Find companies:
Northern Westchester Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

Northern Westchester Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Organization
Coordinator of Self Pay Collections (Former Employee), Mount Kisco, NYAugust 11, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: no more opportunity for growth.
Enjoyed working at facility for over 13 years and given many opportunities to grow professionally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management and wonderfult nurses
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Mount Kisco, NYJuly 30, 2014
Pros: very harmonious hospital. wonderful staff.
Cons: one hour commute from my home
12 hour shift. Was a new nurse when started here and I learned a lot about nursing. Management was wonderful as well as my co-workers. Hardest part of the job was being a new nurses a learning all I had to, to be a good nurse. Most enjoyable were my patients, family members, managers and co-nurses. Great place to work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked night shift, very difficult on my family
Security Officer (Former Employee), Mount Kisco, NYJune 6, 2014
Pros: great hospital, great doctors and nurses
Cons: severely limited staff, impossible to cover the territories, emergencies and handle parking lot watch.
Wonderful hospital, learned new surveillence systems, my co-workers were wonderful, the doctors and nurses were very pleased with my handleing emergency situations. The hardest part of the job was the severity of the short staffing. Staff cut down for night shift, it was impossible to cover the territory and respond to all emergencies with the limited – more... staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work, focused on quality culture
Director (Current Employee), Mt. Kisco, NYFebruary 5, 2014
safety focused, perfection focused, top performer, quality initiatives,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional working environment
Concierge (Former Employee), Mount Kisco, NYJanuary 5, 2014
I was able to utilize my exceptional communication and multitasking skills to aid patients and their family members when they entered the emergency department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to work.
Intern Coder (Former Employee), Mount Kisco, NYNovember 22, 2013
Pros: nice place to work
Cons: hardly any work space to read the charts.
Intern Coder- Outpatient coding and Ambulatory Surgery Coding.
What you learned to become more proficient at medical coding.
Management and co-workers. very nice people to work with.
Hardest part of the job- learning many different medical terms.
The most enjoyable part of the job was learn the medical terms and understanding the usage of the medical – more... terms. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NWH is a wonderful place to work with an amazing culture
Supervisor HIM (Current Employee), Mount Kisco, NYNovember 11, 2013
I have gained so much experience during my time at Northwern Westchester Hospital. The employees and the culture make it a wonderful place to work. They are always striving to be the best for thei staff and patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Schizophrenic Leadership More Concerned About Plaques in Lobby than Patients
Manager (Former Employee), OperationsOctober 7, 2013
Pros: nice facility
Cons: excessive employee turnover
There are some very smart, competent clinical people at this hospital. Unfortunately leadership is so driven for the wrong reasons. Is very cliquish. If you are not part of the Bedford/Chappaqua movers and shakers club you are on your own. The only reason they function is because they have money to burn. If they were held to the fiscal standards of – more... any other small hospital, they would certainly fail in what they do. VP of Operations is a nightmare to work for. If you are seeking a low level or mid management level position, you should probably have a positive experience. If you have anything to do with operations and you want to work less than 7 days per week / 12 hours per day, look elsewhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fast-paced environment/meeting and speaking to people
Telecommunications Operator (Former Employee), Mount Kisco, NYSeptember 26, 2013
A fast-paced job dealing with numerous calls from the outside and inside of hospital. Also, I dispatched transporters throughout the hospital. Answered patient calls and dispatched messages to nurses. I worked with a group of fine individuals. This job required being on time to work. Also, did the codes called throughout the hospital. The hardest part – more... of the job was having coverage always, not just leaving your desk when you wanted to. I enjoyed speaking and meeting people everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to do your internship
Intern (Former Employee), Mount Kisco, NYSeptember 26, 2013
I was able to do my internship there. It was ok. The inpatient unit was nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Strategic Planning and Business Development Intern (Current Employee), Mount Kisco, NYSeptember 11, 2013
Great place to work; High quality leadership; interested in quality and satisfaction of staff. Really good people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at work
Chart Coordinator/ Concierge (Current Employee), Mount Kisco, NYAugust 23, 2013
The most enjoyable part of the job is staying busy, and the differnt things I learn on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOT A NICE PLACE TO WORK!!
former employee (Former Employee), Emergency roomAugust 2, 2013
Horrible place to work. Staff is fake and management is awful.
very political
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall rating
Dietitian (Current Employee), Mount KiscoJuly 24, 2013
Cons: run as fast as you can
The DIetary Department has gone under so much change that I would not apply there because in 4 years the management has changed serveral times. If management can not get it together
forget this place. What they really are avoiding is out sourcing.
The Vice President of this Department is has alot to be desired.
They want the place to be the best but – more... they go through management
like you change your underwear. I cannot wait to retire. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exhillirating place to work
LPN/Order Transcriptionist (Former Employee), Mt. Kisco, NYJuly 5, 2013
Pros: able to manage my own time
Cons: unable to manage my own time due to extenuating circumstances
Transcribe written doctor's orders and fax to paharmacy, put in orders fo ancillary departments. Managed the teaching of soft ware program to co-workers and also resource person hospital wide. Answered and managed all phone calls to unit and directed them to appropriate dept/person. I managed/learned to deal well with other staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding and stressful
RN (Current Employee), Mt. Kisco, NYApril 26, 2013
Pros: great orientation and conviently located
Cons: nwhc status well overated
Demanding, stressful, isolating and no support from management. I would not consider it a great place to work. People don't care they only care about covering their own butts. The patients are demanding, entitled, selfish and disrespectful to the bedside caregivers also the families are ten times worst than the patients. Management main concerns are – more... that (1) the patients return positive evaluation of their stay at the hospital (2) receiving the coveted magnet trophy and (3) the precious plane tree status. Personally I don't believe they deserve magnet status, if my understanding of it is correct. Incidently they had the staff brain washed and went into full training gear to achieve the big prize. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Work Environment
Safety/Security Traffic Control (Current Employee), Mount Kisco, NYJanuary 18, 2013
The people who visit as well as work here are often bitter, and hypocritical. Feels like being back in High School all over.

These are supposed to be civilized, adult individuals; but on a daily basis I am reminded otherwise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co workers and great patients!
Pulmonary Rehabilitation Intern (Former Employee), Mount Kisco, NYJanuary 14, 2013
Northern Westchester Hospital is one of the most unique and pristine hospitals I have ever been. Patient care is through the roof and the facilities are immaculate. I was an intern here and I was extremely heartbroken that there were no jobs available for me to apply for.

February 22, 2013

Has to be a nurse, or HR ghost writer.

February 22, 2013

There are 5 positive comments, all written by an HR staff member.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique and dynamic place to work
Business Associate (Current Employee), Mount Kisco, NYNovember 15, 2012
Unique and dynamic place to work. Planetree facility. magnet status recently attained.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
strong nurse leader
Clinical Coordinator (Current Employee), Mount Kisco, NYNovember 13, 2012
Pros: job diversity
Cons: little funding for integrative medicine
I am a strong nurse leader with solid administrative experience, proven expertise in patient care/advocacy, quality improvement, clinical skills and with staff development, mentoring, can coaching to performance.
I have demonstrated an ability to forge, lead, and motivate outstanding healthcare teams that provide top quality patient care and am known – more... for having outstanding interpersonal, relationship building and communication skills.
I most often act as a change agent and catalyst to create a postiive, safe work environment entrenched in a "just culture" or "culture of accountability" philosophy.
I enjoy being a nurse leader, and a leader in general. I consistently strive to find ways in which both I as an individual and my temas can have a positive impact on health care and in life in general. – less