Find companies:
Northwestern Medical Faculty Foundation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

Northwestern Medical Faculty Foundation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Lead, Par Contact Center (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 17, 2014
Pros: monday through friday schedule with weekends off.
Cons: high call volume and some times not enough staff.
Typical day I answer calls when assistance in needed. I have learned alot about call center managment and supervisory duties. My co-workers enjoy my leadership skills. The hardest part of the job had been helping new Cancer patients that have been recently diagnosed. I love being able to help people and display my exceptional customer service skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great advancement and innovative learning
Insurance Verification Specialist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 17, 2014
Great organization Room for growth
Flexible
Great Compensation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting work in university hospital setting with desirably diverse culture.
Clinical Nurse (Former Employee), OB/GYN/REI; Chicago, ILFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: cutting edge medical research and practice
Cons: many enormous egos; lack of adequate true representation for nurses such as employees' unions.
Provided pre-operative, intra-operative and post-operative care to women undergoing certain surgical procedures with focus on assisted conception for infertility clients.

Patient population was diverse, and caring for and interacting with them was very rewarding in innumerable ways.

As in almost any workplace, one's experience is largely dependent – more... on one's attitude and ability to filter through the valuable: i.e. lessons learned, positive differences made, and the less useful political and personality dramas that inevitably take place.

There are many very talented people at Northwestern but the culture for nurses is still regressive compared to that of a medical setting in which nurses have adequate representation as in the state of California. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Possitive and fun work place.
Medical assistant (Current Employee), Grayslake, ILFebruary 4, 2014
Come in check and see if rooms are clean. Call patients for there results. Room patient take their vitals. Make sure all meds are in the computer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Physician Assistant Orthopaedic Surgery (Current Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 9, 2013
Pros: salary
Cons: management and physician
Used my skills as a certified physician assistant in assessment and diagnosis along with my surgical skills in orthopedics.

Assisted Surgeon on daily clinical and surgical basis along with helping train medical assistants and nurses.

Most enjoyable part of the job was assisting with patient care and surgical procedures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Insurance Follow-up Representative (Current Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 27, 2013
Interact with Insurance company for claim status, online claim status. Claims that have errors received from Availity formerly know as Real med resolve and resulbmit
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Human Resources Assistant (Current Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 21, 2013
NMFF has a great environment, great managers, and can be a fun atmopshere
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great physicians
Fellowship Coordinator (Former Employee), Chicago, ILAugust 21, 2013
Great physicians to work with; very helpful. Friendly staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NMFF
Patient Service Representative (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 23, 2013
Pros: people
Cons: no room for advancement
The easiest work you will ever do, but also the hardest...Patients you will encounter on a day to day basis really make it all worthwhile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Contract Compliance Auditor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 14, 2013
Pros: holiday party
As a contract compliance auditor, I was able to work with a variety of departments within the organization to assist in technological issues within the billing operating system as well as work collaboratively and collectively together to resolve claims not paid according to contract. More importantly, I had the pleasure in working and meeting with a – more... variety of provider relations representatives from various insurance companies to resolve contract disputes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday it is something new.
Medical Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJune 30, 2013
Overall it is an enjoyable place to work. The management is very nice, my co-workers are easy to get along with. The most enjoyable part of my day is laughing with my friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very bad place
Registrar (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJune 25, 2013
Pros: no
Cons: no break terrible managemnet
Constantly being audited on a daily basis.
No legitimate reason for termination.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy enviroment. rate this company as a ***
Lead, 2 (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMay 27, 2013
Pros: learning environment.
Cons: too many rules that's not in writting.
Very busy work place ,many changes, daily not a stable environment, some what friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fascinating, fast-paced hospital environment
Administrative Secretary (Former Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 16, 2013
Pros: interesting campus
Cons: stress from volume of work
Northwestern Memorial Hospital was the most interesting, most stimulating position in my career. I worked for three Hepatologists who prepared patients for liver transplant and three support nurses who kept weekly and monthly track of their conditions. I learned a lot about how hospitals functioned. Management was a little loose, leaving me to solve – more... problems on my own, which enabled me to use a lot of my skills independently. The hardest part of the job was the volume of work produced by six people. The most enjoyable part of the job was being in an exciting medical environment. There was always something happening! – less

April 22, 2013

I find it very difficult to get into Northwestern. I have healthcare experience in Medical Billing and Coding. I've been applying since last year and haven't received any feedback. I even applied for a position that you are currently employed in. How did you go about applying and obtaining your position?

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Northwestern Medical Faculty Foundation
Administrative Service Clerk (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 24, 2013
Working here was one of the best job I worked at and this was my job of wanting to go back to school for to get a job in Healthcare.

April 22, 2013

I have applied for many positions with Northwestern. I just applied for your same role today. I have a background in Medical Billing and Coding, How did you go about applying? Was it difficult getting into Northwesterns for you as well?

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun family oriented type of place
Medical assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 17, 2012
Pros: drug rep lunches and dinners. office parties and hr long luch with many places in the area to enjoy
Cons: no early days at work, always off at 5 or later. also wknd hrs.
a typical day at work would be a consistent patient flow, rooming patients and entering their history in to the EMR system. working with your assigned physician and covering to ensure everyone gets a break for lunch. I learned how to utilize the EMR system which will soon become prevalent and necessary in all offices. I also learned how to work under – more... pressure because we'd sometimes have to work with 2 or 3 physicians at once, which made for a very hectic day.Unfortunately management was not great! we had one excellent manager who left to pursue other goals and new management was quite unfair.The hardest part of the job was having to deal with irate patients who were unhappy due to differing factors and also the many personalities of so many female employees! The best part is when we could all happily work together to achieve a common goal, having a successful work day. Also having close and personal friendly relationships with our providers and making establishing lasting friendships with patients as well as fellow employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy clinical practic
Medical Assistant/Phlebotmist (Current Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 5, 2012
Pros: one hour lunch is a good day starting on time.
Cons: taking a lunch for only 30mins. and it's late in the day
A typical day at work is making sure all doctors, nurses and clinical staff have enough exam room and procedure room for patient visits.
What I learned is excellent communicative and interpersonal skills is
a must to have at NMFF. Management should always be open for meeting with co-workers individually and group session services to keep the moral balanced. – more... Co-workers should always keep an open mind for communication together as a team no matter how busy a department get, that will help the flow for the clinic. The hardest part of the job is commnunication, the most enjoyable part of the job is making sure the patient have a productive and satisfied visit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the patients love helping people love fostering relationships
CLINICAL PRACTICE CLERK (Former Employee), 676 N, St ClaireFebruary 27, 2012
Pros: good location, steady work
Cons: deceitful
IT COULD BE A GOOD PLACE TO WORK BUT VERY COMPETITIVE not good for someone who enjoys there job and has a lot of selfconfidence.

October 17, 2012

It's horrible place to work.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work.
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), ChicagoNovember 27, 2011
Pros: always make people feel welcome.
Cons: parking is kind of hard to find.
Northwestern is a very nice place to work. the people are very helpfull

About Northwestern Medical Faculty Foundation

Northwestern Medical Faculty Foundation is a physician practice organization offering scholarly care to patients in the Chicago – Read more