NORMAN PUBLIC SCHOOLS Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Norman Public Schools
School Counselor (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKJune 19, 2015
NPS is a very innovative district. Their ability to move with the times is exceptional. They are constantly striving to make the education for their students better.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Teacher/Assistant Football & Assistant Track Coach (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKJune 10, 2015
I enjoyed both teaching and coaching at Norman Public Schools for Norman North. The kids and the parents were very enjoyable over the years.
Pros
Helping kids
Cons
Weather from time to time
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Certified Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKApril 20, 2015
I learned how to work with teachers and students and it was fun and different every day. Hardest part was dealing with unruly teenagers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work was good
Housekeeper/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKFebruary 3, 2015
IT was a great place to work at that time in the 1990's.the people where all nice.
Cons, pay and running out of supply's
I got there at 3:30 talked to my boss and planned the night worked
Left at 12:00am
Pros
people time off
Cons
pay, no supply's
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Students were great and fun. Great freindship and fellowship with co-workers
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKNovember 3, 2014
Picking students up at their homes and transporting them to school. Then return to school and return them home. Special need students require a lot of love, understanding, and compassion. Beginning in February 2009 the management showed favoretism between the employees they hired and the employees with years of service. Because of it several very good and competent drivers have chosen to go somewhere else. I had a very good relationship with my co-workers. we had carry-in meals and if there was a need among them, we rallied around them and assisted in any way to make their situation less stressful. The stressful work environment made by management between employees and the fact they did not always follow policy but reprimanded drivers who were found mistakenly erring on a policy. My students as I have always loved being with students and driving my bus. Together, they made my day and I was always very happy and upbeat.
Pros
benefits and wages
Cons
while on our route, we were not allowed to stop after our bus was empty, and could only stop at the nearest school.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Office Assistant/Lab Tech (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKJanuary 28, 2014
Real focus on furthering children's education. Great environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyed my time there.
Part-time File Clerk/Secretary (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKJanuary 25, 2014
My boss was one of the nicest I have ever had anywhere I have worked.

My co-workers couldn't have been nicer to me.

The hardest part of the job was picking up heavy boxes and moving them.

I enjoyed the people and the job, I hated to leave.
Pros
we had birthday dinners each month.
Cons
no benefits at all. but most part-time jobs, this is the case.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Technical Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  norman okOctober 15, 2013
Typical day would be at a site/school doing technical problems that arise
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Norman, OKMay 13, 2013
toke care of kids, helped teach them, and got to be around kids all day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
substitute teacher
SUBSTITUTE TEACHER (Current Employee) –  Norman, OKNovember 4, 2012
Impliment the Teachers lesson plans.
Focus on childrens needs
Manage classroom
Work as a team with other Staff
Different classrooms and plans daily
The children
Pros
working with others as a team with the same goals
Cons
not knowing when i will get to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NORMAN PUBLIC SCHOOLS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture