North Austin Medical Center Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Certified Surgical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 9, 2017
If you want to have someone be nice to your face then turn around and tell you how horrible of a person you are for wanting to better your career then feel free to work here. Typical day, you always had someone watching your every move. Breaks were monitored very closely and if you were even slightly over then someone was hunting you down.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Foodservice Associate (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 16, 2017
This facility is a great place to work for with an excellent benefit package, room for advancement. The workers show great compassion for customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, cool place to work at
Respiratory Care Practitioner (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXSeptember 14, 2017
Co-workers are fun to work with. They provide training and proper orientation. They pay for your certification. They provide room for advancement. Staff are friendly and culturally diverse.
Pros
slow-paced, fun place to work
Cons
expensive lunch, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
see below
Travel Nurse Assignments (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 22, 2017
This was a travel nurse assignment on a 33-bed renal floor. I learned more about urology and everyday was a learning experience. I worked with a very professional staff and the manager of the department was very helpful. I don't believe we ever had more than 2-3 empty beds and they would be filled quickly. I generally was the charge RN and would take 2-3 patients while the other staff would have 5-6 patients. The only rest we could get was lunch break and we all made sure we had that for the rest it provided. Once again, the patients were the enjoyable part of the job. The hospital was definitely built with nursing in mind, the unit was circular and two nurses stations and the dialysis unit in the middle. We could keep eyes on our patients conveniently.
Pros
Good working conditions and professional staff
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great facility
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Austin, TX 78758June 28, 2017
12 hour night shift was the hardest part of this job. Good work area, clean, well maintained, great co-workers.
Only left because I had a difficult time transferring to day shift. Would probably still be there.
Pros
weekend shifts
Cons
long drive from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
ICU Staff NurseJanuary (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 18, 2017
Worked there for 7 month , liked it a lot , Interesting workplace for Nursing ( ICU) . Great work environment , great team . Had to quit because I could not drive to work everyday anymore and home after 12 h shift . When I started did not think it would be so hard .
Pros
great work place
Cons
Long drive to work ad home, 75 miles one way
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Patient Care Tech III (Former Employee) –  AustinMay 10, 2017
I enjoyed every minute of working in the ER on the night shift, we had a great strong team that worked well together. I hated to leave but being a single mom I needed a better paying job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Cat scan technologist GE 64, 16 scanners (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMarch 30, 2017
This facility was a very busy environment. It could of been organized differently and work flow would improve. The location is convenient and the area is lovely.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Leadership, Bad Turnover
Registrar (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMarch 27, 2017
Great place to get your foot in the door of the medical field, but because they are so willing to hire those with less experience there was a high turnover rate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good support and team environment.
In-patient Wound/Ostomy Nurse (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXFebruary 4, 2017
Work with staff that is friendly, helpful and caring to patients and co-workers of all kinds. Management is supporting. Hardest part of job is letting it go at end of day. Most enjoyable part of the job is having patients say "can you go home with me?"
Pros
Pay day ice cream for all.
Cons
lots and lots of work, can be overwhelming some times.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not organized and management is non existent
Tech (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXNovember 28, 2016
I worked there first job in Austin. The most unorganized company I have ever worked for. Saving a couple of dollars was clearly more important than staff. Negative attitude due to over worked and under appreciated staff. I have never felt so on my own in an environment where being a team is vital.
Pros
Newly innovated, great equupment
Cons
Bad energy, micro managed to a tee
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative Team
Clinical Experience (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 10, 2016
Great team of doctors and RRT's working together to better the patient. They are easy to talk to and listen when you feel you have a solution.
Pros
Discount lunches for students. CEU's available.
Cons
The pay is less because it is a for profit organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager is working so non professional and hiring not enough experience nurses
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 7, 2016
The manager's surgery services
Managing so awfully and no experience nurses are working so many, etc.
It was really not the best area to work with them
Pros
No experience nurse are so many working at dept of surgery
Cons
Not professionals
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
efficient and provides staffs with needed tools
Charge Nurse- Urology/Oncology Specialty (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 22, 2016
A typical day is hectic but rewarding personally and financially.
Advanced my skill set. Co-workers were amazing. The hardest part was getting a routine.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst management EVER
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMarch 27, 2016
This store is always super busy and the company does not allow advancement. They do not want anything other than non ambitious staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gossips in my department
housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 25, 2016
They make fun of the manager behind his back, gossips and stupid comments about dont trust anyone every five minutes. It was bad.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
gossip
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working here as my first job.
RN Medical-Surgical Full-Time (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 3, 2015
I was a new nurse when I started, and I am thankful for the experience and opportunity I received when I started. The only reason I left was that I relocated to Houston, TX.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent facility
Unit Coordinator, Emergency Department (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 15, 2015
Leadership is responsive. Great company. Customer service is a primary focus and staff are held accountable to a high standard of care and service. Benefits could be better. Overall, an excellent place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good work environment
Physical therapist rehab tech (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 21, 2015
Good work environment. Management is people friendly. HR is fantastic. Excellent nursing staff. Therapists are fun to work with, and a great learning environment
Pros
Great management staff throughout the hospital
Cons
Unfortunately, not hiring PTA's
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management changed 3 times in the year I worked there.
ER RN (Former Employee) –  Austin, texasAugust 27, 2014
Aside from the great management when I started, changed 3 times and got worse with each change. Also, charge nurses not helpful and blame new "kids" for any issues that arise.
Most of the MD's were great!
Long shifts, usually understaffed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at North Austin Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 35 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
2.9
Culture
3.3

North Austin Medical Center Reviews by Location