Northwest Federal Credit Union Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A joke
Member Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Herndon, VASeptember 27, 2016
No respect for workers lots of favoritism and unrealistic expectations. Lies lots of lies. Good co workers but managers can decide just to hatevon you for no reason.
Pros
Good health benefits
Cons
Short lunches, untruth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacks Integrity & Toxic Environment
Manager (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VASeptember 12, 2016
I worked at Northwest for years. If you are looking for a Company that lacks integrity & promotes a toxic work environment then apply there. The lack of trust starts with the CEO & includes Senior Management & HR. If you speak up, you are treated poorly. Benefits and bonus are reduced or taken away every year.
Pros
The pros were some of the people, but all of the good employees and managers have left the company.
Cons
Lack of trust, integrity & respect.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
BUSINESS SERVICES LIAISON (Current Employee) –  Herndon, VAAugust 25, 2016
Professional and productive. Great people. Fun work environment. Great benefits. Perks throughout the year. No bonuses
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teller
Call Center Representative (Current Employee) –  Leesburg, VAJune 26, 2016
The most enjoyable job of my career
I am blessed to be able to work here!

Wonderful trainers, management is amazing !


Overall 5 star company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Sr. Training and Development Instructor (Current Employee) –  Herndon, VAJune 22, 2016
Room for growth, fast paced environment, focusing on member service excellence.

Good benefits and friendly employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Content
Card Services Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Herndon, VAFebruary 3, 2016
I have worked here for almost 8 years and I am content working at this company. There is room for advancement and the Training and HR departments work to help better the employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff and accomodation
Car Loan Processing Specialist/Temp (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VAJuly 1, 2015
The staff was very well taken care of but work was very monotonous.
The building had great amenities such as a personal gym.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Call Center Training and Quality Control Manager (Current Employee) –  Herndon, VAApril 11, 2015
NWFCU has great benefits and is a great place to work for. The harvest a learning culture where they grow their employees so they can promote from within.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my time there
Professional Employee (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VAApril 9, 2015
I enjoyed my time working at NWFCU. The commute is what was a hard thing for me so I ended up leaving and finding a job closer to my home. If not for the commute I would have stayed. Loved the team I worked with and enjoyed coming to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Mortgage Loan Processor (Current Employee) –  Herndon, VAMarch 23, 2015
I was told I would be a Mortgage Loan Processor. Turns out, it was more like a call center. I was told I would have to sell mortgage refinances, home equity lines of credit and Equity Loans all will holding a 70+ pipeline of existing loans. This was not as advertised. I found this a little overwhelming even though I have dealt with stress in this business for many years. I found the working environment was unsatisfactory and choose to leave.
Pros
excellent benefits
Cons
overload of work not compensated for
Was this review helpful?Yes13No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Enviroment
Member Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Haymarket, VAFebruary 23, 2015
A typical day at NWFCU was fast paced but completely manageable. Working with a strong and educated team we could conduct business for many members correctly and efficiently. Management was understanding and help grow us in our fields to advance us in our job.
Pros
room for growth, understanding management
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very fun place to work
Loan Officer (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VADecember 25, 2014
micromanagement, no understanding of family life, feels like I was working in a bootcamp.
Pros
salary is good
Cons
micromanagement, do not understand family and kids
Was this review helpful?Yes19No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Collector (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VAJune 25, 2014
I learned time management. Coworkers are supportive. Hardest part of the job is to much work not enough time to complete it.
Pros
paid birthday off
Cons
high expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes16No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Last resort employer
Lending (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VAMarch 4, 2014
The most dedicated and hardest group of people I have ever worked with. The daily work environment is very stressful and overwhelming in Lending. Executives seem to accept this and continue to expect this level of work anxiety from its employees.
Supervisors/Managers use threatening and disrespectful communication at times.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
stressful and toxic work environment; has gotten worse over the years
Was this review helpful?Yes28No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long term good place to work
AVP Security & Fraud / BSA Compliance Officer (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VAJune 29, 2013
Over the years, I have enjoyed the culture and team working environment. However, job accountability is low due to personal relationships and bias. Executive management talked about accountability but did not follow through, hence many quality staff voluntarily left for other positions.
Pros
benefits, salary, culture
Cons
short sighted management, personal biases, job accountability low
Was this review helpful?Yes20NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome!
Branch Associate (Former Employee) –  Herndon, VAJune 19, 2013
There was nothing about this credit union that I didn't enjoy. They truly embody what a credit union is: the bank is owned by everyone and profits are returned to the members. Management was stellar and the summer spent here was fun.
Pros
everything
Cons
was only an internship
Was this review helpful?Yes7No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work environment
Loan Administrator III (Current Employee) –  Herndon, VAAugust 25, 2012
Some managers have developed an intimidation style which does not sit well with the team. I have learned a lot about what not to do when it comes time for me to take a managerial role. The co-workers help make the day bearable by helping out whenever possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes28No1Report

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
2.7
Culture
2.9

Northwest Federal Credit Union Reviews by Location