Find companies:
Northern Tool + Equipment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
76 reviews

Northern Tool + Equipment Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
machinest (Former Employee), Mio, MIJuly 31, 2014
was not a bad place to work management was ok i liked my co workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always busy whitch I like and a set schedule
Customer Service Rep/Floor Supervisor (Former Employee), Burnsville, MNJuly 27, 2014
Pros: great benifits
Cons: people you work with were not helpful or friendly
Answering phone for customer care and support. When I was a floor supervisor it was a good feeling to know you could help others. I learned patience and communication skills. The biggest issue I had was the lack of the managements help. I enjoyed the fact that when you could help a customer with thier concerns it was a good feeling after you hung up – more... the call with them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A summer job
Cashier (Former Employee), VAJuly 9, 2014
I worked a summer job at Northern Tool - it wasn't bad. There was more respect than at a traditional big-box store.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Northern Tool
cashier (Current Employee), Ocala, FLJune 29, 2014
Pros: 20% discount
Cons: no benefits for p/t employees
Not a fun job,no advancements, no benefits. I've been there 2 years,met all my monthly goals and I still can't get full-time. I enjoy my job and the people I work with. I enjoy interacting with the customers. I greet customers as they enter,ask if they need help and direct them to where they need to go. I ring up their purchases ,take payment and tell – more... them to have a great day and to come again. I clean front of store,empty trash cans,make sure cashier areas are stocked with supplies. Take soda inventory and stock cooler. Dust products in front of store. Assemble wheel barrels,whose reels,tool boxes,table carts,Hand trucks and a variety of other items..The hardest part of my job is knowing that I will never get full time employment. They only go with 2 full-time cashier and. those two are not going anywhere.Since I've been there they have never sold their required amount of service protection plans. In two years I've only missed my quota maybe 2 or 3times.The best part of my day is interacting with the customers. I really do like people and I like listening to them.We have regulars and it's like seeing friends every day.I work different hours every day, so my days are never the same.If I could work full-time and qualify for health insurance, I would not be searching for other employment.This job offers me nothing to stay. I'm too good an employee to stay. I deserve a better job. One where I have opportunities to advance. One where I can qualify for healthcare, which is something that all employers should offer to all their employees,not just to full-time employees.I work just as hard, if not harder. I'm the one that comes in when they call off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a company to commit to as a career
Shipper (Former Employee), Fort Mill, SCJune 28, 2014
Pros: dinners and giveaways
Cons: bad benefits, unclean, unloyal, and bad health regulations
There are no chances given for employees to advance at anytime. The company shows no remorse for a second chance at employment for the rest of your life. You are bound to hard work and very little pay and respect from this company no matter how much of a good worker you are.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highest paying retail job yet.
Customer service (Current Employee), floridaJune 28, 2014
Pros: high pay
Cons: disciplinary action unnecessarily
At first the company had many benefits for all levels of employees, but recently cut them for part time employees to nothing. You get in trouble for not getting a phone number at the end of transactions, because it is your fault when a customer does not feel obligated to give it to you. The tracking of their one more sales items and their phone capture – more... system is absurd. To go as far as writing a disciplinary notice for an employee for not being forceful enough to get a phone number or the one more sale (which are useless items that no one needs frequently) is preposterous. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non Supportive Management
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), TXJune 26, 2014
Cons: long hours, low pay, questionable practice on use of time off.
Pay is low and sneaky with use of vacation time. I was salary and scheduled for 10 hour shifts. When using floating holidays I was charged for 8 hours which was fine. For vacation days I was charged 10 hours. Which means 80 hours of vacation time, normally 10 days, is only 8 days.

Upper management quick to criticize but not provide guidance.

Not a – more... whole lot of work-life balance even though the company says it supports it. Not a well run organization. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good customer service
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Fern Park, FLJune 13, 2014
Sales, Customer service, they offer training on equipment, good co-workers,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hours
order puller (Former Employee), Arlington, TXJune 12, 2014
Pros: overall good placo work
Cons: raises suck
great place to work, hours are great, people are friendly, the work is not difficult or long awn out hours, supervisors are down to earth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Cashier (Former Employee), Omaha, NEJune 11, 2014
Pros: you get 2 fifteen minute breaks and 1 thirty minute break. pay is decent. positive workers.
I personally enjoyed this job. The customers and Employees were great. Positive job and up going people. The work can get frustrating and can become a struggle but its worth it. The management was good and fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if you dont mind orders
Sales | Product Placement Specialist (Former Employee), VirginiaMay 16, 2014
Pros: store location, flexible hours
Cons: certain managers do basically nothing, pay, coperate sucks
I worked here for a great amount of time and quite a number of things stood out to me. Store Managers get bonuses so they don't mind keeping the heat low in the winter or shortening your hourly paycheck, because it will reflect in theirs. Your position in the store will get lengthened without compensating, like filling in for salesmen without getting – more... commission, or scrubbing shelves while the other employees work around you, just to name a few examples. The pay for the product placement is very low granted they do most of the hard work (no product no sale). Overall the company means well for the overall dollar (tool products) not the overall person because the "store rules don't apply to everyone." If you're a manager this is heaven. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To stressful for simple task
Product Placement Specialist (Former Employee), Corpus Christi, TXMay 5, 2014
Pros: flexible for part time workers
Cons: management
Management was cool and laid back in the beginning but eventually showed its true colors. The employees were great to get along with but tend to get lazy and make the rest of the group pick up their slack. Stockers for the main part do all the work and get the least recognition. Promotion only occurs if transferred to a different store unless your a – more... female. For the main part the most difficult thing is dealing with management it's like taking orders from a chicken who's head is cut off. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Northern Tool & Equipment
CASHIER (Current Employee), Pompano Beach, FLApril 19, 2014
Northern Tool is a nice place to work if your a student that's looking for a part time job while going to school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Retail Management Job I Have Had
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Arnold, MOApril 9, 2014
Pros: schedule, fun atmosphere and culture
Cons: compensation, room for advancement
If you are going to have a career in retail management, this is the place to do it. The hours are usually pretty good. One of the few retail management jobs where you will work 40-45 hours. You will not work a lot of holidays, and it still has the feel of a small company. The pay is not quite as good as some retail management jobs, but benefits and – more... work/life balance make up for it. The only real regret is that with the small number of stores, there is limited room for advancement. But I truly consider this to be the best job I have ever had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Cashier (Current Employee), Ocala, FLApril 7, 2014
A typical day would consist of your co-workers being happy to see you as you enter the building. Also, handling customer problems in a happy and quick manner. I have learned a lot of customer service skills and knowledge of various register systems that have changed in my time of being here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for long term success
- (Current Employee), MNApril 6, 2014
Northern Tool's philosophy is desirable. The mission they present to employees is one you'd wish for in a long term career, but very misleading in the actual reality of employment. Upper management has been with the company since the start of Northern Tool. Which leads to blind sidedness when it comes to identifying issues with organizational function – more... and improvements. Technologically speaking they are very behind. Northern Tool has grown too large too quick due to their "goal" of being a billion dollar company. Now that they have reached that point with the purchase of TGW and SMG they are letting the rest of the company suffer. Northern Tool is a family owned company, however the family has lost touch with what it means to be a family owned company and the fact that there are many employees who they do not show value towards for getting them to that point. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production driven job
Stocker/Picker/Fork Lift Driver (Former Employee), Fort Mill, SCMarch 12, 2014
Pros: good pay.
Cons: dust, bugs, ect.
Worked as a picker/stocker, able to learned to operate all lifts. No climate control, summers are very HOT, winters very COLD.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, now defunct company
Demographic Analyst (Former Employee), Burnsville, MNMarch 7, 2014
Pros: free coffee, cheerful coworkers
Cons: class b office space
MidAmerica was a rewarding place to work. Being a small company; everyone wore many hats. It was a fast paced and fun work environment. The company ultimately failed in the perfect storm of new legislation of the time:

1. National and state do not call lists
2. Minnesota legislature passing a law banning "premiums" for auto glass replacement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entry Level Sales
Inbound Sales (Current Employee), Burnsville, MNMarch 3, 2014
Pros: easy, good bennefits, decent pay
Cons: they will change your name to a "phone name"
Still employed with this company, it basically involves taking over 100 customer calls per day, trying to keep the calls under 2 minutes and selling their membership program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Customer focused
Cashier (Former Employee), Boiling Springs, SCFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling, paid vacation, sick time, floating holidays
Cons: short lunches
The atmosphere was amazing. Every employee is extremely friendly and helpful. It was a family type atmosphere and I loved every moment of it.

1 2 3 4

About Northern Tool + Equipment

Northern Tool + Equipment has been a supplier of high-quality tools and equipment for more than 26 years, selling products through – Read more