Find companies:
North Carolina Central University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
63 reviews

North Carolina Central University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very rewarding
Grant Accountant (Former Employee), Durham, NCNovember 21, 2014
Pros: free lunches and free dinners
Cons: no cons
The most challenging task while working with a grant accountant is learning to write grants for different departments
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace to be at
LGBTA Resource Center Associate (Former Employee), Durham, NCNovember 16, 2014
Greet and assist visitors
Provide information about the center and upcoming events
Recruit and manage volunteers for the center
Manage the center website and social media platforms (Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Community Assistant (Current Employee), Durham, NCOctober 6, 2014
Working for NCCU has prepared me for the real world as a student who hasn't graduated yet the skills that NCCU have given me are learned later in life. management could be a little better but for the most part I enjoy my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent job
Building Technician (Former Employee), Durham, NCSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: excellent team
meeting in the morning
check emails and work order system for daily tasks
complete each tasks
meeting at the close of the day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employment
Facilities Maintenance (Former Employee), Durham, NCSeptember 20, 2014
I was employed with NCCU for over 15 years, but due to budget constraints I was a reduction in force candidate (laid off May 2014).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Work Place
Assistant Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), Durham, NCSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: a lot of variety
Wonderful coworkers. Your day is never typical. Always new and challenging things
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative Environment
Cheerleading Coach (Current Employee), Durham, NCAugust 15, 2014
Pros: creative freedom
I enjoy the work I do at NCCU. It allows me to be creative and give back to the incoming freshmen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great facility that I can spend the remainder of my career with.
Administrative Support Associate (Current Employee), Durham NCJuly 29, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: had to pay for parking each month
A typical day at work was great. It is a fast pace invoirment with multi-line phones, students and faculty in and out constantly. I enjoy people, so my co-worker are awsome. My computer skills have sharpen more now than before. I have the best management team. I enjoyed them all. One thing that I can truly say is that I had to wear many different hats – more... on my job and even though it was at times a bit challenging I really enjoyed it. I think the one thing that I enjoyed most was interacting with all types of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Tutor (Former Employee), durhamJuly 14, 2014
Great people to work with, very easy job.
would love to work for them again some times
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Recreational Assistant (Former Employee), Durham, NCJuly 13, 2014
This work study job allowed me to balance my student life, personal life, and social life. The hardest part about my job would be the first month of remembering faces and some names of students the access the campus gym.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience if you enjoy working with higher education
Community Assistant (Former Employee), Durham, NCJune 25, 2014
Pros: gaining first time working experience
Cons: only applicable to students of the university
The thing I loved most about my job was interacting with the Residents of the Halls and being a mentor to some of them. I also was able to gain administrative assistant skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Durham, NCJune 24, 2014
Glad had a chance to work there was a wonderful experience,expanded my teaching and classroom styles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Administrative Support Specialist (Current Employee), Durham, NCJune 19, 2014
The most enjoyable part of my current position at North Carolina Central University as Administrative Support Specialist is working in a diverse atmosphere. I get to build great business relationships and deliver stellar customer service to a wide range of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NCCU Review
Technology Support Technician (Current Employee), Durham, NCJune 16, 2014
Great experience working for this small higher ed institution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Student Union (Former Employee), Durham, NCJune 8, 2014
I learn to organize and customer service. My co-worker were loving, and the job was not hard to do. The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor pool supervision
Lifeguard/Swim Instructor (Former Employee), Durham, NCMay 27, 2014
When I worked there I was the only guard that had a whistle and pocket breathing mask. Pool manager would frequently use his phone while on the lifeguarding stand. I would not recommend swimming there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a productive place to work , you could have fun as well as work
Administrative Associate (Former Employee), NCMay 20, 2014
Pros: no free lunches, i love working with people
Cons: thetere where braks but i like to complete whatever i starts so sometimes there where no breaks
A typical day at work would be on how to prioritize your day. I manage to manage an office for 75 faculty members and 1500 staff members, attended meetings, wrote reports, spoke on and off campus, conducted work shops, fundraiser and surprise that would come in between. I am multi-task. I learned that it takes all of us to make something happen. Working – more... together as a team works better than someone trying to get notice or awarded.

I work very well with co-workers and people period.
The most enjoyable part of my day at work would be going in with the right attitude that no matter what I faced during the day at the end of the day I made a difference in someone life whether it was large or small. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I just Volunteered
Baby Shower Volunteer (Former Employee), Durham, NCMay 5, 2014
I just volunteered I did not get paid for what I did. Everything that I volunteered for i liked what I did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NCCU
IT Associate (Former Employee), Durham, NCMay 4, 2014
Environment filled with opportunity for those willing to dedicate themselves to hard work and learning
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic research and efficiency research with a welcomed environment filled with individuals from different ethnic group.
Lab Assistant/tech. (Current Employee), Durham, NCApril 27, 2014
Pros: always reliable and deliver on time all my duties.
Cons: short breaks/short time, but i will still deliver/complete my duties.
Culture or split my sample cells and analyze discovered data from screening with r-studio approach and plate the cells for incubation.I learned more specific/technical skills and be able to interpret data.Team work is a key factor to the success of all our results.Short break/time to deliver all your duties daily.It is a welcomed environment and i am – more... glad been a part of such environment. – less

1 2 3 4