Novartis Employee Reviews

Found 551 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledable Workplace
HR Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  East Hanover, NJAugust 14, 2016
Norvartis NBS has provided the opportunity to learn about HR Related services and systems.
The most enjoyable part of the job is the trainings and job support offered, from Yammer to new program and team meetings/trainings.
Pros
Learning Curve/ Ability to learn new functions that may serve outside of Novartis
Cons
Externals - Little to No Benefits offered, opportunity to move up within the company as a result.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Data Management, Clinical Safety Department
Clinical Safety Associate, Project Data Manager (Former Employee) –  East Hanover, NJ & Summit, NJAugust 15, 2016
I began with the company when it was Sandoz and would have given it 5 stars. Novartis on the other hand, not so much. The merger certainly took it toll. I was wearing many different hats and the monetary compensation was not the same for ex-Sandoz employees. Ciba employs were better compensated and there was resistance in bringing Sandoz employees to the same level.
With that said, I loved the positions I held and my (Sandoz) co-workers were great. Overall it was a great learning experience for me. I'm sure situations must be different at this time. I would probably work there again should the opportunity arise.
Pros
It's been so long since I worked there, I can't comment.
Cons
It's been so long since I worked there, I can't comment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Associate Director, Business Planning & Analysis (Current Employee) –  East Hanover, NJJuly 10, 2016
Great Work Life Balance. Telecommuting and flexible work hours a huge plus. Open Space work environment a plus.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Pros
ice cream wedensdays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
satisfactory work and friendly workplace
Sr Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 23, 2016
Learned different processes in different departments

I've managed to complete any tasks by being detailed oriented, focused, and a team player

I've work with some amazing co-workers that have treated me like family

Being laid-off was the hardest part of the job

Being recognized by my manger for a good job on daily tasks and projects done in a timely manner
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved that company
Senior Records Assistant (Former Employee) –  Emeryville, CAJuly 11, 2016
I worked 8 hours a day. The atmosphere was great. I learned a lot on Records Keeping, Paying Invoices, Off-site Storage. Management was great. The hardest part of the job was the optical scanning at first. The most enjoyable was the relaxed atmosphere. The comfortable dress attire,and the co-workers. The best job I have ever had.
Pros
Everything was great. They moved to the East Coast.
Cons
No cons for this job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working in research and development, I always got to do something different. I worked on many interesting products and dosage forms
Formulations Scientist (Former Employee) –  Lincoln, NEJune 27, 2016
I enjoyed the variety in my job, it never got too boring. I learned so many things about manufacturing, packaging and labeling of over the counter pharmaceuticals. I liked working in the Pilot Laboratory with the miniature size equipment compared to the commercial size equipment used in the factory. I especially liked the scale-up process, that is where I learned the most about the robustness of the formula and the process used to manufacture gets challenged.
Pros
Constantly learning new things
Cons
Politics became more important to management than the employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Pharma Environment with large emphasis on process.
Executive Cardiovascular Account Specialist (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLAugust 9, 2016
While the company has vast resources and a stellar on boarding, and training process, The Commercial side is riddled with process and micromanagement. There's no connection with the realities that the field faces.
Pros
Great Salary and Benefits. Vast Resources.
Cons
Excessive Micromanagement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't Get Too Comfortable
Specialty Pharmaceutical Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  EverywhereAugust 5, 2016
I was a part of Novartis family for 15 years. I won many sales awards and pushed many different drugs. My division was renamed numerous times. Nothing stayed the same for long. However my devotion to this company remained strong. Every year for the last six years that I worked we were told to "stay out of territory on any given Friday (usually before Thanksgiving or Christmas) and "wait by your phone". I survived 5 years of this but the 6th year I did not. That particular year 2200 people across the nation lost their job. Shortly afterwards Novartis was able to free up funds to acquire another company. I have previous clients tell me they have a different Novartis rep every 3 months. My advice when you see a position for Novartis is keep on scrolling.
Pros
Healthcare
Cons
Continual displacement
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good community, reasonable pay and expectations
Medicinal Chemistry Intern (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 8, 2016
I worked here for only 3 months as a summer intern, so I might not have been able to see that much. At least what I did see was generally positive. My supervisor had high expectations for me but was also patient with me; I was able to learn a lot. Great place for an internship.
Pros
Gym, good lunch food, friendly people
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the international travel, loved the diversity of the people, enjoyed the work
Sr. Infrastructure Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Ft. Worth, TXAugust 4, 2016
Novartis has a mission to heal the world and I loved being part of that. I worked with amazing people all around the world. They have a history of discrimination, so upward mobility for women is very difficult
Pros
Great people, great company mission
Cons
discrimination
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fascinating culture
Associate Director Communications (Former Employee) –  Vacaville, CAJuly 8, 2016
- Wonderful opportunity to learn about pharmaceutical industry
- Engaged first hand in delivering life changing products to consumers
- World-wide organization and industry
- Thriving industry segment with global growth
Pros
Global life changing industry
Cons
As with most global companies, quickly overlooks local staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A constant learning opportunity with favorable work life balance
Oncology Medical Information Manager (Current Employee) –  East Hanover, NJMay 18, 2016
The company always has great innovation strategies and constantly striving to make leads in medicines for patients needs. Everyone is focused on growing the business and advancing our pipeline. The most enjoyable part is seeing everything come to fruition as there are countless town halls that always bring attention to all the hard work people put in.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team players welcomed constructive feedback
Batch Records Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Suffern, NYAugust 15, 2016
Productive workplace and still had a great fun atmosphere. Able to talk issues out with management and not feel uncomfortable. Learned different jobs by working closely with other groups.
Pros
Work at home when needed.
Cons
being available 24/7 since plant had 3 shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day
External Supplier Operation Manager, Sandoz (Current Employee) –  MexicoJune 8, 2016
Everyday here brings itself new experiences and knowladge due that I recieved calls from other Bussines Unit of Novartis in order to align information for developing new project and as a consequence the supply chain.

The atmosphere is superb, and I into the interaction with people from all over the world, even if this interaction is done by phone. I have adquiered the ability to negociate and convince people to do what they have to do.

Even though I am good at English (it is not my mother tongue), Sometimes I feel nervous since I have to report by slides the following up of contractor to the Global Team, that is an amazing challenge for my growing.

At the end of the day, I usually go to play soccer and hanging out with my friends because I reckon to get a succesful life is neccesary to have a balance life in all the aspects.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning and Growth
Human Resources Specialist (Current Employee) –  East Hanover, NJMay 9, 2016
Enjoying assisting and helping our employees with a number of tasks and Human Resource related missions. Making sure employees are paid properly and if they are not providing a solution whether it be with there bank or within our own internal pay roll to ensure they are compensated in a timely manner.
Pros
Strong work environment with great people
Cons
Healthcare and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Novartis
Executive Cardiovascular Sales Specialist (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJuly 6, 2016
Novartis is a pay for performance company. I have excelled in that work ethic and salesmanship. Novartis is also very team oriented. With that in mind I have had great experiences with other professional sales reps. We all had our eyes on the prize to get the job done...right. The hardest part of the job has been the new call number orientation. Goals have been set very high and almost impossible to attain, I have been making sales goals and ranking in the upper 10% of reps. The most enjoyable part of the jobs has been getting to know my customers and the passion they have to help their patients. My Novartis colleagues have been wonderful through my career with Novartis. We all care about doing the right thing...everyday.
Pros
Intelleigent customers and colleagues. State of the art medications.
Cons
Target customers created from a third party vendor that are not reflective of my territory.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All depends on manager and department.
Analyst (Current Employee) –  East Hanover, NJSeptember 7, 2016
Good market level compensation. 4 major layoffs over past 6 years. no promotions. Lots of great people.
At the end personal experience depends on manager and department. I was lucky one.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
frequent layoffs, constant freeze on promotions or any career moves
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong work environment changing focus to risk based approach
VP VENDOR Management and Compliance contracting (Current Employee) –  East Hanover, NJApril 19, 2016
Although I am a contractor at Novartis, I am aware of how associates and externals are treated. For the most part it is fair but it is a business. Not all risk moves were well received but most were and the lessons learned were put into action for the next project or operational plan. Would like to secure a position there internally but it has not yet occurred. Been there six years. A good run for a contractor.
Pros
Include contractors in some local events
Cons
Cannot take advantage of employee benfits
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the Group
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 27, 2016
Some groups have good bosses who would put efforts to help you grow your career, some keep you blinded so you won't know much and keep working for the boss cluelessly and not learn anything so you will not out grow him/her. All depends on the personality of your boss.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
political
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and work place, communicative teammates
Network Engineer (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXAugust 9, 2016
working with firewalls, switches and routers all day. providing troubleshooting and maintain them.

Cooperative work environment.

Documentation, configurations. on-call support.
Pros
flexible timing, work efficient
Cons
handling loads of devices
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 850 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8