Find companies:
NovaStar Financial
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

NovaStar Financial Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for NovaStar!
Regional Sales and Support (Former Employee), WashingtonJanuary 13, 2014
I would have stayed with NovaStar for a lot longer but I got an offer from EquiFirst that I just could not pass up.

Great people! Great compensation plan and awesome work tools to help me be successful.

Great company!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Tech Work
IT Specialist (Current Employee), Laredo, TXNovember 7, 2013
Pros: fun and easy work. 1 hr lunch
Cons: cant think of any.
A typical day at Novastar would consist of running wires through buildings and terminating ends of cables to connect cameras then making everything neat and clean. Setting up a DVR is simple and explaining it to the customer is a breeze. After the equipment is set up and running its on to the next one. Management is great. One hour lunch break. Co-workers – more... are efficient and are great to have around. The hardest part of this job would be building with high ceilings or warehouses with thick concrete walls that need to be drilled through. The most enjoyable part of this job is the easy installs and out of town jobs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mortgages
Sr. Loan Officer (Former Employee), Columbia, MDOctober 17, 2013
Pros: compensation and postive atmosphere.
This was a great company to work for and it enabled me to foster my sales ability. This was an environment filled with positive co-workers and the atmosphere was electric. You got out what you put in and I was deeply saddened when the mortgage industry crashed and the company had to close its doors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company went out of business
Appraisal Review Analyst (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOSeptember 5, 2013
Pros: very interesting work
Cons: company closed
Company closed it doors.8 hrs/day
High pressure to complete high volume of work.
1/2 day off each month for a department fun day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love This Place
Payoff Specialist/Data Analyst/CSR (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOMay 3, 2013
Every aspect of this job was great. Great atmosphere, management was great and co-workers were great!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regional Manager
Account Executive (Former Employee), Orlando, FLMarch 28, 2013
I was responsible for business development for western NC. I used my years of experience and many contacts to increase the visibility of Citi Financial Wholesale Mortgage products in the Western NC region. After accounts were set up and their personnel trained I turned the accounts over to an account executive who I then supervised.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Loan Officer (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 16, 2013
Good place to work. Management is good and I enjoy working with my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first mortgage company experience
Loan Officer (Former Employee), Aliso Viejo and Lake Forest CAMarch 3, 2013
This job involved cold calling system and paper leads. I had never worked for a mortgage company before. This was my first experience. I didn't get much training so I learned by trial and error for the first 3 months. That was the hardest part. I could have used more help at first. The money was great once I got the hang of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no longer in business
REO Closing Manager (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOFebruary 7, 2013
Pros: na
Cons: n/a
no longer in the servicing business closed in 2007
worked there for 5 years and enjoyed it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Got my start to underwriting....
DE Underwriter/Processor (Former Employee), Westwood, KSJanuary 15, 2013
Pros: this is the company that got me my first step in the underwriting field.
Cons: the division that i was working in closed down.
I helped Novastar get the test cases out to FHA for their approval, along with a small team that I put together to do all the automated approvals (DU, LP). They allowed me to expand and mange a small team to do all the automated, help in the FHA test cases and this allowed me to start underwriting. Once loans were completed on automation then they came – more... to me for me to set up and this is where I would complete a QC of the loans. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales.
Loan Officer (Former Employee), Elmsford, NYSeptember 5, 2012
I learned and excelled with sales. This lead me into my interest in Real Estate, which I then studied in school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All time favorite position
Corporate Auditor (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOAugust 16, 2012
Pros: excellent compensation, 100% travel
Cons: inability to stay open
100% travel accross entire U.S
Ensure branches are compliant with State & Federal regulations
Proper disclosure of Broker Agreements (where applicable)
Ensure RESPA requirements are met, properly dated etc.
Ensure there is no evidence of back dooring
Train branches on proper tracking of files in Point to ensure a clean pipeline
Coordinate travel to – more... meet company expectations
Write audit reports (in great detail), complete Audit checksheets and week end reports
Comparison of Units v.s Volume, NMI v.s Brokered v.s NHMI
Overall Risk Analysis of branch
Ensure payment of rent, marketing, phone, commission, employees, licensing, etc.
Match monthly statements received by corporate – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with the FISH philosophy
Business Development Manager (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHJune 4, 2012
Pros: relaxed and fun environment
Geting in and great team in the morning meating. Then right to it for phone calls to brokers to confirm, advance, or bring in new loans. I learned alot about building and maintaing good relationships with my clients. My co-workers were wonderful, always had good attitude and when needed help didn't have a problem coming to thier mentor. The best part – more... of the job is when you have meet your goals and you get your bonus! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative place to work /always inventing ways to motivate & inspire employees
Pre-foreclosure Loan Supervisor (Former Employee), Kansas City, MissouriMay 3, 2012
Pros: games, incentives, group bonding time, relaxed atmosphere
Cons: promoting practices, vying for positions
*Hours could be long depending on the time of the month, Work was very intense and impacted people on a very personal level.
*I learned to create for those I worked with the best support system
*Management could be manipulative
*Co-workers were very close like family and intertwined in each others lives
*Being under constraints that didn't allow you – more... to resolve problems
*Fun competitions, great atmosphere, ability to work with people – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Premium Recapture/Repurchase Specialist (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOApril 23, 2012
Pros: great environment
Cons: closing their doors
This was the best job I have ever had. It was a shame when they had to close their doors due to the mortgage market.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I don't really have a lot of good things to say about Novastar
loan officer (Former Employee), Columbia, MDFebruary 27, 2012
Pros: occasionally decent commissiona
Cons: not enough expertise, training, encouragement or support
Don't bother to apply working for Novastar, as I don't think they are functioning as a company anymore.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided residential Mortgages in the sub prime market.
Loan Officer (Former Employee), Concord, CANovember 21, 2012
Pros: market was booming and pay was good.
Cons: worked long hours and weekends.
Customer oriented position. Coordinated and liased with banks,insurance companies and funders.