Find companies:
Nordstrom
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,758 reviews

Nordstrom Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Inventory Associate (Current Employee), Newark,DESeptember 29, 2014
Nordstrom is a great place to work for. The people they hire are very enthusiastic about their job. Which makes it enjoyable to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but stressful
Lingerie Manager (Former Employee), Lone Tree, COSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: the people are amazing
Cons: the hours are long
As a manager, to be successful, your life is your work and work comes first.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service specialist
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Seattle, WASeptember 29, 2014
Pros: benefits, pay, hours, good managers
Cons: switching teams, outdated technology, cared to much about numbers when customers where the most important part.
This job was located in one of the corporate buildings so that was nice. Beautiful view to look at with the tough days ahead. What they don't tell you is that when on the phone's they have many high expectations of you. They want you to have high scores on the phone minimum of 95% a month with customer service. call times need to be low.. (This is very – more... hard to do with all the notes and emailing you'll have to do they don't want you logging out to do these things). They count if you're stating what the call is about in your tool( is called a disposition tool) this goes in account with your customer service sadly, your reliance, (you can be sick and gone 10 min they'll report you missing and point you, get six you're fired.) they nag about every Minor mistake in these spreadsheet's when they train for 2,weeks but forget the most important stuff (like proper ways to keep your call time low, managing all the screens they want you to utilize, how to properly search for these aids they have but are worded improperly etc..) . I was way over qualified for this job but applied because of how they sold how( within direct) easy it was to move up. Realistically there was allot of favoritism with the online beauty people/specialist they didn't work as hard as basic customer service but got high praise all the time during large meetings. This part of Nordstrom has such high turnover rates its pretty bad they higher twice a year at least 75-200 people. As I said there requirements are ridiculous This job will work for anyone who just needs money, good hours, and does not plan on working that long in a call center environment. I recommend applying for other jobs within the company while working as a specialist because that's the only way you'll advance no matter what they tell you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Career Start
Intern & Sales Associate (Former Employee), Miami, FLSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: horrible department manager
Began as a Retail Management Intern where we began in different departments which was not enjoyable for those who felt they would work better in a different stylized department.

I moved on to become a Sales Associate in a different department and was more confident, however had to quit due to scheduling conflicts as I was working on graduating. Frustrating – more... - but for the best. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production and fun work environment
Assistant Manager/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: you can control what you make by how much you sale
Cons: commission can be unpredictable
I enjoyed working for this company which is why of was there for eight years. It was a very productive, exciting and fun work environment.They promote from within which is amazing. I was the Assistant Manager in the Kid Shoe department for a little of two years. The department was a 1.5 million dollar department and very busy. I co-managed a team of – more... ten while accomplishing my sales goals. This taught me time management skills. I model the behavior that I expected from my team by giving exceptional customer services and maximize each sale. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Sales Management Trainee (Former Employee), Tukwila, WASeptember 27, 2014
inventory prep
provided excellent customer service
sell and upsell customers
interact with management on personal level
Crazy schedule
meeting new people and working with different people was great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate Men's Furnishings (Former Employee), Beachwood, OHSeptember 26, 2014
Nordstrom is a good company. Productive work environment but all about sales
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment everyone is friendly!
Bobbi Brown Cosmetics Manager (Current Employee), Pleasanton, CASeptember 25, 2014
Working at Nordstrom has taught me the true value of retail. I have had the opportunity to serve as many roles in which I have learned how to coach and develop, give feedback and receive constructive criticism, and prioritize tasks when is fast paced but also to keep myself busy during down time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive
Salesperson (Current Employee), San Francisco, CASeptember 23, 2014
As a salesperson come ready to compete with your colleagues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stable company
Make-up Artist (Former Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 23, 2014
Nordstroms is an excellent company to work for. The hours are flexible and the benefits are amazing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment with positive and interesting coworkers
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee), Seattle, WASeptember 22, 2014
I worked in retail sales. I worked on the floor in the Kids department. I learned about interpersonal communication and how to give customers the best information on the products they were buying. I worked in the kids department so we were educated extensively on strollers and other baby/kids products so we could successfully sell to customers. The – more... hardest part of the job was when we were busy and could not help all of the customers equally. The best part of the job was working with the kids and finding them cute clothes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Service
SALES ASSOCIATE/CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee), Arlington, VASeptember 22, 2014
Working at Nordstrom Rack was a great experience and I absolutely loved it. I was positioned as a Rover. Which means I was rotated around the store in different departments. But overall the service was awesome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced work environment where meeting selling goal is a main priority.
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Cherry Hill, NJSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: commission sales, full time hours, fun work environment, fair break time
At Nordstrom, a typical day at work mainly consists of providing great customer service while striving to meet your daily sales goal. We are responsible for greeting every customer and making them feel comfortable and well informed. I make suggestions based on my product knowledge and what the customer is looking for. Each day sales associates check – more... on orders we have made for previous customers to make sure they have shipped and will get to them on time. We follow up with customers by sending them emails, thank you notes, and making phone calls. Besides selling, we are responsible for keeping the floor clean and organized, fulfilling orders for sales associates at other stores, and merchandising new arrivals. My coworkers are very supportive, and although we work in a commission based environment, we rarely get into conflicts.

The hardest part of the job is finding customers that are only interested in shopping with you as a sales associate. Although we can make sales by waiting for people to walk onto our sales floor, the best way to earn commission is by creating a repeat customer base.

The most enjoyable part of the job is finding outfits and accessories that make people feel good about themselves. Because I currently work in Kids Wear, there is an interesting balance between finding things the parents and children are okay with. When you find something that pleases both of them, it is very rewarding.

I have learned so much about how to build customer relationships, and how to stay up to date on product knowledge at Nordstrom. When selling high priced items, customers expect you to be able to answer various questions to make sure they are purchasing the perfect item. I also have a lot of fun getting to have conversations with customers about their families, events, and why they need each piece. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great experience in retail for me. Clients/shopper's with excellent customer service given to everyone.
Sales Associate & Fit Specialist (Former Employee), Canoga Park, CASeptember 22, 2014
Pros: employee discount days 2x year, when new lines are brought in to sell we were given those items to wear and showcase.
Cons: retail hours which go into the evenings and weekends.
This was a busy department that required excellent patience and service. Dealing with the general public who shop at this store was always intriguing to watch. The expectation level is high and thus the demand for quality service higher. It was a fun energetic environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail nightmare
Sales Associate for Ladies (Former Employee), palm beach gardens, floridaSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: retail hours
didnt like management. Loved helping customers and clients find things.didnt like hours or some of the other sales team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best customer service.
Sales Lead (Former Employee), Troy, MISeptember 19, 2014
Pros: personal relationships with customers
Cons: if you are a sales person, and do not like selling it wouldn't be the job for you.
Internal as well as the obvious external customer service, is simply the best their is.

Other questions can be discussed on a by topic basis in private.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They do not value their employees
Department Manager (Former Employee), Bay Area, CaSeptember 18, 2014
Poor work/life balance. Pretty much a slave for them during the holidays and sale time. Compensation does not match their expectations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to have a career, always taking care of the employee and the customer
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Costa Mesa, CASeptember 17, 2014
- Lots of room for growth
- Learned great customer service culture, needed to progress in any career fields
- Many different career paths optional within Nordstrom
- Full employee benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Richmond, VASeptember 17, 2014
A typical day would be providing excellent customer service and also finding a product for every customer that walked thru the doors of Nordstrom .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very professional and friendly working environment.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Corte Madera, CASeptember 17, 2014
A typical day at work is first and foremost is to make sure the product is on the sales floor so each customer can have the best shopping experience. The main priority each day is to make sure all my customers have the best shopping experience by going above and beyond to make sure they get the right products for their needs. Spending quality time with – more... each customer and make sure I understand clearly that their needs are. If we do not have what they are looking for, I would try to find it in another store and have it shipped to them. I helped my customers with fashion ideas when it is needed. I would also follow up with my customer and make sure they are happy with their purchase. I learned that the customers are my boss and they are the ones that keep the business growing. I worked with a great group of friendly people including my boss. I had a very good relationship with all my co-workers. In all my working years I never consider any part of my job to be hard or difficult because everything I do at work makes me more successful. The most enjoyable part of my job was working with my customers. I treated all my customers the way that I would like to be treated and that makes me feel rewarded. I also like working with my co-workers because team wins. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Nordstrom

Nordstrom, Inc.is a fashion specialty retailer that offers a selection of apparel, shoes, cosmetics and accessories for women, – Read more