Find companies:
Nordstrom
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,915 reviews

Nordstrom Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
daily tasks
SALES ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Scottsdale, AZDecember 25, 2014
Once I get to work I check my emails, followup with customers that I helped from the previous week to make sure everything is satisfactory and a thanks for coming in. I make calls to customers I've helped before for replenishment and booking appointments for events. Maintain daily sales and business. Stock areas. Build new relationships. The team I'm – more... part of, we really come together on a daily basis to make the daily and monthly business happen. I really love the relationships that Ive built with customers. They appriciate what I do and put a value on my work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varies
Men's Suit Specialist (Former Employee), Sacramento, CADecember 24, 2014
Pros: dress code
Cons: return policy
If you like fashion and catering to questionable people, not too bad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company is so so
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Redondo Beach, CADecember 24, 2014
The overall company is great to work for. However being a sales associate things can get very competitive with people fighting for sales. Very commission driven, I wouldn't go back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and easy going workplace
Bp Shoes, Mens Casual, Mens Furnishings (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVDecember 23, 2014
love the job very flexible place to work as long as you work your butt off it all pays off in the end
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
making faces.
Senior Beauty Consultant (Former Employee), miami flDecember 22, 2014
enjoyed working in this company. learned a lot information from makeup to clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional work place with a pride in customer service relationships
Sales (Former Employee), Houston,TXDecember 22, 2014
Pros: commission based so you can grow your customer clientele
Love all my co-workers
Great relationships with my clients
Learned to how to shop for different body types
The most enjoyable part of the job is styling all my clients
The hardest part is making sure your customer doesn't have buyers remorse
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCDecember 22, 2014
just have to sell and gain clientele. NO limit to how much you can sell.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
retail
Salesperson/Lingerie department (Former Employee), Yakima, WADecember 21, 2014
This is the best company to work for. They value there employees and it is more like a big family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary of my position at Nordstrom FSB
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Santa Ana, CADecember 20, 2014
Pros: fast paced
Cons: no cons
I would come in answer phone calls consisting of billlng, fraud inquiries, banking issues, card activations and manual authorizations. I learned that the customer is number one
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co workers
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), Tigard, ORDecember 17, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: managment disorgenized
I think they are racist at least security they are always whatching and firing colored people in particular
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Loss Prevention Detective (Former Employee), Bellevue, WADecember 15, 2014
Company takes care of it's employees and is a great place to work. Good environment to work and advance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work great people
Project Manager (Former Employee), dallas, txDecember 15, 2014
working with wells fargo was a great experince team was very professional and supportive. The fast paced demand can be a bit of a struggle sometimes but there is leadership always around to support you if needed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and competitive
Customer Service (Current Employee), Providence, RIDecember 15, 2014
Pros: hour break
Cons: all shitf 8hrs+
I learned in a commission type of job environment, the competitiveness grows and there becomes almost tension between employers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to Work For, but Very Aggressive Environment
Jewelry Sales Associate (Former Employee), King of Prussia, PADecember 14, 2014
Working at Nordstrom was a great experience. It really is a great company to work for. The pay was decent for retail, the scheduling was flexible and almost everyone was polite and friendly. The managers also seemed to be on the right page when it came to procedures and policies. I honestly don't have any real complaints except the fact that because – more... it was commission based, depending on your rate and whether you got an hourly plus commission, the environment could be very aggressive. I worked in the fine jewelry and watch department and our pay was straight commission so the environment was often very harsh and competitive. I usually referred to it as a "shark tank." That was honestly the worst part about working there because since it was sole commission, you truly see the greed and selfishness come out in people. Making sales also became a huge challenge after the holiday season which greatly makes a difference in your pay. That was another challenging aspect of working at Nordstrom. Overall, its a really good company, I would recommend that if you decide to take a job there, make sure you prepare yourself and know what you're getting in to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy High Fashion with a friendly environment
Personal Stylist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 14, 2014
Implemented great knowledge of traditional and recent trends in fashion to style an array of clients and meet their satisfaction. Employed vast sense of suitability of a particular fashion to create a unique look to cater to exclusive clients. Engaged ability to generate innovative ideas that convey an image the client would like to showcase while maintaining – more... a strong client/stylist relationship, and building a greater client base. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nordstrom
Personal Stylist (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLDecember 14, 2014
Pros: friendly environment
Cons: 100% commission
Write a Review. This is something to only discuss in person, and should be kept private.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive people interaction
Loss Prevention (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 11, 2014
Pros: conversational
Cons: unlocking each fitting room every time customer came through
Fast pace, standing and walking all day. Patience with irate customer and long waiting periods. Very friendly and motivating with discipline. Family oriented with the encouragement to move up within the company. Always something to do and help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Walnut Creek, CADecember 11, 2014
Fun place to work at. I enjoyed working with a lot of people and customers are great. Management are easy to talk to and they help you with everything you need. You have to use your best judgement a lot especially when doing returns that is the hardest part of the job. Overall great company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people in a good environment, pay is not stable
Designer Shoe Enthusiast (Former Employee), Towson, MDDecember 10, 2014
Pros: opportunity to make good money, sponsored lunch during store events.
Cons: hard to make a living.
Working at Nordstrom is great in that they provide excellent training. However, depending upon your department, you will be faced with times where generating income is hard to come by as you are getting paid solely from commissioned sales.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging. Great teamwork
Intern (Former Employee), Seattle, WADecember 9, 2014
Sense of teamwork in my team. Analytical skills required. Open door policy. Good communication with manager. Your team and your managers want you to succeed in your role. Open to talking about future jobs and career goals.

1 2 3 4 5

About Nordstrom

Nordstrom, Inc.is a fashion specialty retailer that offers a selection of apparel, shoes, cosmetics and accessories for women, – Read more