Notre Dame of Maryland University Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has been better
Staff (Former Employee) –  BaltimoreNovember 16, 2016
In the past, Notre Dame was a great place to work. It grew very quickly and didn't have the infrastructure to keep up with the growth. Many of the benefits and team building are gone.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful for getting your feet wet
Calculus I Tutor (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDSeptember 6, 2016
Working as a Calculus I tutor at NDMU was pretty simple. The student ratio was small, thus it was pretty easy doing one-on-one and small group sessions.

I already knew the professor and her expectations thus creating lesson plans for my students again came pretty easy. I worked along side with the professor gathering information on her students such as their weak and strong points.

The hardest part of the job is helping a student who is frustrated and has given up on the subject. But by being patient and understanding, I get the "ohhh" moment from my student and that is the part I love.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ndmu
Adjunct Instructor of Spanish (Current Employee) –  BaltimoreAugust 2, 2016
Excellent workplace. I have achieved great results with students. The evaluations I received were also some of the best in my career.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job for students
Mathematics Tutor & T.A (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJune 16, 2016
You make your own hours, although there will probably never be more than 4 or 5 per week. Pay is low but increases each year as a tutor. The tutoring coordinator is so kind and supportive of tutors.
Pros
great management
Cons
very few hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice campus scenery
Campus Officer (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 20, 2016
Not retirement worthy.
High rate of employee turn around.
Poor benefits
No advancement opportunities
low pay and poor management
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was ok
Department Assistant (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDOctober 8, 2015
Working for one of the departments is ok. They understand that you have a lot of school work to do so when you need to call out of work they are very understanding. They pay minimum wage and the hours are scarce but its nice to have a little extra cash in your pockets while you further your studies.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A not so typical work day
Campus Visit and Event Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDSeptember 21, 2015
My typical work day is anything but! Working in higher education admissions is ever evolving and has provided me with a great skill set.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy and chaotic
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMarch 12, 2015
There was never shortage of calls. The coworkers made the best of the chaos by doing team building activities. Some management were always looking for any reason to fire someone others hardly showed up to work. Most enjoyable part of the job were the people I got to meet on the job and some of the patients that were always pleasant to talk to over the phone.
Cons
the health insurance was horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to grow knowledge in office administration
Student Manager & Departmental Assistant (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDApril 28, 2013
friendly and helpful staff. no work place drama. all about serving the campus community.
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place for those looking for a Higher Ed. Position
Accounts Payables Assistant (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMarch 27, 2013
A University with high work and family values. Very flexible to individuals who need family time. Excellent Benefits, great employees to work with.
Pros
small campus with big university feel
Cons
longer drive from home to work
Was this review helpful?Yes9No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could use better managment
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDMarch 8, 2013
basic cleaning duties mopping sweeping floors scrubbing and waxing also bathroom detail trash pick up
Pros
could attend school for free
Cons
short breaks no respect from management
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's great
INTERNSHIP (Former Employee) –  baltimore marylandJuly 27, 2012
The people here are awesome, nice and helpful. this university is a great place to learn and grow.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Notre Dame of Maryland University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 13 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
4.0

Notre Dame of Maryland University Reviews by Location