NovaStar Financial Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work & did perks for staff
Quality Control Auditor (Former Employee) –  Independence, OHAugust 24, 2017
nice relaxing atmosphere, answering phones, auditing files. The most enjoyable part was having a nice relaxing day at work and going home feeling nice after a full days work. The hardest part of the job was waiting to learn the other processes.
Pros
free lunches & perks they would do for the employees
Cons
the company folded due to the economy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun self management
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  MarylandAugust 7, 2017
Spent working with mortgage brokers securing home loans
The mortgage industry
great management
the workplace was fun and relaxed
convincing brokers to allow you to process their loans
helping people buy homes
Pros
self management
Cons
industry based on economy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Enjoyable place to work
Foreclosure Specialist (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJuly 23, 2017
I enjoyed going to work everyday. The company also had openings for advancement during the time of my employment. The management team was helpful and was always there to lend a helping hand to the employees.
Cons
No longer in Servicing Business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Team Leader/ Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZJune 26, 2017
This company no longer exists. I was a licensed loan officer at this job. Compensation was competitive and they strive to make you better at the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely causal work environment
Pre- Marketing Coordinator and Loan Counselor (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJune 26, 2017
NovaStar was a sub prime mortgage lender. The energy in that building was amazing new and fresh every day. The management was open minded yet consistent.
Pros
Everyon worked as a team
Cons
Economy driven industry.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and nice company.
Human Resources Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOApril 19, 2017
It was a good company to work for, was sorry it went out of business They cared about their employees.. Your were a person not just a number there. Cared about your family also.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company during it's hey-day.
Accounting Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Kansas CityJuly 12, 2015
What a great company to work for during it's hey day. During the "good days" management was wonderful and treated employs with great respect. A work hard, play hard environment
Pros
Team and Company-wide outings.
Cons
Subprime decline.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Senior Loan Officer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 7, 2015
I've had the opportunity to work with people or different from difference social, economic, cultural backgrounds to help them reach their goals of home-ownership.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient supply chain
Net Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Newport Beach, CAMay 26, 2015
Large corporate and publicly-traded primary mortgage originator. Learned all aspects of successful business operation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wish the doors would have stayed open.
SR Loan Resolution Consultanat/ Asset Manager (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 1, 2015
Pay was amazing. Little micromanagement and company allowed me to do what I needed to do to hit my bonus pay. I was a shame they closed their doors and sold out to Saxon.
Pros
Pay was amazing while it lasted.
Cons
Sold servicing to Saxon and laid everyone off.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company but commute was too far
UNDERWRITER (Former Employee) –  El Toro, CAJanuary 23, 2014
great company with room for advancement, sr. underwriter dealt with wholesale loans primarily. and
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for NovaStar!
Regional Sales and Support (Former Employee) –  WashingtonJanuary 13, 2014
I would have stayed with NovaStar for a lot longer but I got an offer from EquiFirst that I just could not pass up.


Great people! Great compensation plan and awesome work tools to help me be successful.

Great company!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Tech Work
IT Specialist (Current Employee) –  Laredo, TXNovember 7, 2013
A typical day at Novastar would consist of running wires through buildings and terminating ends of cables to connect cameras then making everything neat and clean. Setting up a DVR is simple and explaining it to the customer is a breeze. After the equipment is set up and running its on to the next one. Management is great. One hour lunch break. Co-workers are efficient and are great to have around. The hardest part of this job would be building with high ceilings or warehouses with thick concrete walls that need to be drilled through. The most enjoyable part of this job is the easy installs and out of town jobs.
Pros
Fun and easy work. 1 hr lunch
Cons
Cant think of any.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mortgages
Sr. Loan Officer (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDOctober 17, 2013
This was a great company to work for and it enabled me to foster my sales ability. This was an environment filled with positive co-workers and the atmosphere was electric. You got out what you put in and I was deeply saddened when the mortgage industry crashed and the company had to close its doors.
Pros
Compensation and postive atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company went out of business
Appraisal Review Analyst (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOSeptember 5, 2013
Company closed it doors.8 hrs/day
High pressure to complete high volume of work.
1/2 day off each month for a department fun day.
Pros
Very interesting work
Cons
company closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love This Place
Payoff Specialist/Data Analyst/CSR (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMay 3, 2013
Every aspect of this job was great. Great atmosphere, management was great and co-workers were great!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regional Manager
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLMarch 28, 2013
I was responsible for business development for western NC. I used my years of experience and many contacts to increase the visibility of Citi Financial Wholesale Mortgage products in the Western NC region. After accounts were set up and their personnel trained I turned the accounts over to an account executive who I then supervised.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Loan Officer (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 16, 2013
Good place to work. Management is good and I enjoy working with my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first mortgage company experience
Loan Officer (Former Employee) –  Aliso Viejo and Lake Forest CAMarch 3, 2013
This job involved cold calling system and paper leads. I had never worked for a mortgage company before. This was my first experience. I didn't get much training so I learned by trial and error for the first 3 months. That was the hardest part. I could have used more help at first. The money was great once I got the hang of it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no longer in business
REO Closing Manager (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOFebruary 7, 2013
no longer in the servicing business closed in 2007
worked there for 5 years and enjoyed it
Pros
na
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NovaStar Financial. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 29 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.8
Culture
4.2