Find companies:
Noodles & Company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
130 reviews

Noodles & Company Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere and productive
Waitress (Former Employee), Eau Claire, WIMarch 11, 2014
Pros: discounts on meals, flexibility
Cons: weekends and late nights
We would set goals and focuses each day at the beginning of our shift. Mostly they were about teamwork and making sure everyone felt like a part of the team. The co-workers were supportive and readily available to help out. I really loved how open and accepting my managers and co-workers were. The hardest part of the job was just learning new tasks – more... and understanding all the quirks of the computer system. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace but enjoyable
Guest Service Specialist (Former Employee), Murray, UTMarch 1, 2014
Pros: discount on food
Cons: no breaks
A typical day at work involved cleaning, preparing food, serving food, taking orders at the cash register, and busing tables. I learned that you always need to stay on your toes in order to juggle so many different tasks back and forth for the entire shift. The hardest part of the job was cleaning and preparing food, since I was allergic to the cleaning – more... supplies and food. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical restaurant
Guest Server (Current Employee), Nottingham, MDFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: free food
Cons: management and rules
This job is like any restaurant job your going to work hard but the job itself isn't the tough part it's the people I worked with who made it difficult and the management is HORRIBLE!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great food, and good customer service
Team Member/Cashier (Former Employee), Northville, MIFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: break, discounts on meals
Cons: no healthcare unless you are full time, and worked there for a certain amount of time. the pay was not fair.
customers service, maintaining a clean environment, taking customer orders, taking phone calls orders, managing money. Management is patient and they take time teach you the material. The co-workers are nice and helpful. The hardest part was learning the menu and the ingredients. The most enjoyable were the co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company to work for.
Front of House Staff (Former Employee), Wauwatosa, WIFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: food discounts, promotions from within
Cons: short term managment issue at the location i was at.
Overall the company its self is a decent one to work for. Most of the management are very nice and professional. There was a bit of a issue at the location where I worked with some of the management when the GM had to leave due to medical reasons and the Assistant manager took over but the higher ups took care of it quickly. They do seem to like to – more... promote from within which is really nice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Environment
Server/Cashier (Former Employee), Ann Arbor, MIJanuary 31, 2014
I enjoyed working here mostly because the food was great, and I was pregnant. This job is minimum wage and I prefer not to work minimum wage jobs but I wanted something small at the time, for temporary work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Face paced, family oritented, something for everyone .
Head Cashier (Current Employee), Orland Park, ILJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: close to home, some benifits.
Cons: pay raises are little.
Open front of store one hour prior to actual opening by stocking multiple items from drink station to food garnish. Prepping of items that are done fresh on a daily basis. Recording of temperatures, accounting of cash drawer. Hosting guest for appropriate setting while running trays. Taking to go orders both in person and by phone.
Managing customers – more... needs are as unique as the customer themselves. A positive personality and patients can help even the grumpiest of customers have a good experience, even if it is only Mac and Chees that they want.
To convince someone you don't know to try new food , key is to find a common ground.
More than just one on this. When a child all the age of two throws their hands about while their legs swing wild and eyes are wide with a ear to ear smile for our Mac and Cheese. Or when the regular customer that get's only one dish every time tries what you suggest and it is now their second favorite.
Co-workers are sometimes the reason the day goes by faster and makes the worst days bearable. Retail requires a team effort and when you got your coworkers back they have yours on the bad days.
Management works with you when you need to change your schedule. Always supporting our many college students to keep pushing themselves. They all think on their feet as it is needed much of the time as well strive for making each shift a good one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empowering establishment to work
Assistant General Manager in Training (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: great leadership, delicious food.
Though seemingly just another restaurant, this little restaurant harbored some of the greatest assets to ever have; people. The leadership methods I saw, and eventually learned, brought together a family of collaborating friends that worked towards a common goal. It slowly became less work, and more fun as our priorities began to align. Eventually management – more... seemed like a thing of the past, as everyone had become leaders. I would highly recommend this restaurant to any who asked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average place to work with poor compensation
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee), Buffalo Grove, ILJanuary 16, 2014
Pros: discounted food, free after 3 years
Cons: no breaks, rude management, low pay
As an Assistant Manager, you learn lots of interesting things such as cooking and P&L review. Given a book and told when it is complete you will be promoted. False hope. Some people finish their book and wait more than five years to be promoted to the next level.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Noodles ambassador (Current Employee), Barrington, ILJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: lunch discount
Cons: no break
Fast pace environment, greet people make them feel welcomed. Hardest part was the "rush" that when a lot of people come in all at once. Favorite part was opening up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good management, a bit too relaxed
Sauté cook (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: easy to get along with staff.
Cons: not always the most professional workplace
A typical day at work involves clocking in and immediately getting to work. There is always something to do. I learned to saute food better, I learned about first in first out, management and responsibilities of the kitchen, and preparation of food for the next day. My managers were good at what they did and very instructional, however they tended to – more... get a little too close with workers. Flirting was common, this and many other things would lead to things getting done last minute.My co-workers were ok for the most part, there is always one person who is a problem but it was ok for the most part. The hardest part of my job was working from behind when I would clock in. The most enjoyable part of my job was closing at night because that is relaxing to me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Good For a Steady Job
Lead Saute Cook (Former Employee), Killeen, TXDecember 20, 2013
Pros: food is great, 75% off meals.
Cons: unstable and inconsistent workplace. no raises.
This was a fun place to work at. The people are great - the employees were. Now when it comes to mgmt. they will kick you out early if you aren't busy. This is NOT a consistent stead 40s a week job. There were times when I worked 35 hours a week then scheduled 19 hours the next week. Inconsistent workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for Noodles
Shift Manager, Customer Service (Former Employee), Aurora,CODecember 18, 2013
Pros: i have connect well with the guest and the guest are the best part of the job.
Cons: short breaks, didn't pay over time
It was really hard to say good bye to Noodles, but relocating to another location was not a great fit for me. I would work for Noodles and Comapny again with a great team and great management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable place to work
Shift Manager (Former Employee), Waukesha, WIDecember 18, 2013
A typical day at work would be counting the cash drawers, counting inventory,and helping set up for the shift. My co-workers were amazing and I enjoyed working with them everyday. The hardest part of this job would have to be handling the customer complaints.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place for employees with a passion for food service to learn and advance
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee), Lee's Summit, MoDecember 5, 2013
Pros: advancment, good pay, corp. allowed you to spend 75$ per periond on employees
Cons: corp expectations to high, not given enough labor hrs. to give great guest service, marketing left up to gm
Noodles & Co. was a good place to work. Every day was different and there was always something to keep you busy. Learning and advancement were up to you and depending on how much time the GM would take to teach you his job. It was very hard to develop a culture the corp. expected because for most employees it was their first job and raises didn't come – more... easily. The hardest part was trying to meet corp. standards with the labor you were allowed and motivating your employees to keep busy in slow periods. The hardest part was working with a GM that did not hold the employees accountable. I worked with 5 different GM's and none of the held people accountable or had much integrity with what they promised the employees. None of the GM's I worked with had to ability to think outside the box or the guts to question higher authority even if what they wanted to do made no sense – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, Fun place to work
Cook/ Management Trainee (Former Employee), Columbus, OHDecember 5, 2013
Chipotle was a great place to work but I needed more hours at the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, exciting job with absolutely no flexability and too much leniency.
Food Prep/Garnishing (Former Employee), Riverdale Mall, Coon Rapids, MNDecember 3, 2013
Pros: free drinks, discount on meals
Cons: not a lot of hours, shifts being cut 1-2 hours short, rude staff, no security
I did enjoy some days depending on which manager was in. There was one manager in particular, Naomi, who was extremely negative to not only me but other newer employees. I do not think that employees should receive certain amounts of respect based on seniority, but on credibility and effort. Every day that I worked with this manager, I went home either – more... crying or questioning whether or not I should resign. I did discuss my concerns with other managers but, apparently, because of this manager being my "superior" along with the other managers, it was ineffective and, if anything, my expressing my concerns only made the manager's coldness and rudeness even more consistent. Eventually, I quit. And the same manager Becca, who hired me with her sweet, friendly, trustworthy smile was the same one whose last, cold words consisted of "so, go." There were also no cameras anywhere inside the store which made me feel a bit uneasy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well-managed corporation with fair employee treatment and plentiful advancement opportunities
Senior Shift Manager (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNNovember 30, 2013
Pros: 70% off on-duty meals, 20% off-duty meals, free on-duty meals for 3-year employees
Cons: high turnover rate, stressful
A tyipcal day can go either way. As in any job, It can be either very stressful or very relaxed. I just deal with whatever crosses my path in the best way possible.

I've worked with a lot of really great people over the years. One downside is that the turnover rate is so high in any fast-casual restaurant, so it can be distressing to have to adjust – more... to new people so constantly, and deal with training in new team members only to have them leave us within a few months. Some people just don't have enough respect for casual restaurant managers to put in a two-week notice. If some don't want to work there anymore, they'll just stop showing up. On the upside, we also have a highly-tenured team, with a lot of hard workers.

My favorite part about this job is making customers have such an enjoyable experience that they clearly want to come back. I have met some true life-long friends due to providing a great customer experience and getting to know my regular customers.

I give high praise to the way this company is managed. I feel that each employee is actually cared for and valued. I feel as though I'm not just a number. There are many advancement opportunities, and good work doesn't go unnoticed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bright and colorful workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), White Marsh MdNovember 14, 2013
Pros: great managers
Cons: short breaks
Great people, Great area, Gread work envirionment.Gread manager, they really made u want to come to work.loved the work ethic that the managers and even down to employees had and that really makes me want to do a good job when i was there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy workplace
Manager (Current Employee), Forest Park, ILNovember 7, 2013
Working for noodles and company was a pretty eye opener in the food industry.

About Noodles & Company

Noodles & Company offers the world’s favorite noodle dishes, sandwiches, salads and soups, all in one restaurant. Each – Read more

Noodles & Company Photos