Find companies:
NOVA SOUTHEASTERN UNIVERSITY
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
77 reviews

NOVA SOUTHEASTERN UNIVERSITY Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked at the University Call Center
Call Center Specialist (Former Employee), Davie, FLJuly 9, 2014
Pros: chill enviornment
Cons: everyone in this position are not permanent and don't qualify for any benefits
Typical Day
Answer phones
Transfer calls
Phone calls reviewed for quality assurance

Worked with really cool ppl in my section but Nova doesn't pay its employees market rate pay. Departments don't communicate. I think it is either the employees who are unmotivated and are reluctant to do their jobs or the department that fails to properly train ppl – more... so they just don't know.

I doubt things will change. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad school
Professor (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale FloridaJune 30, 2014
Pros: benefits are great
Cons: many teachers that should not be teaching but they keep because they have to
They have a lot of technical issues and no one wants to fix them or try to make them better. Many of the teachers are just there to get paid and not to help the students. Each class cost three thousand dollars and the teachers just read the book word for word. No room for advancement and there is no accountability.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad
Newspaper Editor (Former Employee), Davie, FLJune 25, 2014
The management was horrible and didnt allow for growth. They were very much about cutting costs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Davie, FLJune 20, 2014
Pros: great cafetria not far from office, nice people, professional environmment
Cons: let go because my sister worked in the same office
loved the office environment here, but didn't get a chance to develope more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning experience
Sports Editor/ Writer/ Photographer (Former Employee), Nova Southeastern UniversityJune 17, 2014
Pros: getting plenty of experience the field of journalism and media.
Cons: not having enough writers for the section.
The editors of all the sections would have weekly meeting to discuss upcoming articles and topics for the next issue of the newspaper. We would assign stories to writers or take on the topic ourselves as editors. Writing stories included performing interviews and doing research to get all the best possible information for the story. After stories are – more... handed in, the editor of the section in which the story will be place will go over it making changes and correction they feel are needed. Then the story is handed up the ladder to the editor and chief, who will make any other needed corrections before sending it to the designers to be placed in the layout of the newspaper. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Administrative assistant (Former Employee), FloridaJune 5, 2014
Good work life balance with transparency and high integrity
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best school in south florida
Administrative Student Assistant (Former Employee), Miami, FLJune 2, 2014
Pros: top professor
Cons: expensive
very good school, ranked top 3 in south florida. A lot of resources, support, and work ethics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment and positive staff
Construction Accounting Specialist (Former Employee), Davie, FLMay 28, 2014
This role required of a great deal of attention to detail, reconciling and auditing projects and accounts. Great working environment and great staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work.
Assistant Professor (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLMay 22, 2014
Pros: tuition assistance and generous benefits.
Cons: n/a
The faculty, staff and students are a pleasure to work with. The university is a positive environment that fosters success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing oppotunities to work independently and learn new skills
Undergraduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLMay 20, 2014
I love working at Nova Southeastern University. The staff is friendly, and the students really care about their education.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional, Educational Workplace
EXAM PROCTOR (Former Employee), Davie, FLApril 24, 2014
Pros: job security, benefits, work hours
Cons: to work in that professional environment, it requires a meticulous individual.
Excellent workplace and educational environment for those who want to advance their education and be promoted. Great campus environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High demand enviornment
Teachers Assistant (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLApril 14, 2014
Pros: free education
Cons: 12 month school progam
Environment where it is important to stick to the daily schedule. The importance and pursuit of higher education is encourage as there is tuition reimbursement avaliable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NSU provided me an opportunity to grow in both training and technology skills
On-Line Market Place Coordinator (Former Employee), Davie, FLApril 11, 2014
Pros: this position allowed me to be very creative in developing educational materials
Cons: there was limited growth within the university
As part of NSU I was able to create an online purchasing system that allowed for alternative funds to be counted for in the business of this university. This position also allowed me the opportunity to develop educational programs for employees, department heads, and the students. I created educational materials and produced media material that were – more... high in value to the training environment within the university. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Location is good
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLApril 10, 2014
Pros: using my skills that i have
Cons: no training
A typical day at work is mostly finding out what needs to be done. I learned that what the department is time consuming. The management was okay. The co-workers were nice except when they were way to busy. The hardest part of the job was not being trained. The most enjoyable part of the job is when I did get to help other faulty members in the department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Enrollment Student Services Coordinator (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLMarch 28, 2014
Helping students reach their educational goals is the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Duties
Senior Technology Engineer (Current Employee), Davie, FLMarch 24, 2014
Working with top level executives has lead to some great exposure and advancement, but has also been detrimental in advancing further as I would like to transition to another field but cannot do to management not wanting to replace my skill set.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
benifits is awsome
Help Desk Technician (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: benifits, hours of operation, knowledgeable it information
Cons: pay rate, postion advancement
Love working here, best job i ever had working here for the helpdesk. benifits is great since im a single male. but overall its great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Refreshing
Assistant Director (Current Employee), DavieJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: benefits: tuition waiver, holidays, pto and perks
Cons: pay is average for a non-profit institution
Let me start by saying no place of employment is perfect. With that said, I am really enjoying working for Nova. Lots of on-boarding training has been provided, making sure you understand what is expected of a Nova Employee and all the eligible benefits. This place represents my expectations of a work/life balance. Work hard during working hours, with – more... flexibility available. I believe the time frame provided to complete any given task/duties are more often realistic, than not. The pay is average by non-profit institution standards. I see myself working for Nova for many years to come. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
Help Desk Technician (Former Employee), Davie, FLJanuary 17, 2014
Cool place to work. primary duties were to assist students and professors with any of their technical issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My students made it a great place to teach
Adjunct Professor in the MIBA program (Former Employee), Davie, FLJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: relative autonomy in my classes as long as the material was covered.
Cons: i never received feedback from the dean or dept chair
As an adjunct there is no such thing as a typical day at work. When I teach on campus courses are a total of 6 hours every other weekend. I spend at least that amount of time preparing for class. In addition to making sure I cover the key points for each topic I create exercises that students break into small groups to complete. Those exercises are – more... where students tell me they really learn. What I learn is that they have to play an active role in their education. Lecturing alone doesn't do it. I had very little interaction with management or co-workers except the Department Chair with whom I co-wrote an article that was published. The hardest part of the job is grading 40 term papers at the end of the semester. I have a goal of completing the grading in no more than 4 days and I write extensive comments on each paper. Students tell me that many professors don't even return their papers let alone justify the grades that the students receive. The most enjoyable part of the job is the interaction I have with my students. Even on line I have devised a way to approximate discussions each week that are similar to what takes place in a campus class. i think above everything the absolute most enjoyable part of my job is learning from my students. – less

1 2 3 4

About NOVA SOUTHEASTERN UNIVERSITY

Nova Southeastern University (NSU) gives a whole new meaning to "school of sharks." NSU, whose mascot is the deep sea predator, – Read more