Find companies:
Northeastern Illinois University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

Northeastern Illinois University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good
Interim Transfer Enrollment Coordinator (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 31, 2014
Pros: great experience
Cons: only a temporary position
A typical day was data input, meeting with students and researching resources for the program. I learned to work on excell, and constant contact. Co-workers were team players and very helpful. The hardest part of the job, was learning constant contact. The most enjoyable was working with the students
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ENgaging and uplifting. Very hands on and interactive
Community Worker (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 12, 2014
Definitely had an incredible time working with this company. Every student I have worked with, definitely mad a positive impact on my life. I hope that I have done the same for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Experience
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 11, 2014
This was my first college job and help me to get comfortable with new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment was enjoyable.
Wireless Network Support Tech (Current Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: fun interacting with people, and supportive co workers.
Cons: rules constantly changed every week.
A typical day of work involves signing up students and staff for WiFi.
Management is supportive.
Co-workers are friendly.
Changing of rules every week was the hardest part.
The enjoyable part of the job was interacting with students and staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I great place to help people learn
Physics tutor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 23, 2014
The SCSE at NEIU was a great place to tutor. The facility was well thought out and we got tons of fantastic support from the director and staff.

This was student employment, helping me defray tuition cost, so pay was minimal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating work environment
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 13, 2014
My experience with Northeastern Illinois University has been spectacular. My PIs have been extremely supportive and the guidance and experience I got here has been great. I grew a great deal as a person and researcher with their help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversity
IT Support Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 3, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: year long probationary period, uncomfortable workplace
There is more diversity with the student body than with the actual employees. If you are looking for a comfortable environment with diversity this is not one for you. If you are hired you are on a year probationary period where you can be fired for a numerous reasons and without an explanation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alma Matter
Referee/Staff/Supervisor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 4, 2013
Northeastern Illinois University, also known as NEIU is a university located in the northeast side of Chicago. It is the most diverse school in the Midwest, and second to most diverse school in the nation.
I'm a NEIU graduate and I served as a Senator of the Student Government Association. I also worked at the Parking Office and Campus Recreation Department, – more... and officiated several sports as a student at NEIU. Overall, a great experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intercity campus
Southside Campus Director (Former Employee), Chicago, IllinoisOctober 3, 2013
Pros: employees were allowed to take college courses
Cons: not enough administrative employees for each department
Worked for Chairmen of Inner City Studies - prepared syllabus for classes. Supervised office clerks and facilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience.
Parking Agent (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 12, 2013
Supervisors provide real world business experience. I learned managing purchase orders, communicating with accounts controller, monthly audits of invoices and collaborating among different departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked on the Microbiology Cryopreservation project.
Microbiology Research Associate (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 16, 2013
It was my responsability to create a library of microogranisms through aseptic conditions for Biology classes at NEIU. I isolated, grew, and amplified positive and negative microorganisms and also fungi. This project is extremely important as it assures a high variability of microorganisms and it avoids genetic drift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fast-paced, learning environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 8, 2013
Pros: family atmosphere, free education
Cons: must travel to north campus for advancement opportunities
challenging, fast-paced, fun, productive, learning environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satellite sites are the best
Administrative Clerk (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 27, 2013
Satellite sites are the best. They cater to the predominant ethnic group in the area. instructors are top flight.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Computing Services is a great job for busy students
Student Computing Services (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJune 24, 2013
Pros: the scheduling
Cons: none really
A very easy going place to work with the most flexible scheduling I have ever seen in my life. The management is terrific and you always feel like they are on your team. The co-workers are terrific as well, we have a lot of fun. The hardest part of the job is the occasional time-sink person who wants you to do every little thing for them, "How do I – more... open an email?". All in all a perfect job for a busy student. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company has a problem with job security. UPI is not helpful at all.
Visiting Lecturer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 15, 2013
OK. I taught many undergraduate physics and math courses and enjoyed my work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 23, 2013
Love the co-workers, the pay was flexible. I would recommend this to anyone, the environment is awesome and the students on the campus are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable experience of being able to help students succeed
Student Aide/Tutor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMay 2, 2013
Pros: accommodating scheduling, good pay, diverse assortment of coworkers
Cons: 20 hours per week work limit
A typical day consisted of being in middle school or high school classes, helping students with academic/school related questions they may have, tutoring, helping teachers with simple tasks (passing out and collecting papers and/or materials) so that they can have more time for lecturing and demonstrations, and mentoring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing
Tutor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 12, 2013
I worked by myself and reported once a week to my Professor. It was pretty convenient to work from home and at my own pace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative
Executive Appeals Supervisor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 28, 2013
Many bad customers. Poor management, poor co-workers, rules and procedures were not specific and not followed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Develop computerized tutorial for faculty of the university.
Human Resource Development Intern (Former Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: assessing, developing and teaching.
Cons: researching to determine what softwares were suitable for creating the tutorial.
Researched, assessed and developed the computerized tutorial using various softwares. Self taught different softwares. Successfully created the Blackboard tutorial.