NORMAN PUBLIC SCHOOLS Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always interesting, flexible, and enjoyable
Guest Teacher (Current Employee) –  Norman, OKMarch 24, 2017
I have spent plenty of time in a classroom, but being the teacher is much more inviting. I enjoyed working with different grades, schools, etc. The hardest part of the job is that it is per shift, and sometimes there isn't any shifts available.
Pros
2 hour lunches
Cons
Pay was low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unpleasant and unappreciated
Kitchen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKMarch 7, 2017
This was worst job ever! No one seemed to understand concept of working together as a team and management was extremely rude
and unfriendly towards school students and staff.
Pros
received unemployment benefits during holidays
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the children
Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  TransportationJanuary 25, 2017
Each morning I transport children from kindergarten to middle school in Norman and return them to their homes end of day. Periodically after school activities need to be transported to various cities in OK. I truly enjoy interacting with the children and administrative personnel at the various schools. The pay does not compensate with the responsibilities for the children.
Pros
contact with children and creating a bond also with parents
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A progressive school district that emphasizes fine arts education
English Teacher (Former Employee) –  Longfellow Middle SchoolJanuary 24, 2017
Teaching middle school students is al aye a challenge. In Norman, that is exacerbated by having two of the four middle schools built in an "open-air" style; a large open area is divided into class areas using portable partitions. This forces teachers to learn effective class management skills quickly, or be unsuccessful. This particular school building has been remodeled and serves as the city's second high school now. The middle school has relocated and no longer utilizes the open-air architecture.
Pros
Great faculty, great students
Cons
The open-air architecture is a challenge.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self-Scheduling, but tedious
Guest Teacher (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKJanuary 12, 2017
I worked with Norman Public Schools as a guest teacher for a whole semester. It started out great! The pay is nice and all the other teachers at all schools were fantastic. However, the kids just got out of hand. As they grew to know me more, they became more rebellious and I had to start calling in higher authority all the time. It's great for having a busy schedule so you can schedule yourself, but if you can't handle kids, this is not the job for you.
Pros
Self-Scheduling, Good Pay, Nice Teachers
Cons
Loud/rebellious kids, sitting all day
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job is stable but limited on conpensation competative with average
Systems analyst (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKJuly 27, 2016
great job
since its a school non profit it has limits on what you
can make and do as far as compared to the private industry.
they are on limited fixed budgets that are cut often and politicized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKJuly 21, 2016
working with students at all grade levels was a great time for me... i filled in on professional days and others ... was called back repeatedly to assist with various tasks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to offer resources to help our Native American students to excel academically.
Indian Education - Secretary (Current Employee) –  Norman, OKAugust 26, 2015
I work with a great coordinator and staff who are passionate about their work with Native American students in the school system. They put forth time and effort above and beyond to ensure that all students needing assistance in the academic field are met so that they can find success. Everyone works together to make sure that the projects and work get done without any effort just put on anyone person. I really do appreciate the together this group shares in the office.
Pros
Free lunches and the experience of watching students grow and excel
Cons
The pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Norman Public Schools
School Counselor (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKJune 19, 2015
NPS is a very innovative district. Their ability to move with the times is exceptional. They are constantly striving to make the education for their students better.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Teacher/Assistant Football & Assistant Track Coach (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKJune 10, 2015
I enjoyed both teaching and coaching at Norman Public Schools for Norman North. The kids and the parents were very enjoyable over the years.
Pros
Helping kids
Cons
Weather from time to time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Certified Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKApril 20, 2015
I learned how to work with teachers and students and it was fun and different every day. Hardest part was dealing with unruly teenagers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work was good
Housekeeper/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKFebruary 3, 2015
IT was a great place to work at that time in the 1990's.the people where all nice.
Cons, pay and running out of supply's
I got there at 3:30 talked to my boss and planned the night worked
Left at 12:00am
Pros
People time off
Cons
pay, no supply's
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Students were great and fun. Great freindship and fellowship with co-workers
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKNovember 3, 2014
Picking students up at their homes and transporting them to school. Then return to school and return them home. Special need students require a lot of love, understanding, and compassion. Beginning in February 2009 the management showed favoretism between the employees they hired and the employees with years of service. Because of it several very good and competent drivers have chosen to go somewhere else. I had a very good relationship with my co-workers. we had carry-in meals and if there was a need among them, we rallied around them and assisted in any way to make their situation less stressful. The stressful work environment made by management between employees and the fact they did not always follow policy but reprimanded drivers who were found mistakenly erring on a policy. My students as I have always loved being with students and driving my bus. Together, they made my day and I was always very happy and upbeat.
Pros
benefits and wages
Cons
while on our route, we were not allowed to stop after our bus was empty, and could only stop at the nearest school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Office Assistant/Lab Tech (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKJanuary 28, 2014
Real focus on furthering children's education. Great environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyed my time there.
Part-time File Clerk/Secretary (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKJanuary 25, 2014
My boss was one of the nicest I have ever had anywhere I have worked.

My co-workers couldn't have been nicer to me.

The hardest part of the job was picking up heavy boxes and moving them.

I enjoyed the people and the job, I hated to leave.
Pros
We had birthday dinners each month.
Cons
No benefits at all. But most part-time jobs, this is the case.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Technical Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  norman okOctober 15, 2013
Typical day would be at a site/school doing technical problems that arise
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKMay 13, 2013
toke care of kids, helped teach them, and got to be around kids all day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
substitute teacher
SUBSTITUTE TEACHER (Current Employee) –  Norman, OKNovember 4, 2012
Impliment the Teachers lesson plans.
Focus on childrens needs
Manage classroom
Work as a team with other Staff
Different classrooms and plans daily
The children
Pros
working with others as a team with the same goals
Cons
not knowing when i will get to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NORMAN PUBLIC SCHOOLS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
4.1

NORMAN PUBLIC SCHOOLS Reviews by Location