Norfolk Southern Corp Employee Reviews

Found 482 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like the job hate the company
Conductor/Switchman (Current Employee) –  Elkhart, INAugust 20, 2017
This Company is the worst. They mess with your pay, management hides in the weeds waiting for you to make a mistake and then tries to strong arm you into admitting you did something wrong on purpose. Just not a good work environment. I would never choose to work in a union job again.
Pros
pay and bennifits
Cons
poorly treated by management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competive workplace, stressed environent.
Driver, Groundsman, Pull Back Leader (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 19, 2017
Need to Up pay wage. Make breaks longer, especially working 12hrs a day. When winter comes Have heat in trucks. Need new energetic terminal leaderrs..
Pros
Weekly pay.
Cons
Short breaks, low pay, poor management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They try to fire you from the day you start. Not worth the money to worry about your job
Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 17, 2017
Not worth the money to worry if you will have a job the next day. Management is rewarded for finding you violating a rule. Do not let the good pay ruin your life like it did mine
Pros
Good pay
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
double-talking managers and weak upper leadership from board level down
Trainmaster (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 17, 2017
CAN be a great work environment if allowed but B5s and above are more concerned with CYA than providing leadership. Instead, they focus on micro-management; terrified that they could be blamed for something that is part and parcel to operational incidents.
Pros
Fair compensation and earned vacation time
Cons
denied vacations, no PTO/sick days, backstabbing leaders, cowards afraid of accountability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety oriented
Electrician (Current Employee) –  Altoona, PAAugust 16, 2017
Conscious of safety and efficient production I. Traditional hours with overtime. Relaxed atmosphere but production important. Safety a Good benefits.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
Poor schedule poor advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carmen
JUNIOR STUDENT MECHANIC (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCAugust 15, 2017
Hot in the summer and cold in the winter no room for advancement very dangerous job, good coworkers, great hours weekends off and no holiday work, pay was average
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Motvating Atmosphere
Application Architect (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 15, 2017
very good company , very motivated team. The managers are very understanding and technically very competent . I would love to work there if i get the chance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conductor
Conductor/Engineer (Current Employee) –  Roanoke, VAAugust 15, 2017
A regular day at Norfolk Southern would be to print out paperwork and call the right department for that trip of the day, And make sure everyone in my crew was notified and on the same page, so we could be safe!
Pros
Sceneary
Cons
On call and outta town
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Railroad
Locomotive Engineer (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHAugust 14, 2017
NS was a great company to work for but the railroad is a hard way of life if you have a family. Work life balance does not exist because the railroad operated 24 hour a day, 7 days a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Track Laborer (Former Employee) –  Girard, PAAugust 14, 2017
Nice place to work I really enkoye my time there. You get to travel the world and meet new people the pus is awesome the benefits are awesome. And its just a nice place to work
Cons
Awa
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entry Level
Sr. Service Operator (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 11, 2017
Everyday is challenging which enables an individual to get a different view of operations per craft. The Mgmt. team are very helpful in reaching daily work goals. The work culture is about obtaining daily work goals. The hardest part of the job is; the morning drive in and the most enjoyable is the drive home
Pros
modern building, close by restaurants
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good career and the benefits were great
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Norton, VAAugust 9, 2017
Good company to work for depending on the area. I worked in the coal industry so work was on and off. Very good pay and benefits. I would recommend anyone to seek this job for a career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervisor lie all the time to get you fired.
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  OhioAugust 8, 2017
This is the only place I have ever worked where they try and fire you from day one. The supervisor and ADE lie so much I don't even know how they sleep at night. Go to work never knowing what time you might get off. So short staffed 3 men are know doing 10 men job. If you like to work for management that will lie threw there teeth, treat you like your nobody then NS is for you.
Pros
Union Benefits
Cons
Management, Work hours long, Just a number, No respect for workers, CDL drivers are forced to work over federal mandated hours all the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding workplace with no social lifesytle
Operations Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOAugust 8, 2017
Norfolk Southern Corp is a very great company. I enjoyed the high level of management responsibility that molded me in to a great leader. The company on the other hand will work you 24/7 365 days. There was not much of a down time to spend with family, if any. I enjoy being recognized for the change I made with the company. I loved seeing my work trend in the right direction while working as a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager of Accounts Receivable
Manager of Accounts Receivable (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 7, 2017
Company had great benefits. Workplace culture was on the conservative side. It's been over 17 years since I've worked for them. I can not provide a current review of the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive
Assistant Trainmaster (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VAAugust 5, 2017
Very competitive field, lots of opportunity for advancement. Relocation opportunities. Quality of life is not good. Hard to balance family and job duties.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Quality of life
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always worried about relocation or lay-off. Worked long hours with little to no guarantee of job tomorrow.
Carman/Welder (Former Employee) –  WvAugust 5, 2017
Very poorly ran company, too many chiefs, bosses are mostly unaware of their jobs and cause more problems than they have solutions. The bottom line is money and employees greatly unappreciated.
Pros
Pay, insurance
Cons
No union representation, high dues, no job security.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
MACHINIST (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN 37403August 4, 2017
great job great people. poor management, lack of respect for workers. all about putting money in stock holders and corporates pocket. never know when you will be laid off.
Pros
employees
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look Out
Assistant Transportation Manager (Former Employee) –  VirginiaAugust 3, 2017
If you want to be moving around a lot and have no quality of life here you go. You are just a number in a company that sells you a great product and comes through on nothing promised.
Pros
decent pay check
Cons
Hours, No quality of life and so much more
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely Corporate
Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 30, 2017
This company epitomizes a large corporation. For some this may be the ideal work environment. It a very serious and incredibly disciplined culture and revolves around the union.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Norfolk Southern Corp. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 488 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.7
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1

Norfolk Southern Corp Reviews by Location