Find companies:
Nordstrom
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,905 reviews

Nordstrom Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Loss Prevention Detective (Former Employee), Bellevue, WADecember 15, 2014
Company takes care of it's employees and is a great place to work. Good environment to work and advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work great people
Project Manager (Former Employee), dallas, txDecember 15, 2014
working with wells fargo was a great experince team was very professional and supportive. The fast paced demand can be a bit of a struggle sometimes but there is leadership always around to support you if needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and competitive
Customer Service (Current Employee), Providence, RIDecember 15, 2014
Pros: hour break
Cons: all shitf 8hrs+
I learned in a commission type of job environment, the competitiveness grows and there becomes almost tension between employers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to Work For, but Very Aggressive Environment
Jewelry Sales Associate (Former Employee), King of Prussia, PADecember 14, 2014
Working at Nordstrom was a great experience. It really is a great company to work for. The pay was decent for retail, the scheduling was flexible and almost everyone was polite and friendly. The managers also seemed to be on the right page when it came to procedures and policies. I honestly don't have any real complaints except the fact that because – more... it was commission based, depending on your rate and whether you got an hourly plus commission, the environment could be very aggressive. I worked in the fine jewelry and watch department and our pay was straight commission so the environment was often very harsh and competitive. I usually referred to it as a "shark tank." That was honestly the worst part about working there because since it was sole commission, you truly see the greed and selfishness come out in people. Making sales also became a huge challenge after the holiday season which greatly makes a difference in your pay. That was another challenging aspect of working at Nordstrom. Overall, its a really good company, I would recommend that if you decide to take a job there, make sure you prepare yourself and know what you're getting in to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy High Fashion with a friendly environment
Personal Stylist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 14, 2014
Implemented great knowledge of traditional and recent trends in fashion to style an array of clients and meet their satisfaction. Employed vast sense of suitability of a particular fashion to create a unique look to cater to exclusive clients. Engaged ability to generate innovative ideas that convey an image the client would like to showcase while maintaining – more... a strong client/stylist relationship, and building a greater client base. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nordstrom
Personal Stylist (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLDecember 14, 2014
Pros: friendly environment
Cons: 100% commission
Write a Review. This is something to only discuss in person, and should be kept private.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive people interaction
Loss Prevention (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 11, 2014
Pros: conversational
Cons: unlocking each fitting room every time customer came through
Fast pace, standing and walking all day. Patience with irate customer and long waiting periods. Very friendly and motivating with discipline. Family oriented with the encouragement to move up within the company. Always something to do and help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Walnut Creek, CADecember 11, 2014
Fun place to work at. I enjoyed working with a lot of people and customers are great. Management are easy to talk to and they help you with everything you need. You have to use your best judgement a lot especially when doing returns that is the hardest part of the job. Overall great company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people in a good environment, pay is not stable
Designer Shoe Enthusiast (Former Employee), Towson, MDDecember 10, 2014
Pros: opportunity to make good money, sponsored lunch during store events.
Cons: hard to make a living.
Working at Nordstrom is great in that they provide excellent training. However, depending upon your department, you will be faced with times where generating income is hard to come by as you are getting paid solely from commissioned sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging. Great teamwork
Intern (Former Employee), Seattle, WADecember 9, 2014
Sense of teamwork in my team. Analytical skills required. Open door policy. Good communication with manager. Your team and your managers want you to succeed in your role. Open to talking about future jobs and career goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Palo Alto, CADecember 9, 2014
Nordstrom is a great place to work with many growth opportunities. It's a place you can be creative, drive business, and make what you want of it- there's no cap to how much you want to make or where you want to take your career. The people and culture is truly what makes the company what it is.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Columbia, MDDecember 9, 2014
Great advancement opportunities and relaxed environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to display your passion at it's best.
Salesperson (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 9, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules and dress code
Cons: returns affecting our pay
A typical day at work includes making sure all of your orders for customers are put through, everyone is being helped with the best possible customer service, calling all of your potential and previous customers with new merchandise news and upcoming events, and most importantly, building your sales with every transaction. The managers in our department – more... are very nice, helpful, and always push you to your capabilities in the best possible way. My co workers are very similar to me and we get along very well. We all have the same goals and work together so that the department reaches it's goals every day. The hardest part of the job is probably getting the customers to open up Nordstrom store credit cards and accounts. A majority of them say no, so it is a challenge to continuously discuss the benefits and advantages. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to share my love of passion with my customers and showing my excitement for every piece that I show them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company
Sales Associate/ Merchandiser (Current Employee), Los Angeles, CADecember 9, 2014
Pros: interacting with many customers daily and from all parts of the world, building lasting relationships with customers, merchandising my department, quickly accrue vacation time
Cons: take back extremely used items and it comes back out of the sales associate paycheck, amount of time we spend off of the sales floor is too great because we only get paid by what we sell
This job has helped me with working independently, as well as a productive team member.There are pros and cons to this job. I have learned exceptional customer service skills as well as building and maintaining customer relationships.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work, must love to sell
Assistant Department Manager (Current Employee), Lone Tree, CODecember 8, 2014
Pros: benefits, commission, positive environment
Cons: long hours, required to work weekends
Positive atmosphere but hours are long. Selling is most important so you must love that aspect. Management is consistent and the company promotes within so you have opportunity to grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall
Customer Service (Current Employee), atlanta gaDecember 8, 2014
good steady money as long as u are not in a commission based position. not as busy as u may like if u work on the sales floor. more o what u make itgood steady money as long as u are not in a commission based position. not as busy as u may like if u work on the sales floor. more o what u make itgood steady money as long as u are not in a commission – more... based position. not as busy as u may like if u work on the sales floor. more o what u make it – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive day
Sales Person (Former Employee), Columbia, MDDecember 3, 2014
A busy day at Nordstrom was during the holidays. I learned how to multi-task and also be fast at it with no mistakes. I learned how to management my time when dealing with more than one customers at a time. I dealt with my co-workers as co-workers. My personal life out of work was never discussed while working. We always talked about what we could do – more... better to get our department goals. The most enjoyable part of the job was knowing I get paid by commission and knowing how good my check is going to be bi-weekly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work experiences to last a lifetime
Server (Former Employee), Paramus, NJDecember 3, 2014
I am grateful to have worked for this company. They have given me skills and knowledge that I will keep with me forever.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Wellington, FLDecember 2, 2014
great place to work
nice lunch break
good pay
nice people
good environment
lots of things to do
doesn't get repetitive
open door policy
everyone helps
very cleangreat place to work
nice lunch break
good pay
nice people
good environment
lots of things to do
doesn't get repetitive
open door policy
everyone helps
very clean
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Focused Environment
Business Manager/Counter Manager (Former Employee), Lynnwood, WADecember 2, 2014
Sometimes it is difficult to get management to back you being that the customer is LITERALLY ALWAYS right.

1 2 3 4 5

About Nordstrom

Nordstrom, Inc.is a fashion specialty retailer that offers a selection of apparel, shoes, cosmetics and accessories for women, – Read more