Find companies:
Northern Illinois University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
156 reviews

Northern Illinois University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), DeKalb, ILJanuary 12, 2015
I had a wonderful experience at NIU for graduate school. The small department has a strong family feel to it that you might not get at larger universities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job but only night work available
General Manager 4M Supplies and Installation (Current Employee), NIU Police DepartmentJanuary 11, 2015
Pros: pay, benefits
Cons: working hours
The job mainly entails securing buildings and other University property (vehicles, athletic fields, parking lots, events...). We also issue state citations for parking violations... Management is very professional. It is a Union job. It is a great place to work if you like night work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good place to work at and had fun dealing with students like me.
Teaching assistant (Former Employee), Computer Science BuildingJanuary 5, 2015
My job was helping students get through with their assignments. As the course I was the assistant for is a programming course the students would be coming to me with many bugs and I had to fix them. Typically many of them were solved but they were situations where I was not able to help them. I had a very nice experience dealing with students of different minds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching students and learning at the same time
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), IllinoisDecember 21, 2014
It is fun to share ideas with people especially the younger ones that you have met certain areas before they are introduced to.

Colleagues are fun to work with
Leaders are helping and it is a new learning style
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Student worker (Former Employee), DeKalb, ILDecember 14, 2014
fun to work at, nice staff, good food. Short hours friendly work place easy to meet new people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier at Campus Parking Services
Cashier III Campus Parking Services (Current Employee), Campus Parking ServicesDecember 6, 2014
Pros: my co-workers and supervisors
Cons: state of illinois civil service salary
My Day varies every day. I work the front counter, as well as answer phones. Depending on how many co-workers are there every day, I can spend my day on the phone. I can also spend my day at the counter. In between serving customers, I work on multiple data entry error reports, Process web transactions of parking ticket payments and Parking permit purchases. As well as linking License plate information with outstanding tickets to the correct Staff or Student who has not attached this information to their account. I also work on linking Lost or Stolen parking permits to a Blue tooth system that allows the ticket officers to find the permits out in the field. My total overall job is mentally demanding making sure data is correct, and most important of all keeping this information secure and private. It is also emotionally demanding when customers get emotional about their parking issue, and I need to provide professional customer service so they are treated with respect, have their issue addressed, and the transaction is processed correctly and efficiently. With 16 years of experience in this field, I believe I excel at it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Based
Peer Educator (Current Employee), ILDecember 3, 2014
Financial Cents Peer Educators Role:
•To create a safe environment for students to discuss financial needs
•To serve as a resource and referral agent for students in need of financial assistance
•To assist in Financial Cents marketing efforts
•To attend marketing and recruiting events such as Orientation, Friday Fest, etc.
•To help create financial workshops to help educate the NIU community
•To be a reliable, responsible, and understanding advisor to students about their concerns and questions
•To participate in the Junior Achievement Program and assist in conducting workshops on Financial Literacy in the local school districts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace with many duties
Residential Admiration Specialist (Former Employee), DeKalb, ILNovember 24, 2014
Pros: loving enivorment
Cons: very little diversity
answering phones, talking with students, giving tours of the residence halls, signing students up for housing contracts, making sure all the filing is done

this job has taught me so many new skills, how to correctly answer the phone, file paper, sort, greet people, and speak with confidences

my work place was great my co workers too we always had lunch in the office or treats for the whole staff

i enjoyed being of service to new and current students and parents for tours, questions, or suggestions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a decent place to work
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), dekalb,ilNovember 19, 2014
Its a decent place to work. I worked as a lab assistant which gave me decent time to learn other software.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leadership at its best
Supplemental Instruction Leader (Former Employee), DeKalb, ILNovember 10, 2014
Got to mentor a lot of undergraduates.
Helped them with understanding the subject through sessions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Research Assistant (Current Employee), DeKalb, ILNovember 6, 2014
Great place to do some exciting work that can really help students
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Accounting Auditor (Current Employee), dekalbNovember 5, 2014
Convenient Timing
Learned to develop and implement the known skills and learn the new skills
Well known management environment
Good work culture
Got to learn many things in all the aspects
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place and people
Payroll Clerk/Accounting Clerk/Office Clerk (Former Employee), DeKalb, ILOctober 15, 2014
Pros: close to home.
Cons: limited to 900 hours of work only per year.
No full time work available. Friendly people and have made a lot of friends there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with great faculty
Undergraduate Research Apprentive (Former Employee), DeKalb, ILOctober 7, 2014
Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work

Great place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), DeKalb, ILOctober 4, 2014
Pros: well structured system, talented mentor
Cons: semester based
Research work under very talented professor, Learned a lot about occupational ergonomics with guidance from professor. Worked in a research fro Human Computer interface with focus on virtual keyboard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Full-Time Head Student Equipment Manager (Former Employee), Dekalb, ILSeptember 30, 2014
It was an ok town and ok place to be. If you want a great education come here
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part time gig for a student
(PAL) Staff - Peer Tutor (Former Employee), DeKalb, ILSeptember 29, 2014
As the summary says its a good job for pocket money while in school
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to study
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), DekalbSeptember 26, 2014
- NIU gives you all the options to keep yourself busy. You just got to find the right ones!
- I have learned a lot of things at NIU, right from learning my coursework, working, teaching undergrad kids, managing time for part time, organizing events etc..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workstudy
Clerical Asst in Student Support / Dining Hall (Former Employee), DeKalb, ILSeptember 22, 2014
i worked as a cafeteria worker and was assigned to grill and deepfry cook. i also worked as a receptionist for the student support services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Student/Worker (Former Employee), Dekalb, IllinoisSeptember 14, 2014
It's okay, dealing with bureaucrats can become tiresome after a little while-very hurry up and wait mentality.