I found another company that better matched what I wanted for my self schedule wise but I continue to use the skills and knowledge I gained while working at Nielsen and with the field reps there to push my self and career down the right path. I've recommended Nielsen to others as a great place to work and would consider returning to work there myself.
Pros
benefits including transportation
Cons
Random encounters with sample homes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, but the most unorganized job I've ever been on
Research Interviewer (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXNovember 1, 2017
I know all the head Bosses to the Head Ceo. Most unorganized place I've been a part of. I knew the job better than most of my bosses. Was there for 3yrs Til I said it was time to go.
Pros
Potlucks
Cons
Dead-in Job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
Field Representative - Trainee (Former Employee) –  Oldsmar, FLNovember 1, 2017
I was in the training for fiel rep but didnt score high enough to advance., excellent surroundings and people who work there.

the environment was also great to be in during the training process
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
Client Manager, Professional Services (Former Employee) –  Parsippany, NJNovember 1, 2017
I enjoyed working at Nielsen. A great amount of flexibility; managing your own schedule and delivered client satisfaction. Working on a good team is essential and satisfying.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nielsen is a greate place to launch and grow your career path
PROGRAM MANAGER, Input Operations (Former Employee) –  Cherry Hill, NJOctober 31, 2017
I really liked working at Nielsen. The people are great and the working environment is casual. There was a lot of opportunity for career growth for those who wanted to take advantage of it. Management, in my experience was very good. The hardest part of the job was sometimes the hours you put in to meet deadlines.
Pros
Ability to work remotely. Traveling
Cons
Traveling required
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's not bad. But not good.
Research Interviewer (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 31, 2017
Gain Customer Service, Marketing, & Sales experience. Not very mind stimulating. Repetitive. It's alright. I would recommend it as a temporary entry level job.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
No growth advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Creative Environment
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 30, 2017
Working for Nielsen was a challenging & fast paced environment. Supporting 500 associates along with a 50 member support staff offered it's unique set of challenges, as well as, rewards.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a spare holder job until a better one shows up.
Membership Representative (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 30, 2017
Salary is incredibly low. Shocked that the starting salary in SoCal would be 35K. This is a livable wage in Birmingham, AL or Spartanburg, SC, but not California.

A tech company that weekly has computer issues. Unrealistic work schedule to meet quota .
Pros
Company Car
Cons
I'd rather get .55 per mile for using my own vehicle
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work with good work life balance
Senior Analyst (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 30, 2017
Challenging work with good work life balance. The job requires analytical thinking, project management, good communication skills. Opportunities to grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and balanced
MVPD Vertical Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 26, 2017
Good place to work. As an intern I got paid as much as the fast food workers did. But with how little work my manager had for me it was alright. Pretty relaxed about summer Fridays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging And great opportunity for growth
Quality Control (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PROctober 24, 2017
Great place for the ambitious. It is a data driven company so if youre data savvy you will always have an area for growth and development. Anything can be measured and sold as information
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Nielsen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 1,472 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7