Northwood University Employee Reviews

Found 64 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resident Assisant
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLSeptember 13, 2017
I was an Ra for my college here so this little box really does not pertain to anything that is relevant to indeed or any other jobs for that matter at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Resident Assitant
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Midland, MISeptember 6, 2017
Again forced to write another review that does not matter for this "job". As a resident assistant you assist students in various ways for tuition assistance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct Faculty
NAS/JRB, Adjunct Faculty Member (Former Employee) –  Carswell ARS, TXAugust 2, 2017
Adjunct faculty members receive little instruction or preparation. The campus is sufficient and all staff members were helpful and courteous. I felt safe at Carswell, JRB.
Pros
Safe environment
Cons
Pay could have been better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pressure, small town job
Faculty (Former Employee) –  Midland, MIJuly 13, 2017
Low pressure place to work but no real room for advancement. Salaries are low and Midland, MI is not a cheap place to live. Northwood University and Dow are the biggest employers in town. Rent prices are overpriced for what is offered.
Pros
Great medical benefits
Cons
Starting salaries, salary increases less than 3%
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Professor of Business and Information Technology (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJune 29, 2017
Great place to work. Very supportive staff. The organization is focus on future initiative. Their culture represents a very diversified environment with open communication.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Regional Admissions Representative II (Current Employee) –  Midland, MIJune 21, 2017
Great place to work if you are interested in changing the lives of students, teachers, and family members by providing them valuable information to choose the best college.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all a good place to be.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Midland, MIMay 30, 2017
A good place to be, very nice campus to be at nice surroundings. The college treats is employees well. The management at the time was poor but believe it has improved since that time.
Pros
A very nice envirement.
Cons
Poor management at that time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has potential but lacks focus and common sense of direction.
International Admissions Representative (Former Employee) –  Midland, MIMay 25, 2017
Northwood is a great business school with better than average benefits but lacks a sense of focus among the various departments and needs a unified leadership structure. The culture is very adversarial in nature and there is a lot of in fighting. The upper administration is out of touch with much of what takes place at the university on a day to day basis (i.e. housing, student needs, etc.). Most positions are assigned more duties than they can properly handle.
Pros
Benefits, work/life balance, compensation
Cons
Company culture, Lack of Leadership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very energetic
JV Basketball Manager (Former Employee) –  Midland, MIMay 23, 2017
I would start off by warming the players up different drills each practice. Talk to them and encourage them each game during time outs. Also, I would keep track of the score book for each game.
Pros
Traveling, Free Lunch
Cons
Short Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work with Great People
Help Desk Analyst (Former Employee) –  Midland, MIMay 10, 2017
A typical day at work consisted of primarily a desk job solving IT related problems working together with different groups within the IT department. I learned a lot about proactive management by working with my supervisor to streamline many of the IT processes that end users see, such as implementing a LiveChat system.
Pros
Fun environment, Great people
Cons
limited hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Midland, MIApril 4, 2017
This job was more an an assistant position for one of my professors and we were organizing and archiving dated couture and donated pieces of fashion for display and keep for the University.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
Tutor (Current Employee) –  Midland, MIApril 3, 2017
A typical day at my job consist of helping fellow student with their school work. We actively use our communication and leadership skills to guide students on the right path.
Pros
quiet environment, friendly co-workers
Cons
short shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learningful / profitable
Internship/Teacher Assistant Lauderdale, FL (Former Employee) –  Miramar, FLDecember 27, 2016
my supervisor was very helpful. perfect environment. they understood that I was an intern and trained me from basic. .........................................................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to explore my major
IT Support/ Senior Lab Administrator (Former Employee) –  Cedar Hill, TXSeptember 26, 2016
Helping staff and students was definitely one of the best experience ever.
Flexible schedule.
Great leadership.
I have nothing negative to comment about this job.
Great environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive learning environment
Student Assist. to Strength and Conditioning Coach (Former Employee) –  Midland, MIJune 12, 2016
Was able to learn a lot over the course of four year and was able to have fun with it. Athletic games were a blast to work and seeing all your hard work behind the scenes come together and make everything work was very rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Business School
Assistant Business Office Manager (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLMay 16, 2016
Enjoyed working in an office environment and being challenged on a daily basis. Learned how to handle daily accounts receivables and how to give proper customer service to students as well as parents.
Pros
Great working environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great college job environment.
Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Midland, MIMarch 21, 2016
Working a few hours a week alongside other Northwood University students and staff to promote and create events such as Homecoming, speakers, etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calling for donations
Student Fundraiser (Former Employee) –  Midland, MIMarch 8, 2016
You have to come in and log on a computer. Once you are logged in the supervisor will give you calls. You will have to call the alumni of Northwood and get personal information such as their address, phone number, and email. Next, you ask if they want to donate and if they do then you would get their credit card information and process it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLDecember 11, 2015
This was a great place to work for. My co-workers were like a family. The hardest part was the insane amount of multi tasking. Helping students achieve their goal was the most rewarding part of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Residential Advisor/Desk Staff (Former Employee) –  West Palm BeachAugust 17, 2015
Fun work place and easy to work with co-workers and management. Good amount of personal growth and development. Decent amount of politics, but it is to be expected.
Pros
There are opportunities for personal growth and development.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Northwood University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 65 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0