Find companies:
Northwest
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

Northwest Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Reservation Supervisor (Former Employee), SeaTac, WAFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: we were trained well!!
Cons: gone
Sorry that it's gone...
There is no more to say since the company is not around anymore
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: pension
Cons: work holidays
Northwest is no longer they merged with Delta airlines. Had full medical and dental coverage. I love to travel so I saw the world!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast paced work enviroment.
Night Operations Manager (Current Employee), Flanders, NJNovember 25, 2013
A typical day at work for me is making sure all of the mission critical spaces are up and running alarm free. It is my job to make sure not only my team but myself as well are keeping all MEP in tip top shape. We deliver 100 percent uptime. I make sure all vendor PM'S are scheduled and are performed properly. Keep all documentation filed for client/auditor – more... reviews. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
Senior Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Detroit Metro AirportNovember 12, 2013
Pros: free travel
Cons: stress
Stressful fast paced work environment providing customer service to the nations traveling public
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great place to work and meeting people.
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 24, 2013
I began my day by setting up my work station, before passengers and my inbound flight arrive to gate. The paper work for my captain is ready for on time departure.
I think one of the most important things I've learned is persistence.
Not to give up too soon, because the solution is probably right in front of me.
I would say that I have never really – more... had a problem working with anyone. I try to find our common ground, and get along with everyone's different personality. I have found that if I take the time to talk with my manager at the beginning of a project, we can all get off to a great start on the same page.
My co-workers are all part of a well put together team. It's satisfying when everyone can do their part well, and it all comes together as a team effort.
The hardest part of my job is when a flight gets cancel and you tell the passenger, I cannot get you out until the next day.
The most enjoyable part of the job is when my flight is not oversold and my flight leaves out on time without a delay. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Northwest is Great
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Washington StateDecember 5, 2012
Pros: wide variety of places
Cons: lots of remote areas
It is always my preference to work in the Northwest.

The area has a variety of environments. From large forests to open plains, you can see it all within a 1000 mile radius.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working for the airlines (even during the mergers)
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNNovember 5, 2012
Greatest customers, managers and co-workers.
Every day a different adventure.
Hardest part of the job was not being able to control the weather, or mechanical delays, however it made life so interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working there, great people to be with
Field Engineer (Former Employee), Newark, NJOctober 24, 2012
Pros: great people to work with, benefits were wonderful.
Cons: downsizing of the company after merger with delta went through.
Usual day is expecting some boarding pass printers to be fixed since they were pretty old. Throughout the tenure I learned how to manage my time since I was the only tech there. Management was great, always gave me guidance when needed with any type of issues. Hardest part of my job was trying to get spare equipment on hand.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regarding Job
Worked under a professor (Former Employee), Maryville, MOOctober 8, 2012
The job is a short one which was for two months and it was satisfactory. I developed applications on java persistence API and databases.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flight Attendant-Northwest/Delta
Flight Attendant-Customer Service (Former Employee), Detroit, MIAugust 20, 2012
Pros: travel and passengers
Cons: heavy lifting and long hours
A Typical day could start at 5:00 am and end at midnight or later, We were not flying all of that time during the day ,because we only got paid when the pilot took his foot off the brake and it stopped when he put his foot back on the brake. I learned all about 5 differerent aircraft, all safety measures to get the passengers off the aircraft, because – more... that was our resposibility not the pilots. Of course, serving the passengers was a part of it but 90& of the training was on the different aircrafts. After 9/11 there was tremendous training on self defense and medical issues. There was not a lot of contact with manangement except for our 6 months of probation where they just dropped in on your flight to see your performance. The 6 Weeks of training was one of the most difficult trainings I have ever been through.Co-workers could be sometimes a challenge, but your focus should always be on your passengers and your best foot forward should always be there willing to help the passenegers in any way.The most difficult part of the job was the heavy lifting, the long hours without sleep and just having to sit in the airport. Of, course the most enjoyable part of the job was meeting all the different passengers and having the pleasure to communicate with them; as well as, the benefits of traveling to many different countries. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outgoing, Fun work environment, Job security
Membership Sales Representative (Current Employee), Cupertino, CAJune 30, 2012
Working at both the Northwest and El Camino YMCA facilities is always a positive experience. From greeting the members that come in each day, to giving tours of the facility for prospective members, the positive interaction I have had the chance to experience is truly unbeatable. I love working in a place that is very social and people-oriented, with – more... a good energy from both the members and staff alike. My managers have always been supportive and flexible but firm, and have helped me grow both personally and professionally in more than a few ways. I have learned things at the YMCA that will help me throughout the rest of my life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible and the management was a disgrace!
Delivery driver (Former Employee), palantine ilApril 9, 2012
Cons: countermen, no communication, no respect to drivers either.
Working there was a tragic mistake. You constantly have issues with the countermen and their lack of communication to their drivers. That it is why this place is such a BAD place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace
Flight Attendant Manager/Purser (Current Employee), Queens, NYApril 3, 2012
Pros: travel
Cons: time away from home
Dealing with many customer at once, having to manage time well to ensure an on time departure and ensuring customer saftey
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great way to travle.
Bag handler (Former Employee), romulus, miFebruary 15, 2012
Pros: stock sharing checks, free lunch, tracker free, discounts, good health insurance
Cons: load bags in an tight area, walk from gate to gate, 30 mins to loadbags
Working for the airline made it easy for me to go vist famliy, in different states where it might take days to get tox with a car. Even flown to my dream place south beach miami. once I saw how it was there in miami it made me curious to travel to other places.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable.
Quickstop Clerk (Former Employee), Arviat, NUJanuary 30, 2013
I was responsible for working the cash register, bagging groceries and helping customers.

I learned how to use a cash register!

I enjoyed working there, it was a nice environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place was cozy
Retail Clerk/ Manager (Former Employee), Moose Lake, MBNovember 1, 2012
Pros: dealing with retail
Cons: doing my department alone most of the time
my typical day of work would consit on checking the emails, then counting and distributing the Retail products. doing sales promotions for my retail department. I learned alot about retail. I learned how to receive, buy, sell all kinds of retail. The hardest part of the job was dealing with lazy employees whom were tardy and showed lack of team spirit. – more... The most enjoyable part was getting to know my customers nad their needs and making them happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
can be a fun workplace but the folks @ head office need to lisen to the staff @ stre level the know there customers and there needs
Grocery & Retail Supervisor (Former Employee), Rankin Inlet, NUApril 26, 2012
Pros: food allowance
Cons: long hours
all in all for the most part a grat company they just need to invest more into there good employees that have the companies best intress at heart while @ the same time keeping inmind that the customer is the ones making the company succesfull
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente multicultural y cordial
Ejecutivo de Cuenta (Former Employee), Ciudad de México, DIFJuly 1, 2013
Pros: prestaciones superiores a la ley
Cons: pocas oportunidades de desarrollo profesional
Apoyo a clientes corporativos y agencias de viaje tropicalizando las estrategias definidas en USA para el mercado nacional
Aprendi la forma en que los americanos ven las relaciones de negocio y el trabajo en equipo a laraga distancia debido a que mis contrapartes estaban ubicados en Minesota y Atlanta.
Lo dificil era informar sobre politicas y procedimientos – more... que no favorecian a los distribuidores sin afectar la relacion comercial
Lo que mas me gusto fue la oportunidad de viajar – less