Norcraft Companies Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good luck
Former member (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAMarch 8, 2017
Awful place to work. Druggies, no advancement, no communication, Manager & employee bullying rampant. 12+ hours normal at times, and mandatory. Stay away, if you can.
Pros
There are actually none....
Cons
Slave farm for people of all color........
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management sucks they dont know what their doing
sprayer (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAFebruary 8, 2017
It started off being a great place to work then it got bad .we had over 10 supervisors very sad I was doing everybody elses job and mine.we had a supervisor that's younger than we are that's been brought back for the third time and she still don't know whats shes doing and she doesn't know how to talk to people.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not as what management makes it to be
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Cottonwood, MNAugust 10, 2016
No advancement if you're a minority. Leads don't see what you do and play favoritism towards people they like. Leads don't know how to manage departments, it trickles down from the plant manager.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
They work you like a dog
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Xxx (Former Employee) –  XxxAugust 3, 2016
Good people to work with. Very strict on time. Dont click in or out even 1 minute off of scheduled time...especially if temp. Very strict on attendance also.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice company
General Manager, Virginia (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VASeptember 14, 2015
great organization and well managed. always ready to help others.
they make and sell cabinets. sometimes they even remodel bathrooms and kitchens.
Pros
nice people
Cons
nice people
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Current employee who wanted to express her thoughts
assembler/packager (Former Employee) –  Cottonwood, MNApril 30, 2015
Norcraft is a company that expects a lot from its employees. If you do your work you will not have problems. Biggest thing is to show up for work. Sometimes hours have been long but for the most part the compensation is great.
Pros
little supervision at job
Cons
only 2 ten minute breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes7No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A dead end job with bad Management
Sprayer (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg VaMarch 13, 2015
I was there for 11 years. When I started in 2002 I was making $9.40 hr and when I left in 2014 I was only making $11.76 hr. You can only advance there if you are kin to or have a (special relationship)😉 with a plant manager, supervisor, or line leader. At Norcraft ( Mid Continent Cabinetry) it's who you know. I was stuck in the same position for all my 11 years despite putting in for numerous positions. The work hours there are Mon - Thurs 7am to 5:30pm. A lot of times they would come around at 5:20 and tell everyone that they have to work over until 7:30. Christmas Time they'll give you a $25 gift card. I only received a yearly bonus 3 times out of 11 years. If we got a raise it was usually 25 cents. They don't do random drug test so be prepared to work around druggies! If you can't stand the heat then this might not be the place for you. I've seen the temperature up at high 90's plenty of times. The only good things about norcraft were some of the people and the insurance.
Pros
Insurance, two 20 min and one 30 min break, some good folks.
Cons
Bad Management, No Advancement, Favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes9No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
drawers (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg,VAFebruary 14, 2015
You sometimes have to come in at 6am and work til 7:00 if the goal hasnt been met for that day. Typically you come in 7am and can work any where from 10+ hours. Some of the line leaders and co workers are cool and easy to work with. You do have some line leaders that are very rude and think they can talk to ypu any kind of way just because they have a little power. Then when you go talk to someone about it, nothing gets done about it besides they say they are working on it. I do that this company have lost alot of good people due to a few bad apples. I will say that people that do their job plus more do get acknowledgement which is a plus. But basically someone needs to stand up more for the employees.
Pros
work with some good people, having weekends off, did have employee appreciation lunches
Cons
some rude managers and line leaders, lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Cabinentry production (Former Employee) –  Newton, KSMay 13, 2014
Great atmosphere. good hours. plenty of over time. Boss and employees were very nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, no micro-managing
Accounts Payable Representative (Former Employee) –  Eagan, MNNovember 7, 2013
The people were very nice and helpful and it gave me an extra resume item to post. However, since this started off as a contract, and ultimately ended there I was never able to really learn any other functions.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a place to work
Production team member (Current Employee) –  Lynchburg, VANovember 5, 2013
Working hours are 10 and more. Overtime is required everyday. Working hours are from 7 am to 5:30 pm. Overtime hours may start at 6 am to 7:30 p.m depending in what department you are in.

I have worked for this company and I have seen it where you were overtime to going home early.

Management has changed hands a lot over the years and supervisors do not stay a long time.

Co-workers are okay depending on who you work with.

The hardest part of the job is having a coworker cussing/hollering at you all day but has been told to stop...but don't. The second hardest is when the work load is more than one person can handle and they don't have room in the budget to hire a person to help.

The most enjoyable part of the job is when you have done your work and you can go home.
Pros
Insurance Benefits are great!
Cons
Communication
Was this review helpful?Yes17No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friends and co-workers
Shipping and receiving (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAFebruary 19, 2013
a regular day was loading and unloading trucks until complete.
Pros
friends and co-workers
Cons
hot trailers in the summer and cold trailers in the winter.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No9Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Norcraft Companies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.8
Culture
3.1

Norcraft Companies Reviews by Location