Find companies:
Northern Illinois University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
127 reviews

Northern Illinois University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leadership at its best
Supplemental Instruction Leader (Former Employee), DeKalb, ILNovember 10, 2014
Got to mentor a lot of undergraduates.
Helped them with understanding the subject through sessions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Research Assistant (Current Employee), DeKalb, ILNovember 6, 2014
Great place to do some exciting work that can really help students
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Accounting Auditor (Current Employee), dekalbNovember 5, 2014
Convenient Timing
Learned to develop and implement the known skills and learn the new skills
Well known management environment
Good work culture
Got to learn many things in all the aspects
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place and people
Payroll Clerk/Accounting Clerk/Office Clerk (Former Employee), DeKalb, ILOctober 15, 2014
Pros: close to home.
Cons: limited to 900 hours of work only per year.
No full time work available. Friendly people and have made a lot of friends there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with great faculty
Undergraduate Research Apprentive (Former Employee), DeKalb, ILOctober 7, 2014
Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to – more... work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), DeKalb, ILOctober 4, 2014
Pros: well structured system, talented mentor
Cons: semester based
Research work under very talented professor, Learned a lot about occupational ergonomics with guidance from professor. Worked in a research fro Human Computer interface with focus on virtual keyboard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Full-Time Head Student Equipment Manager (Former Employee), Dekalb, ILSeptember 30, 2014
It was an ok town and ok place to be. If you want a great education come here
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time gig for a student
(PAL) Staff - Peer Tutor (Former Employee), DeKalb, ILSeptember 29, 2014
As the summary says its a good job for pocket money while in school
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to study
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), DekalbSeptember 26, 2014
- NIU gives you all the options to keep yourself busy. You just got to find the right ones!
- I have learned a lot of things at NIU, right from learning my coursework, working, teaching undergrad kids, managing time for part time, organizing events etc..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workstudy
Clerical Asst in Student Support / Dining Hall (Former Employee), DeKalb, ILSeptember 22, 2014
i worked as a cafeteria worker and was assigned to grill and deepfry cook. i also worked as a receptionist for the student support services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Student/Worker (Former Employee), Dekalb, IllinoisSeptember 14, 2014
It's okay, dealing with bureaucrats can become tiresome after a little while-very hurry up and wait mentality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academic work environment
Computer Labs Supervisor (Former Employee), DeKalb, ILSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: stress free work environment
Cons: paid very little
Supervised the operations of the College of Business Computer labs. Learned to support computer users and statistical packages. Management was extremely supportive. Co workers were ok. Working late night shifts was the hardest part of my job. The most enjoyable part was helping PC users and training graduate students and professors on PC usage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and different place to work
cooks assistant (Former Employee), DeKalb, ILSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: great benefits, and pay
start my day by prepping food for the cooks, then my duties shifted to being the manager of the deli.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great management, accommodating hours
Multimedia Systems Engineer (Current Employee), DeKalb IlAugust 28, 2014
Pros: accommodates students obligations
Cons: student pay, no benefits
I spent 4 years working at niu and I must say that it has been a pleasure. The audiovisual department is the best set of employees on campus. I learned a ton and made a couple friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and education workplace
Student Archives Assistant (Former Employee), Dekalb, ILAugust 17, 2014
Working in the Founders Memorial Library has been a wonderful opportunity as an undergraduate. I had the pleasure to work in two departments, where I got ample experience in processing, preserving, and archiving a variety of unique collections. I also had the opportunity to create lesson plans for educators using the resources the library had to offer.
One – more... of the best parts of this job was being able to assist students and patrons with their research, providing materials, and educating them on research databases. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is like home
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), DeKalb, ILJuly 24, 2014
Great place to work. The staff really care about you and your growth. Always pushing you to keep learning and develop both personally and professionally. Despite it being a large school, there is a lot of quality student interaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Member (Horrible)
Clerical Worker (Former Employee), DeKalb, ILJuly 21, 2014
Lets just say that was my very first job in highschool and it was the worst job I had thus far to date.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, fun, flexible, and a knowledge attaining workplace
Server, expeditor, and busser (Former Employee), Dekalb, ILJuly 17, 2014
Pros: free lunches and building relationships
Cons: working in very hot areas
A typical day at work would consist of a variety of rolls in a dining hall. I would serve food to 500+ students and staff, conduct custodian work, communicate with and assist cooks, wash dishes, open and close workplace with other crew members, and assure excellent and friendly customer service to all individuals. I would assist any physically and/or – more... intellectually impaired individuals also assuring satisfaction with meals and seating.
Most days I dealt with student management who were exceptionally well-qualified and fun over-all. My managers and I were always professional, understanding, and content with each other and our work.
My coworkers varied, but there were no complaints. Most coworkers were hard working and friendly to the rest of the team and customers, exercising procedure.
The most difficult part of the job was working over-exceedingly fast due to a lack of crew during the winter season.
The most enjoyable part was building relationships with every day customers and always being able to satisfy customers with neat, professional, and friendly work and communication.
I learned to not only work with a variety of people, but deal with a variety of students. I learned to always keep smiling to keep others smiling and feeling better about any typical day. I learned to consider different personalities and deal with people accordingly, contrary to treating everyone the same. I learned to work a variety of roles simultaneously: a custodian, food server, assistant, and friend. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Technical Services (Current Employee), DeKalb, ILJune 24, 2014
I love the department I work in, and it is an awesome job. NIU tends to pay students less than should be required by the work they do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable part of the job
Graduate Teaching Assistant in Anthropology (Former Employee), DeKalb, ILJune 10, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: poor communication
Great atmosphere! Loved my co-workers! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Salary was decent for the job. There were not any benefits for my position, and the health insurance was not the greatest.

1 2 3 4 5