Find companies:
Novadebt
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Novadebt Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Certified Personal Finance Counselor/Bankruptcy (Former Employee), Freehold, NJDecember 14, 2014
Pros: work environment and companies mission
Cons: being non profit funding
Enjoyed waking up and being able to go and do something I enjoyed and working with outstanding professionals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured environment call center offering loss mitigation options
HUD CERTIFIED HOUSING COUNSELOR (Former Employee), San Diego, CAApril 9, 2014
Pros: rewarding opportuntiy, constant education and certification opportunity
Cons: the company was based on volume for funding. sometimes felt rushed.
Call center environment.
Worked with 3-5 homeowners daily via phone.
Offered education and counseling based on each session.
Called their lenders loss mitigation department to discuss outcome of session and homeowners goals to avoid foreclosure
Assisted the borrowers with all paperwork needed to apply for assistance.
The hardest part of my job was to – more... stay neutral and not get emotionally attached.
The best party of my job was knowing I was making a difference and helping individuals in need. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management out of touch
Credit Counselor (Current Employee), Freehold, NJJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: free lunches and activities, decent pay
Cons: management
This company micromanage their employees. Advancement is limited.I have been here for years and and I have not been promoted. This company is only concerned about the numbers, " compassion" is only for our clients but not for the employees. Upper management will feed you and do activities, but morale is not just feeding you food and having activities. – more... Management and Upper management should have a more sincere approach with the employees. At this company you will have "write ups"
, every employee that works here have a write up that you must sign. If you hit you session goals but you miss other categories that are not under your control you will have a write up and may be fired. This company for being a small company have lots of turnover of employees. You will be fired for being 6 minutes late 12 times in a 6 months period. It does not matter if you have great numbers.
Overall if you want a paycheck the pay is decent, but the way you are treated is demeaning and stressful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Client Care Operations Manager (Current Employee), Freehold, NJDecember 31, 2013
Pros: exceptional benefits
Novadebt is a wonderful company to work for! I started out seeking a night job with benefits due to child care issues. After joining Novadebt however, I knew I wanted to stay and help the organization grow. It is very rewarding working for a non-profit company with a mission to help individuals in need. After a little over a year with the organization, – more... a position in management opened and I was thrilled to get the position. I speak from experience when I say that Novadebt is dedicated to putting employees first. I believe in the company I work for and love my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You don't want to work here
Counselor (Current Employee), Freehold, NJDecember 22, 2013
Pros: staff, benefits.
Cons: management
Read the other reviews for this company first and then read this one. The others are spot on about the way this company operates. I don't know who the person is that gave a favorable review. They must be someone from management trying to paint a favorable picture. And don't even bother with the management reply that was posted to these reviews. That's – more... nothing more that a bunch of corporate BS and double talk. Let me start out by saying the financial position of this company is suspect. Several rounds of layoffs, furloughs and cost cutting over the past couple of years. The company has been jettisoning their longer tenured/higher salaried employees in order to cut payroll costs. The first round of layoffs occurred in 2011. These were followed by mandatory furlough days for non-exempt employees in both 2011 and 2012. Employees were also offered the option of taking the summer off without pay but continue paying for benefits in 2012. Two rounds of layoffs in 2013, one in the spring and one in the summer followed by mandatory furlough days for both non-exempt and exempt employees this time. This company will nickel and dime you to death. As someone else mentioned, don't be fooled by the non-profit status. Senior management earns well over six figures. This company is run as cutthroat as any other corporate entity. Their goals are totally bottom line driven. It's amazing that they've escaped the scrutiny of the IRS for so long. Non-profit conjures up visions of possessing a social conscience and working to help society. Sure they do that to an extent but not having to pay sales and other taxes also contributes to a healthy bottom line. The Management style of this company is run like a high school. I can pick out the principal, vice principal, guidance counselor and jock gym teacher. And among the staff you can find the popular crowd, the folks that hover in the background and the unpopular ones. You're golden if you're one of the popular employees that management likes. You can do no wrong and you will go places. If you kind of go unnoticed you're pretty safe as well. If you're unpopular, well it's only a matter of time before you're called on the carpet about something. Don't do something wrong or make a mistake trying to do your job because it will never be forgotten. Criticize someone? That person will run and “tattle” on you. Then senior management gets involved in things they have no business sticking their noses in. Their is no such thing as resolving things like adults. Senior management has no concept of taking into account how you arrived at a decision whether it's correct or not. If you've made a mistake they don't care about the steps you took to get there and then work through that to arrive at the correct result. They only want to point fingers and assign blame. That seems to be the corporate culture and has always been that way. Forget about being one of the counselors. It's like being in prison. More than 5 minutes late, you get an occurrence. Too many occurrences, you're gone. The counselors have quotas to meet as far as calls answered, and counseling sessions completed that are so unrealistic that you can forget about ever meeting them. And don't take a day off because you'll still be required to meet that quota regardless of whether you were at work or not. And the morale boosting? Labor Day bbq's and lunches in the office do nothing for my morale. Know what boosts my morale? More cash in my paycheck and that hasn't happened for years. Morale boosting has dwindled from end of year parties/celebrations to bbq's on the company property to lunches for each department. And the claim that this company cares about their employees is laughable at best. That's why the next day after laying off several employees HR broadcast a job opening via email. Really? How many employees were just let go and we're still hiring? This line is from one of the job postings: “Look no further….here is a wonderful opportunity to join our caring company!” Caring? That boast is laughable at best. This company has no idea about caring for their employees. The only thing that matters is the bottom line and not you. If you can live with that, you'll have a long career. If you think for a minute that it's anything but that, well you'd better start looking for another job. The one and only thing I can say positively about this company is the benefits package. The coverage is good and the employee contribution is small compared to other companies. But the positive of the benefits doesn't come close to outweighing all the other negatives of being employed here. This is a mickey mouse company and management has no concept of how a real corporation is operated. Read the job description and move on to the next one. You'll do yourself a favor by staying as far away from this company as possible. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great co-workers....
Certified Consumer Credit Counselor (Former Employee), Freehold, NJNovember 8, 2013
you need to be smart, fast,and well spoken- co workers are overall really great. revolving door employer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
novadebt days
Scam Counselor (Former Employee), Freehold, NJAugust 20, 2013
Pros: close commute
Cons: had to use pto for two many reasons
Approx. 25 calls per day, learned alot in the field of counseling.
Management was not very approachable, loved the coworkers, hardest part of job was trying to reach the call volume they expected, there weren't enough calls coming in to do that, the most enjoyable part of the job as wen you realized at the end of the call that you really did help someone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't be my first choice
Management (Former Employee), All locationsFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: money
Cons: lack of appreciation, little to no succession planning
I was with Novadebt for a long time and can confidently say that I don't regret leaving. There are some very good people in the organization but upper management rules by fear. Voicing opinions can be detrimental to your career. Company executives and upper management have little to no experience outside of the organization.

The environment is constricted, – more... overbearing, controlling and oppressive. The pay was very good but sanity was worth more. – less

October 11, 2013

As a non-profit organization, we care more about people than profit. That includes our people – more than 250 Novadebt employees across the country. Because we care, some recent feedback posted on Indeed.com by former employees has caused us concern and called our organization to action. While no company can guarantee the satisfaction of every team member, we work very hard to support our employees as they report to work each day, ready to assist our clients in need of regaining their financial stability. We routinely hold morale-boosting events for employees in all of our locations, we offer an outstanding benefits package to our staff and we provide monthly leadership development training to all managers and supervisors in order to provide them with the tools to best support their staff. In addition, we survey all employees annually for their anonymous feedback in an effort to measure job satisfaction levels and identify areas in need of improvement. On the 2013 Annual Employee Survey, more than 91% of our employees agreed that they are satisfied with their job at Novadebt. That is a job satisfaction rating we are very proud of, but we understand that employees who have separated from the company may not share the same degree of satisfaction. We take feedback from both our current and former employees seriously, and we remain committed to the continuous improvement of our job satisfaction levels. The job of a certified Novadebt Housing or Credit Counselor is challenging, yet extremely rewarding work. The success of our counselors and our company is measured by the quality of the counseling we provide. We are proud to note that Novadebt’s quality standards are the highest in the industry, which requires high-level performance and the highest degree of professionalism from every employee on our 150-member counseling team. Due to the nature of our industry, we also have regulations and procedures in place to measure and ensure the delivery of the highest quality counseling to our clients. We acknowledge that our stringent quality standards may be more fully appreciated by the clients we serve than by our former employees; nevertheless, we remain extremely proud that our counselors and their delivery of our counseling model are consistently rated among the best in the nation. We are inspired every day by the care our counselors provide to our clients and we genuinely strive to match that commitment in our working relationship with our employees. While we do not apologize for maintaining industry-leading quality standards, we acknowledge the level of performance that meeting those standards requires from our employees, and we are willing to work even harder to support them in fulfilling the hopes and expectations they have for their jobs. In short, we hear what our former employees are saying and we will continue to work on long term solutions to further support our active employees. We continue to encourage our employees to express their job satisfaction interests and concerns to our management team and/or our Human Resources Department. We plan on expending a great deal of time and resources to ensure we are creating an environment that our employees are comfortable working in. We especially thank those employees that have provided honest and direct feedback relative to their experiences with the organization. Sincerely, Novadebt's Management Team

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No care or concerns for employees
Housing counselor (Current Employee), Freehold, NJFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: nice coworkers, a paycheck in a hard economy
Cons: no job security or advancement
You spend your day basically chained to your desk. Managements only concern is for the sessions you submit so that they can get paid. Upper management doesn't care about the employees, everything that gets brought to their attention is handled as its the employees fault not theirs. Supervisors are untrained and unable to answer questions on their own – more... and when they do attempt you'll get a different answer from each. Training manager is young and inexperienced and has no idea what he is doing. HR likes to think that they're fair however they will never stand up to management and back employees. As far as this company is concerned accountability is only for employees, not supervisors or management. – less

February 19, 2013

I agree with everything you are saying. Very helpful to read your comment. I will never understand why a "non-profit" would treat their employees in demeaning, controlling, and quite non-sensical ways ! You are there to learn, but after working here - I know the true definition of phoniness !

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laughable
Residential Housing Counselor (Current Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: the pay check is always on time.
Cons: too many to list
This is the most mikey mouse operation I have ever seen. The turnover is high for good reason. People are not treated as an asset but just another disposable cog in the wheel. Management never listens to the employees, but always wonders why were failing. There is never any positive reinforcement, just monthly one on ones about what you are doing wrong. – more... Advancement is available if you kiss up to the right person. However you will never be recognized for doing a good job. The answer to there shortcomings is raise the goals and blame the employees. The job itself is stressful as you will be tied to your desk with repetitive conversations on the phone all day long. But with such an unsupportive management team its intolerable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small-minded company that has no respect for staff
Director, Information Technology (Former Employee), Freehold, NJJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: close to home
Cons: top management rule by fear and has no respect for staf
A small - and small-minded - non-profit that has no respect for its staff. Under a management that uses fear and intimidation, staff are extremely unhappy and angry.
IT was treated as a budget item and not as a team that could benefit the corporation. Fortunately, the IT team is a great group of people that really care about the work that produce. They – more... could be doing so much more for the company if there was any respect or support shown for their efforts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Impossible to advance, many requirements and too little pay.
Counselor (Current Employee), NJJanuary 19, 2013
Pros: nice cafeteria.
Cons: little to no raises, no bonuses, high medical insurance prem.
Too much micro management. Little opportunity on moving up in the company. Everyone isn't measured with the same ruler and the rules are enforced only when the bosses don't like you. Your ok if you brown nose and that is the only way to move up in the company. No matter how hard you work and try your best you don't get recognized for it. Even though – more... we don't work on commision there is a quota to meet and bonuses are handed out only to the same people. How can you meet that if you have no control as to what comes in on your phone line. Then when the calls are listened to by the supervisor they are doing it in a quite room and they are able to listen to it with out any issues. It's not fair that we have to try to listen to the client with all of the background noise we have near us; then the supervisor says that we get points taken off of the evaluation for poor listening. The pay isn't enough for everything that we go through, especially having to take work home so we can study on our own personal time. So if I have other responsibilities in my personal life it's very difficult to do that. I was told when hired I would have to pass "A" test for certification, but I wasn't told that to move from one level to another and get a raise I would need to study at my age. If I wanted to study at my age I would of picked another profession. This happens to many people here where you find out the facts only once your in and left your other job and have no choice but to stay here and deal with it because otherwise your left unemployed. New employee training and study group is a joke. Many times you need an answer from a supervisor and no two answers will be the same. No one is on the same page, it's like the left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing. There is also poor communication at this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
remote offices
Housing Counselor (Former Employee), new jerseyJanuary 18, 2013
highest pay in the industry, to ignore customers request, title is a counselor but all you do is work in a call center all day and tell people that are having a financial hardship, to clip coupons and sell their homes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turnover rate and unrealistic standards, too much unnecessary monitoring
mortgage housing counselor (Former Employee), Freehold, NJJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: average feasible pay, benefits, most co-workers are nice, nice kitchen environment, good parking
Cons: hypocritical statements, too much control, too much monitoring, low cubes so you hear everyone else's counseling sessions, inaccurate feedback, lies
Last week, I got terminated from this job (mortgage housing counselor, english speaking). There was no proper reason given to me for my termination. I was actually granted more training, supposedly so the company can fakely show that they "believe in me." In fact, I did not ask for more training, nor did I want extra training. The job is intense, however – more... I practiced and studied a lot on my own and knew all my material. However, the ironic part was that I was being buttered up and smooth talked my way into management unfairly, and wrongfully terminating me !

A little flashback, as to when I was hired. Although, the human resources generalist was very pleasant & friendly - she was late to my initial in person interview by one hour! She had to be paged to come to my interview that she herself scheduled. They are so "busy" at this company and she said she was in a "meeting" and couldn't tell her boss that she had an interview scheduled for 2 pm that day. Anyway, I said it was okay and not a problem. I never ever experienced an interview experience - when the person interviewing was actually late !!! That was a first I ever experienced !

The first two weeks were training, and the training manager is a 25 year old guy - who thinks he knows everything there is about finance, money, real estate, mortgages, etc. He runs the training show and class - but does not seem to be very practical in life's experiences - nor how to train someone the "real" way.

I am very confused, as to why this company buttered me up, buttered me up, and was as nice as could be. But, they picked up apart every little thing simultaneously. My team leader would be very nice to me, and did not seem to want to terminate me - however, he's got to listen to hierarchy probably. I heard from a couple other employees, after I got fired that they fire someone at Novadebt every few weeks ! The first 3 months are your probationary period and they expect you to do 4 housing counseling sessions per day (even though the phones DO NOT RING for calls all the time). The goal is 5 sessions per day. Yes, it's a free session and a HUD approved housing counseling agency - however it's a fixed system (meaning a homeowner could get mortgage workout solutions by calling their lender directly!) Most of the callers were amicable and lot of them blessed me on the phone, and were very nice on the phone. That was the good part of the job. The team leader and training manager were completely hypocritical in their coaching points.

I had a phone trainer who was assigned to me. She constantly had mood swings and was texting her family members (practically 65 % of the training time). She was very smart with her knowledge - and would be nice occasionally. But, then try to waste time, by correcting my grammer or English skills (knowing well enough that I'm a college educated girl! ). She was a fake type of hot/cold persona towards me all the time ! I would just absorb the hurt and keep it bottled up - as this was still my first 3 months. And I would be very nice towards her - even when she put me down. I was under the impression that perhaps she was offering some tough love. But, it seemed more so that it was just her personality - so I dealt with it in a very friendly manner (as I know one has to put all emotion aside at work). The way she spoke to me at times, it was very offensive, and because this is a call center environment where everyone keeps a secretive eye on you - I had to release tears and cry it out in the bathroom quite a few times ! Ofcourse, you could not show your tears there - because nobody really cared. The phone trainer just was hot/cold - and I never knew how she would react to something. So, I just mainly kept quiet and saying to her "sure" "i understand" "no problem" "I will do it just like this" "okay, now I know" . I was very nice and friendly with the phone trainer - no matter what. But, hey look what happened I still got terminated.

Bottom line, this company has a very high turnover rate. I know I could perform this job as I passed all the entry level tests and extensive interview process. People here work extremely hard, but you will get picked on for the most ridiculous things. However, because they monitor all the calls - they will pick on you about the most miniscule matters. It's like this company is looking for reasons to terminate you. They hire a few people for the training program and it seems that they always atleast get rid of 2 people per class. It seems to be all pre-planned. Bottom line, as nice as I was and never did any insubordination or "back talk" with supervisors, etc. - but at a company like this - "you are doomed if you do, and doomed if you don't." – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping People everyday
Housing Coach (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 25, 2012
My typical day at work was answering Housing counselors questions and procedures, helping with clients who were unhappy and also reviewing the counselors performance.

My coworkers were great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement prospects are poor
Housing Counselor (Current Employee), Farmington Hills, MISeptember 8, 2012
Advancement prospects are poor unless you work at Freehold or San Diego. Otherwise you are stuck in your position.

March 9, 2013

Even when at the main location still not possible to move forward.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very focused and driven company.
Process Analyst (Former Employee), San Diego, CAMay 16, 2012
The most enjoyable part of the job was getting to understand a person's finances from eliciting information and putting that into a plan that can help the person get back on track.