Find companies:
Novitas
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

Novitas Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very laid back
Appeal Representative (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAMay 20, 2014
Pros: snack days
Cons: short breaks
This job was a very good laid back job, all we did was answer calls back to back and helping the customers fix their claims in order for them to be paid ,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Communication Sucks
Qualified Independent Contractor (Former Employee), Williamsport, PAApril 29, 2014
A lot of favoritism with this company you need to watch your back good paying job though. Company could care less about there employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend working here
Nurse Analyst (Current Employee), Mechanicsburg, PAMarch 29, 2014
Pros: the pay is ok.
Cons: morale is bad, micromanaging, overbearing managers.
A typical day is spent sitting in a cubicle working from a computer. Talking is frowned upon, celebrating birthdays is frowned upon. Every things revolved around production. The managers are obtuse and micromanage. There is a constant threat to produce or leave. Management's attitude is, if you don't like it here, leave. Workers are treated like children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HOOOOOORIBLE PLACE TO WORK!!!!! You want to croak young, apply here!
Provider Enrollment Specialist (Current Employee), Mechanicsburg, PAJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Cant wait to get out of here. Management treats you like, horse manure, they are constantly throwing junk work at you, people you work with are lazy, everyones attitude is horrible. The morale of the place is DARK. Upper managment walks all over you and treats you like a child. Your a prisoner in your own cube. The production and quality standards are – more... ridiculously insane and the pay raise...well if you get one....its cents. My last raise was 1 penny. NOVITAS can stick that up their BEHIND. Some people bust their butts and get treated the same as the ones who dont do nothing. BENEFITS STINK...dont even accrue 1 day a month!!! Bottom line is they just dont care. Its all about numbers to them not worried about keeping good employees...TURNOVER rate is ridiculously high. Training is horrible. They basically throw you on the floor and tell you to find the information via the internet, then they wonder why the quality of work is low. Management acts like children talking about their employees on their breaks and lunches. The Manager of Provider Enrollment has the most horrible attitude of anyone I have seen, you cant even ask a question without her getting smart about something. This happens every meeting, people are afraid to ask questions in fear of her humiliating them. If I could go back to that dreadful day of when I accepted this position I would. Biggest mistake of my LIFE! Maybe Sandy Coston the CEO should come in here as "UNDERCOVER BOSS" one day and see how their employees are being treated. Then again, I think all upper management would be fired. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and balanced work enviroment
PROVIDER ENROLLMENT LEAD SPECIALIST (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: flexible work hours
Cons: production and quality standards
Assist credentialist specialist with processing questions and answer any customer complaints
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Detail Oriented, Fun and Challenging
Provider Enrollment Specialist (Current Employee), Mechanicsburg, PADecember 10, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: lunch room
Every day at work I meet new people over the phone. I learn that the majority of providers are not aware of the medicare requirements. The management are very friendly and helpful with all employees. My co-workers are fun to get along with and i look forward to seeing them everyday. The hardest part of the job is explaining the medicare requirements – more... to frustrated providers. The most enjoyable thing about my job is helping providers keep there medicare claims being paid. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with flexibility and benefits
Claims Administrator (Former Employee), Williamsport, PAJuly 24, 2013
Pros: beneifits, flexibility, great people
Cons: sit at a cubicle all day
This isn't a job for someone who can't sit still because you are sitting in a cubicle all day. Other than that its a great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Camp Hill, PAMay 31, 2013
Typical day was servicing phone calls from providers and assisting with medicare claims.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not recommend employment here
Reimbursement and Settlement (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMay 9, 2013
Pros: 4 10-hour workdays
Cons: everything else
When this company bought out Highmark Medicare, that was the beginning to an end. The worst part was when we were told by the current CEO it was "bittersweet" that we were bought out. There is no compassion or love between the Florida office and the previous Highmark offices in PA. Morale is poor, 90% of the workers hate the company, not necessarily – more... their jobs. Poor work performance is a result of a quick merger and no planning. Pay is good, benefits aren't. Although you can work 4 10-hour days, now we are all to work 45-50 hours, mandatory. Most workers are exempt, so no extra cost to the company for those extra hours. Took time away for those under 3 years with Highmark. Will be seeking new employment by year end! Worst HR department I have ever encountered. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low work morale; quite depressing
Associate Appeals Analyst/Settlement (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAApril 29, 2013
Pros: nice breakroom
Cons: benefits, work environment itself
Typical day consists of unexpected turn of events
I learned to expect the unexpected
Management is not user-friendly
Co-workers are like family: you can pick your friends, but you can't pick family members or co-workers
The hardest part of the job is trying to stay positive in such a negative environment
Most enjoyable part is sharing stories/jokes/relief – more... with favored co-workers – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are not enough words to describe how bad this company is.
Claims rep (Current Employee), PittsburghApril 29, 2013
Pros: there are none that come to mind.
Cons: pretty much covers everything.
I have never in my life seen a more miserable bunch of folks. Everyone is in a permanently bad mood and they expect your work to be perfect 100% of the time even though they chew you out for asking any kind of question. Training? There is no training. Figure it out is their policy and it better be the correct way. Management has no idea of what the – more... day to day processes are and threaten your job all the time because you are never working fast enough or are up to standards. I'm a very strong worker however I refuse to dedicate my life to work. I put in my 40 hours and am always expected to work extra. If you do not work 70 plus hours a week you are nothing to this company. Questions or concerns are never answered so dont waste your time. This goes for management, hr or any other department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to be treated like a prisoner , come work here
Claims (Former Employee), PITTSBURGH PAApril 29, 2013
Pros: not many
Cons: too many to list
Everyone here is miserable, upper management has no clue of what they are doing. They are based in Florida,so good luck with getting any payroll issues fixed.Favoritism is so apparent here ita disgusting. certain people are pets and can do no wrong while others are like dirt and have their jobs threatened. Highmark made a major mistake in selling Medicare. – more... This company has nothing to offer. They took away our vacation time and now we must accrue it all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Contract job I have ever worked
Federal Contractor (Former Employee), Camp Hill, PAApril 1, 2013
Cons: everything... poor management and administration
I would give no stars if possible. The only positive thing is the compensation if you do not elect insurance and benefits (IF ELIGIBLE).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning experience
Medicare Appeals Part B Representative (Current Employee), Harrisburg, PAMarch 28, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: short breaks and expensive healthcare
• Answering incoming phone calls from hospitals, medical offices, and third party billing offices regarding claim corrections to Medicare Part B claims.
• Claims corrections entail verifying appropriate medical CPT code, ICD 9codes, HCPCS and Medicare policies to ensure that claims are corrected properly, and the customer receives payment in a timely – more... manner.
• Processing written Medicare Part B appeals including researching medical CPT codes, consulting with Nurses for clinical review of certain appeals to ensure compliance with Medicare policies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not recommend
appeals (Current Employee), camp hill paMarch 5, 2013
Pros: starting pay
Cons: 12 cent raise, communication, management
grew faster than they can handle
"company paid" benefits are paid by you out of government contract fee-- and then purchased from novitas sister company - double dipping!!
management lacks ethics, education and people skills
inferior management
highmark should have kept Medicare
much better company that cares about their workers
novitas employees are – more... still working full shift in weather emergencies
while highmark lets their employees out early
oh and payroll makes constant mistakes and they r in Florida so good luck getting corrected – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldnt recommend this place. Poor Management.
Inquiry Coder (Current Employee), Camp Hill, PaJanuary 31, 2013
Pros: there are none.
Cons: too many to mention. poor management.
I have worked here for many years while the company was run by Highmark. Now Novitas has taken over the medicare division and it sucks. The management hates it and the mood carries over. We are so behind on processing the mail and we are forced to work overtime. We all have busy lives and have to be here so early only to stay late or we will get fired. – more... I dont even know if they are allowed to force us to work over-time. The new people get away with murder while the people that have been here the longest are always in trouble. Management is trying hard each day to get rid of us. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Nice place to work
Appeals Representative - Medicare Part A (Current Employee), Camp Hill, PAJanuary 6, 2013
Pros: flexible work schedule, overtime
Cons: waiting for the clinicians decision.
I research Medicare Part A appeals submitted by providers, facility of the service, beneficiary, Centers for Medicaid & Medicare Services (CMS) or other interested parties. The cases must be finalized in a timely manner. My co-worker are easy to get along with. I'm a people person who mind my own business so that's never been a problem for me. The hardest – more... part of the job is generating written correspondence according CMS standards. The most enjoyable part of the job is processing claims. I'm relocating that's why I'm looking for employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, the entire time i was there, i never saw anyone smile
EDI / Help Desk Analyst (Former Employee), Camp Hill, PAJanuary 5, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: everything else
see summary. says it all. the pay was great for the job. they sell it was an IT job, but its really just customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits
Credentialing Specialist (Former Employee), Camp Hill, PAJanuary 4, 2013
Pros: good benefits
Cons: stressfull- system went down quite often
Productive workplace, fast pace, with good benefits, created a new system that made credentialing alot easier, only con about the job system went down quite often which made it harder to reach our quota. Management would not realize how hard it was to reach quota when systems were down.

About Novitas

In 1977, Novitas, Inc. invented and produced the first sensor for lighting control. We called this energy-saving device the occupancy – Read more