Find companies:
North American Midway Entertainment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

North American Midway Entertainment Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a mans world
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee), Barrington, ILApril 21, 2014
This job would be more suited to a male, it was very gender biased
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Traveling Amusement
Rides Operator; Break Personal; Ticket Seller (Former Employee), Jackson, MSSeptember 23, 2013
Pros: traveling with in the usa and canada
Cons: long hours, lack of sleep
A typical day of carnival life. Begins waking up early within the morning; getting ready for the day ahead of ones self. Going to your Rides and Inspecting them to make sure they are properly maintained for use latter on in the early afternoon to midnight for customers enjoyment and admusement. About 1/2 hour to a hour for a break to freshen up, eat, – more... and to be back at work so that your customers have a eventful and joyful day while visiting the admusement park. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Foreman of the ride
Ride Operator/Mechanical Maintenance Operator (Former Employee), Jackson, MSJuly 24, 2013
Pros: worked with music, good customers
Cons: short breaks, healthcare, insurance
Set up and tear down the ride every week to two weeks.
Maintain the up keep of the ride.
Operated the ride.
I learned a lot about team work.
Daily inspection if something broke I fixed it.
Had to train people every week for temporary help.
work and lived a long side co-workers
the hardest part was working in the rain fast and safely at the same time.
most – more... enjoyable being able to make people smile and have a great time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Irrigation Installer (Former Employee), Brandon, MSMay 7, 2013
very special company to work with! i had a chance to travel and see outside MS and the people are fun to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good way to travel the United States
Games operator (Former Employee), Accross the united statesFebruary 8, 2013
Pros: gave insentives for good work
Cons: long hours for minimum wage
Long Hours
Small Living Quarters
Good Way to travel around the united states while you work
meet new people all the time
hard work but fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Live Experience
Ride operator (Former Employee), AmericaJanuary 3, 2013
Pros: see america
Cons: long hours
Long hours , but you get to see the world. Very hard work and you need to be commited
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun please to work
Foreman (Former Employee), Gibsonton, FLJuly 13, 2012
wish i could go back to for them ,hope the new owner makes life ease for the employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst company ever
Games Operator (Former Employee), winnipegOctober 6, 2014
I hated working for then they treat me pretty much like cattle
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always Smiling, and enjoying to work
Supervisor of Guest Service Department (Former Employee), Around North AmericaFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: free accomadation, travel accross north america, ability to save money
Cons: long hours, hard work for set up and tear down.
I can't say there ever was a typical day at NAME, due to every day being different. Being In that line of work I would have to communicate with different guest every day. One day we would have a quiet day and its your typical greeting guest to helping them with directions on where they would like to go, to handing out Band-aids for scraped knees. Every – more... Band-aid we distributed we would have to write a formal Incident report, which included the guest information as well as mine, how the incident occurred, and what first aid actions were required. I have obtained my FA1 which is my Emergency First Aid & CPR/ AED certificate. Management was amazing at NAME, they help you succeed in as many ways as possible, they are encouraging for you to push yourself to your limits. They do work you hard but they don't push you to do something if they know your not capable of doing so. Hardest part of my job i would have to say if the never going to satisfy guest, where no matter what you can do to offer them something or for that case that you cant and they start to become an aggressive guest. When that situation does come up, I then listen to the guest's concern repeat it so they knew I was listening and then I would solve the problem to the best of my abbilities, If the guest is still aggresive or not cooperative I would then get my superior and see if she can resolve the situation. The most enjoyable part of my job Is watching the kids approach you and putting smiles on thier faces. For example We were playing at the Calgary Stampede Fair, and I was located in the Kids Midway. A mother and Daughter approached my stand and was very angry. She explained her situation and was about a little boy behind her daughter kept pushing her daughter and pushed her down the slide and our ride attendant was not paying attention and she got really scared and refused to go on any more rides for the rest of the day and the mother just purchased a Ride All Day Wristband for unlimited rides. I apologized to the guest for the other guest behavior, and for our ride attendant. I asked the mother to please fill out a comment form, while she was doing so I informed her that our employee will go through courtesy and safety training again with our safety director. I then asked the daughter if she would like me to go down the slide with me so she doesn't have to be scared any more. Once we completed the ride together the smile on her face and the happiness in her voice she ran off the ride and told her mom its okay I want to go on more rides. The guest and her daughter walked away satisfied guests. the feeling you get after experiences as that is amazing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun,fast paced environment to work in,lots of travel and long hours.
Ride Operator/ Set up Coordinator (Former Employee), US/CanadaJanuary 21, 2014
-Set up/Tear down of large structure often declaring area a construction zone.
-Learned safety procedures for both set up/tear down and operations.
-obtained a certificate in AB for harness use and safety.
-Supervised a crew of 4-7 people daily.
-provided a professional level of customer service on a daily basis.
-filled out paper work (i.e. break sheets,scheduling)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Hard-working, Intelligent, Respective Individual who loves to eat tacos
Ride Operator (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: yes
Cons: yes
It was fun, I loved the environment out there each in every city we all went and worked. I learned alot! Never knew how much being a ride operator can be so much fun while making a lot of good money. The management was awesome, it was a blast. Made lots of great friends and met a love of mine (now been dating for almost a year now). The hardest part – more... of the job was when it when we are tearing apart all of the rides and setting up, the raining weather was even worse. For example, let's say it's the last day of work in Calgary, Alberta. We'd have to prepare tearing all of the rides down right after when the fair is over, we would all put on our gear and equipment to use to do so. Work all night, the whole entire shift would total up to 22 hours straight. That's only one city, though, throughout the summer my endurance kept me this job from going more. I am very flexible, and very active. I play vigorous sports, athletic as much as basketball, track and ice hockey. That's a little piece of me, I can tell you much more when info needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experiance
Ticket Seller (Former Employee), Toronto, ONSeptember 14, 2013
Cons: hours not guarenteed
It is hard to get shifts everyday. But when you do, the money is alright
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carnival Entertainment Amusement rides
Ride Operator (Former Employee), Calgary, ABNovember 19, 2012
Cons: worked for 13 hours a day
I enjoyed working for this company every day as I like working with people, I worked long hours and it made me a stronger person, I learned great customer service skills, and worked with all age groups, I became good friends with the people who worked with me and we always supported each other. The hardest part of my Job was setup and tearing down of – more... carnival rides roller coasters and graviton rides which required us to move heavy equipment and be very safe. The most enjoyable part of my job was when the fair opened and I could talk to all people with different cultures races, and sometimes learned allot from these people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Customer Service (Former Employee), edmontonNovember 2, 2012
a typical day was you were always busy always something to do management was good my co-workers were amazing got along with everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Customer Service (Former Employee), edmontonNovember 2, 2012
a typical day was you were always busy always something to do management was good my co-workers were amazing got along with everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Interesting place to work
North American Midway Entertainment Ticket Seller (Former Employee), Toronto, ONOctober 13, 2012
Pros: the co-workers
Cons: the management
A typical day would be sitting in a booth selling tickets, alongside a partner to guests of the theme park who were interested in riding the rides. Also important to give them the best deal possible which was selling the play all day wristbands to them. I learned more about customer service, and how to deal with conflict situations with the customer – more... in which I had to cater to them while not breaking the policy of the company. The management were very shady and not to be trusted completely. They were purposefully miscalculated your ticket bag and stole money from you in which at the end of the day would come out of your pay. The co-workers were the best part of the job, they were always jolly and kept the mood in a positive height while working in the booths. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun Place and emphasis on time management.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Toronto, ONAugust 13, 2012
Typical day would start out as selling passes to customers and assisting them with any kind of questions. But since this was my first job, I learned many valuable things. I got to experience the working force first hand. I interacted with numerous customers a day. I learned what it was like to work under someone while completing duties under time constraints – more... and I learned how to work with other people to complete a task at a workplace. I did not find this job too difficult instead I enjoyed it more than I thought I would. The best part about it was gaining experience and talking to new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
j'avais aimé l'ambiance du travail ete vraiment bonne
Assistant Cook (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: de pause ete correct
je me suis encore cumuler d'autre expérience en travaillant en equipe encore une fois chez North American Midway Entertainment.

North American Midway Entertainment Photos