Find companies:
Novitas
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

Novitas Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is so bad and the executives won't even look into allegations.
Mailroom (Current Employee), Mechanicsburg, PaMay 23, 2015
Pros: none
Cons: Managers, and supervisors of the mail room.
Horrible, horrible, place. Long term people from Highmark that had to take the job or lose their position. Half of the time everyone could care less. Gina is just crazy. People sitting around doing nothing while others are overworked. Micromanaged by long term people that should not be there any longer. Especially in the mail room.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High level of micromanagement
credentialing specialists (Former Employee), Jacksonville, flFebruary 18, 2015
Cons: everyone's sad, unorganized, not a happy place
Working for this company does not make you feel stable constant worries of not meeting production and quality standards when the system is always down and the applications are all messed up. Poor leadership/management – more... skills, there's a high level of micromanagement. You can never take paid time off because they don't give you vacation/sick days you only accrue 1 day of pto per month so you can never take time off. The pay is awful, for the demanding work load. You have to process applications and work customer service at the same time, your phone rings all day....why should the providers call customer service when they can call your direct line and flood your phone with voicemails for callbacks. There is no potential for growth here only for favorites. If your a favorite you'll move up quickly or a position will be created for you. The TA's are unprofessional, do not dress professional and lack in help. They treat you as your an inconvenience to them. If your use to working independently I wouldn't work here, it's a controlled environment the entire department goes to lunch at the same time, this never changed sense training. We use to get paid from the government for benefits, this was taken away due to Obama care so a lot of people had to take a huge cut in pay. Working here is a mental, physical, and financial struggle. Mgmt n supervisors always suggest that you find something else instead of trying to make departmental changes for the better so that they can maintain a consistent happier staff. They don't care, they just keep hiring more people to come in and mess up the work and let your seasoned well knowledged employees cont.to leave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Summary for Novitas Solutions Inc.
Contract Analyst (Temporary Position) (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJune 3, 2014
Pros: staff meeting, learning to work in a office enviroment which allowed new and different skills to be developed, such as orcale, excel, outlook etc.
Cons: short breaks and lunches to meet quotes.
Novitas provided a professional working environment and pleasant staff as well as fair and professional supervisors. Management and co-workers provided assistance as needed . Hardest part of job was to – more... change my thinking process from a Clinical floor nurse to a Clinical Contract Analyst. The part I enjoyed the most that I was still working in a Healthcare environment and maintaining and using my clinical knowledge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very laid back
Appeal Representative (Former Employee), Harrisburg, PAMay 20, 2014
Pros: snack days
Cons: short breaks
This job was a very good laid back job, all we did was answer calls back to back and helping the customers fix their claims in order for them to be paid ,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Communication Sucks
Qualified Independent Contractor (Former Employee), Williamsport, PAApril 29, 2014
A lot of favoritism with this company you need to watch your back good paying job though. Company could care less about there employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend working here
Nurse Analyst (Current Employee), Mechanicsburg, PAMarch 29, 2014
Pros: the pay is ok.
Cons: morale is bad, micromanaging, overbearing managers.
A typical day is spent sitting in a cubicle working from a computer. Talking is frowned upon, celebrating birthdays is frowned upon. Every things revolved around production. The managers are obtuse and micromanage. There is a constant threat to produce or leave. Management's attitude is, if you don't like it here, leave. Workers are treated like children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HOOOOOORIBLE PLACE TO WORK!!!!! You want to croak young, apply here!
Provider Enrollment Specialist (Current Employee), Mechanicsburg, PAJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Cant wait to get out of here. Management treats you like, horse manure, they are constantly throwing junk work at you, people you work with are lazy, everyones attitude is horrible. The morale of the place – more... is DARK. Upper managment walks all over you and treats you like a child. Your a prisoner in your own cube. The production and quality standards are ridiculously insane and the pay raise...well if you get one....its cents. My last raise was 1 penny. NOVITAS can stick that up their BEHIND. Some people bust their butts and get treated the same as the ones who dont do nothing. BENEFITS STINK...dont even accrue 1 day a month!!! Bottom line is they just dont care. Its all about numbers to them not worried about keeping good employees...TURNOVER rate is ridiculously high. Training is horrible. They basically throw you on the floor and tell you to find the information via the internet, then they wonder why the quality of work is low. Management acts like children talking about their employees on their breaks and lunches. The Manager of Provider Enrollment has the most horrible attitude of anyone I have seen, you cant even ask a question without her getting smart about something. This happens every meeting, people are afraid to ask questions in fear of her humiliating them. If I could go back to that dreadful day of when I accepted this position I would. Biggest mistake of my LIFE! Maybe Sandy Coston the CEO should come in here as "UNDERCOVER BOSS" one day and see how their employees are being treated. Then again, I think all upper management would be fired. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and balanced work enviroment
PROVIDER ENROLLMENT LEAD SPECIALIST (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: flexible work hours
Cons: production and quality standards
Assist credentialist specialist with processing questions and answer any customer complaints
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Detail Oriented, Fun and Challenging
Provider Enrollment Specialist (Current Employee), Mechanicsburg, PADecember 10, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: lunch room
Every day at work I meet new people over the phone. I learn that the majority of providers are not aware of the medicare requirements. The management are very friendly and helpful with all employees. My – more... co-workers are fun to get along with and i look forward to seeing them everyday. The hardest part of the job is explaining the medicare requirements to frustrated providers. The most enjoyable thing about my job is helping providers keep there medicare claims being paid. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with flexibility and benefits
Claims Administrator (Former Employee), Williamsport, PAJuly 24, 2013
Pros: beneifits, flexibility, great people
Cons: sit at a cubicle all day
This isn't a job for someone who can't sit still because you are sitting in a cubicle all day. Other than that its a great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Camp Hill, PAMay 31, 2013
Typical day was servicing phone calls from providers and assisting with medicare claims.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not recommend employment here
Reimbursement and Settlement (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAMay 9, 2013
Pros: 4 10-hour workdays
Cons: everything else
When this company bought out Highmark Medicare, that was the beginning to an end. The worst part was when we were told by the current CEO it was "bittersweet" that we were bought out. There is no compassion – more... or love between the Florida office and the previous Highmark offices in PA. Morale is poor, 90% of the workers hate the company, not necessarily their jobs. Poor work performance is a result of a quick merger and no planning. Pay is good, benefits aren't. Although you can work 4 10-hour days, now we are all to work 45-50 hours, mandatory. Most workers are exempt, so no extra cost to the company for those extra hours. Took time away for those under 3 years with Highmark. Will be seeking new employment by year end! Worst HR department I have ever encountered. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low work morale; quite depressing
Associate Appeals Analyst/Settlement (Current Employee), Pittsburgh, PAApril 29, 2013
Pros: nice breakroom
Cons: benefits, work environment itself
Typical day consists of unexpected turn of events
I learned to expect the unexpected
Management is not user-friendly
Co-workers are like family: you can pick your friends, but you can't pick family members or co-workers
The hardest part of the job is trying to stay positive in such a negative environment
Most enjoyable part is sharing stories/jokes/relief with favored co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are not enough words to describe how bad this company is.
Claims rep (Current Employee), PittsburghApril 29, 2013
Pros: there are none that come to mind.
Cons: pretty much covers everything.
I have never in my life seen a more miserable bunch of folks. Everyone is in a permanently bad mood and they expect your work to be perfect 100% of the time even though they chew you out for asking any – more... kind of question. Training? There is no training. Figure it out is their policy and it better be the correct way. Management has no idea of what the day to day processes are and threaten your job all the time because you are never working fast enough or are up to standards. I'm a very strong worker however I refuse to dedicate my life to work. I put in my 40 hours and am always expected to work extra. If you do not work 70 plus hours a week you are nothing to this company. Questions or concerns are never answered so dont waste your time. This goes for management, hr or any other department. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you want to be treated like a prisoner , come work here
Claims (Former Employee), PITTSBURGH PAApril 29, 2013
Pros: not many
Cons: too many to list
Everyone here is miserable, upper management has no clue of what they are doing. They are based in Florida,so good luck with getting any payroll issues fixed.Favoritism is so apparent here ita disgusting. – more... certain people are pets and can do no wrong while others are like dirt and have their jobs threatened. Highmark made a major mistake in selling Medicare. This company has nothing to offer. They took away our vacation time and now we must accrue it all. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Contract job I have ever worked
Federal Contractor (Former Employee), Camp Hill, PAApril 1, 2013
Cons: everything... poor management and administration
I would give no stars if possible. The only positive thing is the compensation if you do not elect insurance and benefits (IF ELIGIBLE).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learning experience
Medicare Appeals Part B Representative (Current Employee), Harrisburg, PAMarch 28, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: short breaks and expensive healthcare
• Answering incoming phone calls from hospitals, medical offices, and third party billing offices regarding claim corrections to Medicare Part B claims.
• Claims corrections entail verifying appropriate – more... medical CPT code, ICD 9codes, HCPCS and Medicare policies to ensure that claims are corrected properly, and the customer receives payment in a timely manner.
• Processing written Medicare Part B appeals including researching medical CPT codes, consulting with Nurses for clinical review of certain appeals to ensure compliance with Medicare policies. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
do not recommend
appeals (Current Employee), camp hill paMarch 5, 2013
Pros: starting pay
Cons: 12 cent raise, communication, management
grew faster than they can handle
"company paid" benefits are paid by you out of government contract fee-- and then purchased from novitas sister company - double dipping!!
management lacks ethics, education – more... and people skills
inferior management
highmark should have kept Medicare
much better company that cares about their workers
novitas employees are still working full shift in weather emergencies
while highmark lets their employees out early
oh and payroll makes constant mistakes and they r in Florida so good luck getting corrected – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldnt recommend this place. Poor Management.
Inquiry Coder (Current Employee), Camp Hill, PaJanuary 31, 2013
Pros: there are none.
Cons: too many to mention. poor management.
I have worked here for many years while the company was run by Highmark. Now Novitas has taken over the medicare division and it sucks. The management hates it and the mood carries over. We are so behind – more... on processing the mail and we are forced to work overtime. We all have busy lives and have to be here so early only to stay late or we will get fired. I dont even know if they are allowed to force us to work over-time. The new people get away with murder while the people that have been here the longest are always in trouble. Management is trying hard each day to get rid of us. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Nice place to work
Appeals Representative - Medicare Part A (Current Employee), Camp Hill, PAJanuary 6, 2013
Pros: flexible work schedule, overtime
Cons: waiting for the clinicians decision.
I research Medicare Part A appeals submitted by providers, facility of the service, beneficiary, Centers for Medicaid & Medicare Services (CMS) or other interested parties. The cases must be finalized – more... in a timely manner. My co-worker are easy to get along with. I'm a people person who mind my own business so that's never been a problem for me. The hardest part of the job is generating written correspondence according CMS standards. The most enjoyable part of the job is processing claims. I'm relocating that's why I'm looking for employment. – less

About Novitas

In 1977, Novitas, Inc. invented and produced the first sensor for lighting control. We called this energy-saving device the occupancy – Read more

Novitas Salaries

Credentialing Specialist
$29,088 per year