Northern Illinois University Employee Reviews

Showing all 240 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain experience.
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILFebruary 19, 2017
Good professors that are interested in your well-being and the small department eventually starts to feel like a family.

The biggest issue has little to do with the chemistry department and more to do with the haze surrounding the budget crisis in Illinois as well as falling revenues from lower student enrollment.
Pros
Good professors
Cons
Illinois
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  DeKalb, ILFebruary 16, 2017
As a student worker you have plenty opportunities and learning scope here
Good industrial opportunities to get actual hands on experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning experience
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILFebruary 14, 2017
learnt a lot of new technologies and learnt about the work culture. Very supportive staff and work friendly surroundings. I would definitely recommmend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place with the best boss.
Computer Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  DeKalb, ILFebruary 9, 2017
My work was providing customer support in University Computer Labs with good problem-solving skills for troubleshooting hardware and software issues and assisted students with various computer related problems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No opportunity to grow or advance, no pay raises.
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILFebruary 6, 2017
I worked up front for almost two years, they were always understaffed and overworked. Poor work/life balance, and no one ever got a raise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging & Fun
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  DeKalb, ILFebruary 5, 2017
Very professional people around. I like my job and my professor I'm working under. Good compensation paid. Funding for research is not an issue. Work culture is good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working at NIU
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  DeKalb, ILFebruary 5, 2017
As a teaching responsibility I have to teach some introductory statistics courses two days in a week. I have to grade home works and quiz. From Fall 2017 I teaching Probability in Actuarial Science. By teaching I learned a lot about statistics.
Pros
Students are very friendly
Cons
Lots of home works to grade
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and different every day
Northern Ambassador (Current Employee) –  DeKalb, ILFebruary 3, 2017
• Give tours to prospective students for Northern Illinois University
• Answer phone calls to direct questions about admissions to NIU
• Participate in Student Panels to answer questions about NIU
• Assist with Open Houses and specific Admission’s Office events
• Give presentations to prospective students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its is a very productive environment to work in.
building service worker (Former Employee) –  Building ServivecsFebruary 1, 2017
It is a productive work place, with the ability to further ones education. The climate and culture is not bad. However, the climate within the department is very sensitive to criticism, especially the supervisor. She does not take it well. But over all working for the State of Illinois has been very positive, and the benefits are good too. Especially, the free tuition. I have been able to pick up my B.A. there and went on to get two additional graduate certificates there as well. I was even able to start a masters degree as well.
Pros
free tuition for college
Cons
department management is a bit restrictive in comparisons to other departments campus wide
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work and liveth
Disability resource centre (Current Employee) –  DeKalb, ILJanuary 25, 2017
This place is not expensive and a comfortable area. NIU has best infrastructure and good faculty. i enjoyed studying and working aat norther Illinois university.
Pros
not very expensive
Cons
little dry area to go shopping and other stuff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing people, somewhat disorganized
Undergraduate Researcher (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILJanuary 21, 2017
A typical day in my job was to create my schedule, write reports, then work in the lab. Undergraduate research gave me a deep sense of respect for what scientists do everyday. NIU seems to like hiring NIU graduates, but once you get in you are surrounded by scientists from the fermi and argon labs. I worked with amazing people in the geology department, they are all intelligent and passionate about their subject. My best advice is to set aside an hour each day to work with others around you on communication. This is a large university so stay on top of things because there are thousands of other people trying to do the same thing! I most enjoyed how the school encouraged me to challenge myself, they were supportive and available if needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work space very friendly
Groundskeeper (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILJanuary 17, 2017
I worked at NIU part time for the summer for about 2 and a half months. Everyone there was supportive and kind and approachable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Lab Attendant - DoIT (Current Employee) –  DeKalb, ILJanuary 13, 2017
I was working part time and I was also a full time graduate student. My manager was amazing and the work or life balance was the best. Job security is great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok but beware
Procurement Specialist III (Current Employee) –  DeKalb, ILJanuary 10, 2017
Top heavy management and no opportunity for advancement. No incentive to excel because no raises have been given in years. Its a mess. You have no here to go and you are the lowest paid in Illinois.
Pros
Great people. Great School
Cons
No raises, cost of living, merit, etc. No opportunity to advance. Top heavy. Too much mangement. State budget crisis
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and bild your carrier
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILJanuary 5, 2017
Nice professors
Efficient advisors
Lot of resources
Access to wide variety of reading materials and conferences
Projects are from very good companies and hence requires lot more effort in solving them
Pros
Good education, Free stuff almost every day
Cons
Little bit expensive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duties
Senior Admission Counselor (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILJanuary 4, 2017
Worked in office meeting with prospective students to the university. Traveled throughout Northwestern IL and recruited students from 50+ high schools and community colleges. Completed admissions presentations to students on campus for open houses.
Pros
travel, working with students and parents to show the positives of NIU.
Cons
constant travel, abnormal hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILNovember 29, 2016
I loved this job! I stayed here for 3 years. If you are a peoples person this is the job for you. I was able to meet many new people while fulfilling my job duties!
Pros
On campus job
Cons
Can't live off campus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun company
Dinning Hall Supervisor (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILNovember 19, 2016
This was just a part time job for me. I worked as a dinning hall supervisor where I managed about 8 workers. Very fun and upbeat. It was one of the few jobs I looked forward to going to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly run programs
Tutor Supervisor (Current Employee) –  DeKalb, ILNovember 18, 2016
Student job programs are poorly designed with little to no support from upper management. Even the more prestigious jobs, such as supervising tutoring centers, have little oversight and direction.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work
Graduate Research/Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  DeKalb County, ILNovember 4, 2016
I enjoy my work doing experiments and conducting labs to the students with challenges every day. I learn lot of things while teaching students and educate my self daily.
Pros
lot of new things
Cons
busy schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Northern Illinois University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 240 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

CEO Approval

80%
Approve - Based on 45 ratings
Add your rating

Northern Illinois University Reviews by Location