Northern Illinois University Employee Reviews

Showing all 249 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
education
Student (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILAugust 4, 2016
I grew as a person and had many great experiences. I was able to grow into a young woman and also learned about different races. It is a institution where you learn about yourself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turnover
Northern Ambassador (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILAugust 3, 2016
The store I worked at had such a high turnover and a high call off rate. It was a college town so they knew they could treat employees unfairly and still end up with new employees who need a job. The managers didn't care about my school schedule or if I had a huge homework load.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Residential Dining Team Member (Current Employee) –  DeKalb, ILJuly 19, 2016
I have worked at my college for the 205-2016 school year. To me it was fun, I met a lot of great new people including managers and coworkers. Everyone was nice. I never had a problem with anyone there. Working there could be hard at times because of school but thankfully I got through the year with good grades at the end.
Pros
Free food
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Independent Research student (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILJuly 6, 2016
Learned a lot. Thankful for it. Amazing mentorship and guidance from the lecturers. Would recommend it for anyone who are planning for a masters in Industrial engineering.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fulfilling
Student Coordinator (Current Employee) –  DeKalb, ILJuly 6, 2016
Military student services produces and air of inclusivity and safety. It is meant to be a landing point for many students with a variety of concerns and issues. The staff and management work tirelessly to ensure all students are attended too and work side by side with them to eliminate any concerns. The best part is seeing students leave with more direction and determination than when they arrived.
Pros
condusive to school work, flexible hours.
Cons
High passed, no set job description
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment created by faculty
Student (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILJune 27, 2016
A typical day at this University involved a busy schedule. The university had many programs available that fit most lifestyles. The hardest part of attending this university is dealing with the snow as every winter delivers extreme conditions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Informative work place
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILJune 25, 2016
I have a great experience working as a Graduate Teaching Assistant. I get to learn new things from students and my professors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
creative
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILJune 6, 2016
Was an act of stunning, especially in the competence of the new science such as bioinformatics, I had to know and be experience to learn programming languages such as perl,C++,we were a team consisting of computer science students and Biology students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great School
Lake Lucerne, Camp Councilor (Current Employee) –  DeKalb, ILJune 3, 2016
My time at Northern Illinois University has taught me a lot, from who I am, to how to be a professional in the business world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very relaxed and goal orientated.
Veteran Benefits Counselor (Current Employee) –  DeKalb, ILJune 2, 2016
great place to work, you can do a days worth of work in a week or a weeks worth of work in a day, as long as it get done before the set deadline.
Pros
weekends off
Cons
work at your own pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Confidence
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILMay 24, 2016
Great to build some experience on the field that you love to take. The best part is you can get exposed to many real time issues that you have to deal with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good UNiversity
Technical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 11, 2016
Motivating staff,

help you to maintain work life balance

good co-worker
most enjoyable part of the job is various training sessions arranged.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work atmosphere in our department
Food Service Catering Supervisor (Current Employee) –  DeKalb, ILMay 10, 2016
Non-stop action during the day, move along from one event to another. Ive worked my way up to ladder here. I like working with all the students.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and good learning experience
New Hall Dining (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 30, 2016
Working here was interesting and focused entirely on good customer service skills. Some people that I worked with were just as motivated as me, however others were slightly lazy. I gained more time managing skills when it came to serving people food, and also customer service skills. The most enjoyable pat of the job was actually interacting with people, because they were never really rude.
Pros
Good Salary, Free lunches
Cons
Short breaks, bad scheduling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and emerging company
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  DeKalb, ILApril 25, 2016
Every day I had to follow the production process and check with the employee shifts and I got hands on experience in few designing softwares like Auto-CAD and Hypermesh. The hardest part was to manage the low level workers and the most enjoyable part of the job is that every day is a challenge.
Pros
Free lunch, picnics etc
Cons
short breaks, low pay etc
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Athlete Academic Case Manager (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILApril 4, 2016
Had a great time working here. Staff is very friendly. Learned a lot. lot of room for growth and professional development. I was very supported in this field.
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
veryhigh energy work setting
Coffee Corner Barista (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILMarch 24, 2016
Working as a barista at NIU helped me strengthen my multitasking skills. They worked well with my school schedule and I had ample time to fulfill my educational needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tremendous work place
Research assistant (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILMarch 5, 2016
My preferred day was when I found something new specially in research field because this will reflect not just only me but eventually will get benefit for everybody in this world and this is my target.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and pleasant
Food Server (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILFebruary 18, 2016
A typical day at work in NIU includes:
*Assist students' satisfaction.
*Help cooks to prepare food.
*Deliver foods to the buffet area.
*Implement food safety procedure and check the temperature of the food for every thirty minute.

The most enjoyable part of the job is able to work with fellow students.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  DeKalb, ILJanuary 27, 2016
It was good working there. Learned a lot from the professors. They were are very helpful. Got to lean new technologies. Understood how to manage things and how to allocate time to each activity.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Northern Illinois University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 249 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
3.9

Northern Illinois University Reviews by Location