Nomac Drilling Employee Reviews

Found 92 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Floorhand (Former Employee) –  El Reno, OKMarch 28, 2017
Nomac Drilling is a good company to work for that takes good care of their employees. They have great benefits and a great 401k program. They are a safe company as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
oil field job
Rig technician- (Former Employee) –  Casper, WYMarch 19, 2017
rig mechanic oilfield job. I was a rig mechanic nothing special. Troubleshot equipment and fixed it. mostly maintenance. Good company to work for. I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality People in Bad Situation
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMarch 8, 2017
Nomac has many quality/talented hardworking people full of innovative ideas. Unfortunately many of the ideas are never realized because of the restrictive nature of upper management. As a wholly owned subsidiary they developed the poor business practices of their parent company which has had its fair share of difficulty over the last five years. Do your research. Pay particular attention to the failures parallel with runaway industry boom. Research the services group spin-off followed by the bankruptcy.
Pros
Fun culture. Quality people.
Cons
Poor upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Floor Hand (Former Employee) –  Carrizo Springs, TXFebruary 19, 2017
I love working as an floorhand and I like helping other people and I'm alway's trying to stay busy , I'm alway's trying to work over if needed
Pros
THIS IS A GREAT COMPANY TO WORK FOR
Cons
BREAK'S ARE TO SHORT IF ANY
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Derrickman Florrman (Former Employee) –  El Reno, OKFebruary 5, 2017
Have been with NOMAC three deferent times have been in oilfield 0ff and on for over 15 years. Never had any problems with anyone NOMAC has some of the nicest rigs I have ever worked on
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay but years i put in there did not matter
Rig Mechanic III (Former Employee) –  Marshall, TXJanuary 14, 2017
Making repairs and doing preventive maintenance
How to work on different types of equipment
Decent management, did play favorites though
Some workers good and some not like anywhere else
Being on call 24/7 and working all night and going out of town for long period.
Doing something different each day and having my own truck to take care of
Pros
paid perdim
Cons
24/7 on call and no rest sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best company ever so far....although we drilled for the best company
Floor Hand (Former Employee) –  Big Wells, TXJanuary 4, 2017
111 Rig of the year, Very Good Power Rig, Safety Safety Safety,
Good Hands no worms, Very Clean and well Maintaned Rig
beat the curve and shut down rig for a catered steak dinner
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible dishonest place to work
Welder (Former Employee) –  Mount Morris PennsylvaniaDecember 30, 2016
Terrible dishonest place to work filed bankruptcy shorted a lot of their employees out of pay just a terrible place to work fired people no reason brought people in from out of state worst place I've ever worked
Pros
Was close to home
Cons
Cut Throat lien company
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great money, hardwork
Motorman (Former Employee) –  North Eastern PADecember 13, 2016
This job allowed me to learn many new skills and make a lot of money. Also due to the nature of the job, I was in the best shape of my life.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel alot was good
Floorman (Former Employee) –  El Reno, OKNovember 2, 2016
Maintained oil rig for nomac. Seen alot of new places and faces. Worked well all that was around me and meet different crews of ethnicities. Ran alot of heavy machines as well
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High wage but short notice layoffs are an issue.
Motorman (Former Employee) –  Pennsylvania, Oklahoma, and TexasOctober 31, 2016
I made a high wage with good insurance and 401k match and had plenty of time off. Downsides are living out of pocket at remote drilling locations two weeks at a time and management that will wait until the last moment possible to give notice of layoffs.
Pros
Money and benefits
Cons
Out of pocket expenses and no notice layoffs.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for industry knowledge
Rig Manager (Former Employee) –  El Reno, OKSeptember 28, 2016
Great job in Pennsylvania. This was interesting to move rigs and work on multiple types of land rigs. this was also a place where I could take practical knowledge with me to other areas.
Pros
Got to be in Pennsylvania in the Marcellus shale boom
Cons
Moving around from rig to rig got tiresome but was a learning experience
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team working together
Floor Hnad (Former Employee) –  Larado, TexasJune 20, 2016
Hard working job to have when working in harsh weather. Over all the physical work as the best along side working with great people from all over.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I miss this place
Safety Specialist 2 (Former Employee) –  Mount Morris, PAJune 7, 2016
Amazing experience with this company. More like a family then co-workers. My boss and safety team was top notch and everyone worked incredibly hard and well together.
Pros
Company Truck
Cons
Industry downturn
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oil Field
Field Specialist (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKMay 9, 2016
Great company to work for. Good benefits and compensation package. Great 401K plan. I would recommended this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe
Floor Hand (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKApril 9, 2016
they give you the tools you need to learn to be safe and accident free. the hardest thing is rig up and down and triping pipe. most enjoyable get long with co-worker that work as team.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day as a derrick hand
Derrick Hand (Former Employee) –  Mount Morris, PAMarch 19, 2016
Take control of the drilling fluid system. Maintain drilling mud add mixing an mix chemicals. Keep mud pumps running an fixed any issues that they would have. Working with chemical was the worst part of the day. The co workers were the greatest part we were like family. I learned the best leadership skills working with nomac. The managment at nomac lead by example.
.
Pros
working with great people
Cons
lack of having tools
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Tool Pusher (Former Employee) –  OKJanuary 29, 2016
Great company to work for, will take care of you. Safety orriented and great equipment. great people, hard working company.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working environment based around safety and teamwork
Floorhand/Derrickman (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAJanuary 6, 2016
Relaxed and fun with a safe working environment. Everyday their is something to learn on job and from others. Such as how the Drilling Rig operates. Chain of Command is always there to help and advise you through whatever situation you are in. The Co-workers are like your second family. The hardest part of the job would be the long hours and the weather conditions. Being at work and working with others as a team is the most enjoyable part of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 5, 2016
A very good place to work. great insurance, 401k and benefits. Lots of holiday, vacation and sick leave. Would go back to work for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Nomac Drilling. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 93 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
4.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8

CEO Approval

76%
17 ratings
Add your rating