Find companies:
NOTTINGHAM CITY COUNCIL
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
25 reviews

NOTTINGHAM CITY COUNCIL Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working
play and youth support worker (Current Employee), Nottingham, ENGAugust 14, 2014
Cons: transport cost to self.
contracts are reviewed yearly and you have to re-apply for the job you are doing.
wages have gone down and work loads have increased significantly.
work can be at various sites across the city or based at a location.
over the last three years the council have regraded jobs and/or made redundancy due to cut backs in funding.
best part about the job is – more... doing the face to face work with the young people, the team work is great.

Attending work force development meeting, go to site and work with the young people, attend another site to work with slightly old young people (teenagers), thus travelling to three different sites in one day.
not always having time to stop for lunch or having the time to get into the office to do paper work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Structured System
Superintendent (Former Employee), NottinghamJune 19, 2014
Superb opportunity to serve the bereaved in and around the Nottingham area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A temp job
Creditor officer (Former Employee), NottinghamJune 10, 2014
A fast paced environment deal, nice people, always busy, high volume
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Work Experience (Former Employee), Nottingham, ENGMay 28, 2014
Pros: flexibility lunch times
Cons: sitting down all day
Working at Nottingham City Council was a true honor, i have gained so much confidence and i have also learned new skills. my co working were ever so friendly and made me feel comfortable. the most enjoying part of the job was meeting new people and trying out new things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Lifeguard (Current Employee), Nottingham, ENGMarch 6, 2014
Half my working day I spend lifeguarding the pool activities, which is interesting as I get to meet different people and cater to their needs. I have developed people skills and customer service through doing this. The rest of the day I clean and maintain the building, so I have to do this in the most efficient and effective way possible to provide – more... for the customers. Working here is really diverse and people orientated. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a fixed term temporary post which has now ended
Legal Secretary (Former Employee), NottinghamFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: flexible working
I enjoyed this employment and the many benefits.

It was audio typing various Court documentation together with scanning, photocopying and printing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
Social Care Worker (Former Employee), Nottingham, ENGFebruary 6, 2014
I loved going to work as i worked with a team of professionals bodies,Physio,Mental health nurses,O/T and social workers, District nurses. I worked on the older people mental health team. There were no 2 days where everything was the same. I was part of an assessment team and i would have to go and meet our clients in person with a member of the clinicial – more... side and we would do an assessment based on the persons needs. I would then create a care plan of the needs of the clients and place in their home. I would then inform all my staff when we will be starting new clients and what they will doing when they done their visit. I never came across the job as been hard but i did enjoy all aspects of the job. I learned a lot of skills which inclue moving and handling.continence management,dementia,depression.diabetes. and communication skills with clients and professional bodies and documenting on system 1 and scanning all documents on database. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forward thinking and brave decision making local authority
Team Leader, Transport Strategy (Current Employee), Nottingham, ENGFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: modern open plan office (albeit with it issues) helps inter departmental relations
Cons: lack of direction, lack of job security
Council priorities fluctuate rapidly so you're never sure in which direction you'll be pushing - challenging but rewarding.

Strategic Management seems to have lost its way - very little information is cascaded.

Nottingham seems to employ hard-working self-motivated, dedicated people. Some very bright people who are willing to help each other out.

Life – more... in Local Government has become very difficult. During austerity cuts we are having to do more with less to the point that we can't deliver anything. What was a job for life is no longer the case.

It's good, however to see the results of your hard work out there as a physical presence - new roads, bus routes, cycle routes and trams. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
Civil Enforcement Officer (Former Employee), Nottingham, ENGDecember 17, 2013
Pros: a job
Cons: no flexibility to balance home life
used to work in all weather kinds
learned to communicate and convince effictively, teach train new colleagues enhanced self organisation
good colleagues
management too busy to address employees issues and concerns
most enjoyed part of job when helped some one
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
midday supervisor (Former Employee), Nottingham, ENGSeptember 25, 2013
It is okay to work for and the rest of the staff was good to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Driver Labourer / Maintenance (Former Employee), NottinghamSeptember 8, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
N/A As it was agency based and for 95% Worked Alone.
A lot of the work was supplied through PDA

limited dealings with management but good when did.

Hardest part of the job was not knowing how long the job would last.

Enjoyed the varied duties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD PLACE TO WORK
Care Assistant (Current Employee), Nottingham, ENGSeptember 7, 2013
GOOD WORKING TIMES, HOLIDAYS. WORK IN THE COMMUNITY AS WELL AS IN THE CENTRE, EXTRA HOLIDAYS FOR MORE THAN 5 YEARS SERVICE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
refuge collecter
Refuge Collector (Former Employee), Nottingham, ENGJuly 30, 2013
Pros: good money
Cons: long hours
my job for nottingham city council was a refuge collector working on the council bin collection going round estates in the area emptyting bins very active and hardworkinbg job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No security, uses all your skills and gives minimal back
Nottingham City Council Contact Centre Admin (Current Employee), Nottingham, ENGJuly 24, 2013
Pros: fun and warm people to work with
Cons: no advancement
The teams I have worked within at Nottingham City Council have all been supportive and fun.
The management within Nottingham City Council leaves much to be desired.
My experience with Nottingham City Council has lead to me looking for a permanaent position that will help me grow and develope my skills further, and want to encourage this instead of using – more... my skills for their benefit while only giving a salary back. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement opportunities
Clinical Mental Health Specialist (Current Employee), Nottingham, ENGJuly 5, 2013
Cons: challenging
Having started work within the city council in August 2010 as a CAMHS LD Practitioner, I was soon able to advance my professional development after only 2 years by being promoted to my current role a Clinical Mental Health Specialist.
We have recently gone through a restructure, which I was very much part of, it has proved at times challenging but there – more... are many benefits to the restructure. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my work experiance
Library Assistant (Former Employee), nottinghamJune 25, 2013
Pros: meeting different people.
I went to the libary for work experiance when i was at school. this was also enjoyable.

i learnt so much especially how to interact with customers. this role was also voluntery.

the hardest part of the job was carrying heavy books around the libary, the most enjoyable was meeting all different people and seeing how the libary was run throughout the – more... day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nottingham City Council
cleaner (Current Employee), medway buildingApril 24, 2013
Pros: ability to work round student life, decent pay and if asked you could have the opportunity for more work.
Cons: can be strict if you miss attention to detail and can be lackadaisical when time keeping
Nottingham City Council is a brilliant and beneficial place to work for a student because they as an employer are able to work around your student life and you will get enough hours to have a decent wage as well as enough hours to have a decent study life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could be better
Cleaner (Current Employee), NottinghamApril 17, 2013
Its ok. The hours doesn't suits me at the moment so am looking for another job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace
IT Apprentice (Former Employee), NottinghamJanuary 9, 2013
A typical day at work consisted of
Administrating database using Microsoft word, excel and access
Using Communication Management program
Making and receiving telephone calls
Taking appropriate action
Producing coursework using Microsoft Office

The management was fantastic, easy to talk to and very understanding. Same for my co-workers they were very – more... helpful as well.

I learned about managing data and the duties they dealt with in my department, prioritising workload and time management skills.

Overall a very enjoyable job and workplace. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managemnet and colleague support
case manager (Former Employee), 2 Isabella St NottinghamDecember 4, 2012
Pros: to be able to rely on colleagues for advice and support. the job is also flexible hours.
I loved working for Nottingham City Council. A typical day was supervising young people sentenced by the Court to community orders. completing assessments, risk assessments, vulnerability plans and intervention plans to reduce re-offending. There were also court reports to complete.

If you needed advice from co-workers or managers they were always – more... on hand to give support. There was no specific part of the job that was hard. A person needs to have good case management skills to be able to prioritise work and be analytical and non judgemental while writing reports. – less