Niemann Foods Employee Reviews

Showing all 12 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work but no full time positions
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Champaign, ILFebruary 13, 2017
Customer service as a cashier was a blast. Management is understanding and willing to work with your school schedule.

Unfortunately there is no opportunity for full time positions.
Pros
Flexible with scheduling
Cons
Only part time, No options of full time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very boring
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Tilton, ILOctober 25, 2016
stock shelves and bring products from backroom to shelves. Cashier's duty is to clean belts and ring up customers. Never enough to do
Pros
clock in is better
Cons
time in a half for holidays, short hours, and management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Petersburg, ILMay 6, 2016
Overall all of the people involved in the company, whether employees or management are very friendly. It's a little hectic at first when you become part of the Niemann Foods Family but soon after it is easy to get used to. The hardest part about the job is providing the best customer you can give.
Pros
Breaks, new items
Cons
30 minute lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail work experience
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Charleston, ILFebruary 15, 2016
Day to day operation can be mundane. Not a lot of room for growth, leaves one desiring more opportunity and responsibility.
Pros
Co worker relationships
Cons
Small chance of advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An average place to work.
Deli & Prep. Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sherman, ILJuly 1, 2015
A typical day at work for me would include opening the deli at 6 AM and preparing food for the day. I did learn some things but overall it was mostly things that I have known most of my life. My co-workers were great! It was a lot of fun to get to know everyone and some of us still keep in touch. The management was great until my last year working there. They just wouldn't work with my schedule enough. The hardest part of the job was getting the food out at a decent time on the weekends or on holidays because we were so busy. My favorite part about the job was working with the people there.
Pros
Free lunch on payday
Cons
Early morning shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a stable job with insurance
Receiver (Current Employee) –  210 E. Carpenter St, Spfld Ill.March 3, 2014
I love working by myself. Developing a working relationship with the out side vendors. Learning the grocery business is very interesting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
frozen food manager/ stocker
Frozen Food Manager (Former Employee) –  Pekin, ILFebruary 25, 2014
stocking, ordering, facing my aisle was a typical day. Helping costumers and other employees.
Pros
working with people
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful atmosphere to work in-great community
Store Director (Former Employee) –  Quincy, ILFebruary 10, 2014
Hardest part of the job was transitioning from running three stores to focusing on only one. The most satisfying part of the job was watching the sales numbers grow.
Pros
Wonderful management
Cons
Not alot of room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CEO of the company was great. (Rich Niemann Senior)
Store Manager,Produce Director (Former Employee) –  Quincy, ILOctober 17, 2013
Working with associates & communicating with customers.
The hardest part was letting someone go, who was trying hard but could not do the job.
The best part was helping associates to achive there full potentials.
Pros
Excellent pay
Cons
Family Owened
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Job with ups and downs
Bakery/Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mattoon, ILMarch 11, 2013
I worked in two departments and was working a swing shift, a normal week for me was to be at work by 2 a.m. one day and 3 p.m. the next, it was hard to switch back and forth, I love the costumer interaction, which was probably my favorite part, I got along with my co-workers and my managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for career advancment; Extreme favortism
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Petersburg IllinoisMarch 10, 2012
The values of the company are exceptional, but the execution of the values are horrible. The culture of the company is that they hold themselves to the highest standard, however in reality the knowingly cut corners, short change dedicated employees, and just do not care.
Pros
paid 15 minute breaks
Cons
ego trip managment
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Niemann Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8