Northstar Aerospace Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and comfortable place to work
Assembly supervisor (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNAugust 7, 2017
Friendly and comfortable place to work but it can be very fast paced and stressful at times. There are very interesting and complex projects that keep the job interesting and challenging.
Pros
Mon - Thurs, 4 10s
Cons
can be very stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Inspector & Gage Tech (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 22, 2017
Great Place to work at. Only issue I encounter is bad housekeeping, poor 5S mentality from Management to Production and Safety standards are below-average.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
CNC Operator (Former Employee) –  Bedford Park, ILMarch 19, 2017
In my opinion, everything was fine because the company always gave us incentives to want to continue working for them.

All staff was very amicable, the environment was always fun and respectable
Pros
Free lunch once a month, coffee was provided every night
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lot of bickering and in fightng with senior management
Director of Operations (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 20, 2017
The plant personnel were awesome to work with and looked for improvement from the management team. The products were difficult and challenging to make and people took a lot of pride in supporting the troops.
Pros
The CEO and his team were great to work with and for
Cons
Toxic environment for the local management team
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very satisfied
MACHINIST (Former Employee) –  Bedford Park, ILOctober 3, 2016
This company helped growth with in the world of industry as well as personal growth. It helped me to become an CNC Machinist, Operator and set up.
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Aerospace Mechanical Assembler (Former Employee) –  Bedford Park, ILSeptember 13, 2016
learned varies assemble skills under a great assigned team leader.
co-workers that i dealt with were respectful and many times helpful.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced manufacturing aerospace company
Junior Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 24, 2016
the work quality and skill of employees has declined in recent years due to a poor culture of management team. they take on more projects while the machine capability is maxed out and ship dates are compromised.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steer clear
Senior Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Bedford Park, ILNovember 11, 2015
Company went bankrupt due to contract and was bought out by private equity firm that changed it's name. Small manufacturing company that had/has only one sole source contract supplier. Risky, lots of turnover.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and proffesional work environment
BENCH HAND (Former Employee) –  bedford park illinoisSeptember 10, 2015
dedurring and polishing various types of gears as well as inspecting shafts and gears for flaws. got along well with all managers and coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proud to serve my country's servicemen and women
Deburr / Brush Operator (Former Employee) –  Bedford Park, ILSeptember 9, 2015
Getting this job is like winning the lottery. Making parts to support our troops worldwide was an honor and a privilege. Fun place to work where it was enjoyable to work with others from all walks of life and backgrounds. Everyone enjoyed working here, but the place is grossly mismanaged and has been for years.
Pros
Work atmosphere
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The BEST job I ever had
Contracts Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bedford Park, ILMay 26, 2015
Loved working for NAS, from the CEO to the janitor, everyone was friendly, I loved going to work everyday and telling people where I worked. Coolest job ever.
Pros
being an important part in helping our troops
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Tig Welder (Former Employee) –  Duluth, MNApril 6, 2015
tig welding tow bars
a lot about the aircraft industry
good people
very nice and friendly positive attitude
didn't have a hard part of the job
the people i worked with
Pros
good clean work enviroment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place with state of the art equipment and good people
CNC 5 axis mill operator (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZDecember 20, 2014
I enjoy this company, there are good talented people to work with as well as a good atmosphere for the most part.
Pros
laid back environment
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Welder/lvl ll Penetrant insp. (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZDecember 10, 2014
well there is a lot to say about this company but again I can not say anything bad. But if you are a free loader work here they love people that sit around on there phones and get rid of the people that actually work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a nice place to work
CNC Machinist (Former Employee) –  Bedford Park, ILOctober 15, 2014
The original company has been around for over 150 years. The company that bought it (from Canada) is only interested in the bottom line.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace
Government poperty Administrator (Former Employee) –  Bedford Park, IlJune 23, 2014
Monetary goal oriented company. Atmosphere and moral is dictated by the months goals attainment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
aviation involement
Data Entry Processor (Former Employee) –  Bedford Park, ILMarch 17, 2014
I enjoyed my position at North star Aerospace. I learned a lot of new
adventures on a daily basis.
My superivisor taught me a lot of job related avenues. Wonderful co-workers and excellent management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Various Positions
Long term temp (Former Employee) –  Bedford Park, ILOctober 7, 2013
As a temp I floated from department to department as the projects dictated.
This made wonderful working conditions as there was always something new around the corner.

The hardest part was the fact that as a temp, I knew I would eventually have to leave.

I learned about helicopter production and machine maintenance.
Pros
Variety
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee) –  Bedford Park, ILJune 23, 2012
Busy manufacturing company,

I learned more about the gear manufacturing processes
Staff had important roles
I enjoyed using the tools and gages
Didn't like the computer system
Pros
good pay
Cons
short employment time
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of best companies in the world for Gears
Manufacturing Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 3, 2012
Mature product line, heavily dependent on DOD contracts. DIverse union workforce with old style beliefs in a negative way.
The facility in Chicago is world class in gear manufacturing,heat treating and plating in one location.
Pros
great manufacturing facility
Cons
commute, working relationship with union leadership?
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Northstar Aerospace. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 35 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.9
Culture
3.2

Northstar Aerospace Reviews by Location