Find companies:
nTelos Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

nTelos Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive outgoing & enjoyable workplace
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Richmond, VAJune 17, 2014
I learned that team work is essential to get the job done. I also loved that when ever i had a question or concern my teammates the were always ready in willing to help. The most enjoyable part of my job was uplifting unhappy customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fast Paced, Great Co-Workers.
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee), Daleville, VAApril 28, 2014
Pros: great benefits, amazing co-workers, supportive team leads and supervisors, supportive of continuing education.
Cons: long hours, stressful and irate customers.
The security this job offered was amazing as far as benefits, I loved my co-workers and my supervisors and team leads where very understanding and supportive. They had regular scheduled event days or holiday celebrations to help reduce the stress of the phone calls. Very supportive in you continuing your education, as well. If I had not broken my ankle – more... I would still be employed there I absolutely adored the job. You were always giving chances to advance based on your work history, which training and education was always available to better your career. The longer you were employed the quicker your hours would change from night shift to day shift, but you were allowed two 15 min breaks and an hour or 30 minute lunch, your choice of the lunch break. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing people/compensation
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee), Daleville, VAApril 24, 2014
Best coworkers/managenemt out of anywhere I've ever worked. Awesome pay/benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good bonus but no security
Assistant Sales Leader (Former Employee), HamptonApril 4, 2014
Pros: bonus
Cons: security
The bonus was good especially during the holiday months. Stores close down without warning. There are not too many employees that has been with the company for a long time. It is a job not a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a great place and jobs
Sales Representative/Customer Service (Current Employee), Daleville, VAJanuary 14, 2014
great people bosses co workers

wonderful place to work at and people come in are wonderful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Acceptable work enviroment
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Daleville, VADecember 4, 2013
Provide great training and good support to do your job. Friendly environment, Hardest part of my job is dealing with difficult customers. However with a little patients calls go smooth,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Wireless Admin Coordinator (Current Employee), Waynesboro, VAOctober 4, 2013
Pros: benefits and people
Easy hiring process. Great beneifits, and normal working hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A calm environment
Sales Representative (Current Employee), Hampton, VAJuly 2, 2013
Pros: great time for lunch, benefits are great and my phone bill is 15$
Cons: i think i should be getting paid a little more than i am, seeing my military background and it skills.
There is no typical day at work when you work for Ntelos.
Ive learned to never expect the same thing and I can not become Complacent. My management is amazing and i couldnt ask for anyone better. My co-workers are all very hardworking and fun to with. There is no hard part of a job for me, I can accomplish anything set in front of me. the most enjoyable – more... part of work is watching a quest leave happy with a smile on there face. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and constantly changing atmosphere
Customer Care Representative (Former Employee), Daleville, VAJune 26, 2013
Pros: contests for free lunches etc.
Cons: management hard to please
A good place to work while getting a degree or searching for a long term career. Good co-workers and okay work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
part time is way to go
Retail Sales (Current Employee), RoanokeJune 23, 2013
Pros: some really good people.
Cons: lopsided quotas
Easy job and if you are willing to put in the work, you can do well.
Down side is that the company seems to value part timers more than full timers; part timers have always had better opportunity to make higher commissions. Used to be that part time worked same hours but quotas were 25% lower, now part timers work about 8 hrs less but have to sell only – more... half. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun making money. not so much fun working with other employees
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Bedford, VAJune 17, 2013
selling phones
giving great customer service
management is not very good
co-workers compete to run at customers
most enjoyable part was making big paychecks
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee), Waynesboro, VAJune 7, 2013
Pros: you get an hour lunch
Cons: you get crapped on by upper management
The benefits are overpriced and lacking. They expect you to work your fingers to the bone, but don't want you working a minute over 40 to get everything done correctly. The healthcare is through Anthem, but the policy is high priced and you still have to pay an insane amount out of pocket. Certain people in HR are terrible. They do not know what they – more... are doing, and have cause many people many tears from their lack of competency. The managers use their employees to set up other employees just to get them fired, and then once they are through with them they find a way to lie and get that other employee fired. HONESTY is not the best policy at this company. They claim they are making strides to move the company forward in the right direction, but they are not up to the 4G standards set by the leading competitors. In their big HOORAH Go Ntelos Meetings at the Zeus Theatres they discuss how they are Number One with customers, when a person with any computer skills can go online and look up company ratings online. As much as Ntelos bad-mouths Verizon it still appears that Ntelos is the underdog and not making the strides to keep up with the big dogs or keep the customer's they have. They had one plan that was $99.99 for smartphone family plan for two lines and then additional lines were $39.99 extra. Then they got rid of this plan for not even a month, only to bring it back at a higher cost. Yea that is business, but this company doesn't care who they squash to try and compensate for their lack of improvements. They say they stand for Integrity...but they lack that greatly. I was happier when I was a temp working through Adecco for this company, than when I was working for Ntelos itself. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice People, Fun Work Enviorment, Great Compensation
Wireless Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAMay 27, 2013
Pros: great pay, good people
Cons: poor customer base, bad location
My typical day would consist of counting inventory, greeting customers, plenty of smiles, and learning all about phones. I learned how to treat the customer first, but not sacrifice the integrity of your employer. My management was the best! I want to give a shout out to Mrs. King and the whole Vision Mobile team for a strong year! My co-workers were – more... also awesome and we worked great together. The hardest part of the job was rejection. You could have the best sales pitch ever but if the customer is just headstrong, be prepared for rejection. The most enjoyable part of the job was right fitting the customer into the phone of their dreams and making sure they left with everything they wanted down to the smallest details. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Device Engineer (Current Employee), Richmond, VAMay 17, 2013
Developed and Executed lab and field test plans related to UEs according to company CDMA/LTE requirements. Investigation, troubleshooting and resolution of UE issues (bug documentation and tracking, log capture and analysis, implementation of fix and regression testing. Contributed to the development and evolution of testing methodologies – execution, – more... verification/validation, and reporting. Collaborate effectively with peers across the multi- site organization to solve complex pre and post launch problems spanning their respective areas and interface with the OEM to resolve all issues in a timely and effective manner. Created UE software test scripts for as well as RF scripts. Gathered and analyzed data on device performance – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, exciting work environment
Director (Current Employee), Waynesboro, VAMay 7, 2013
Pros: company size, wireless industry, b2c
Typical day includes working with multiple business units on challenging projects to help customers, create new solutions and define opportunities to grow the business. Working in the wireless industry is a bonus if you are interested in mobile phones and technology in general. Fun, supportive work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing is Ever Good Enough
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee), Waynesboro, VAMay 6, 2013
Pros: cellphone bill was covered, it was a pay check, and the corporate heads were great people!
Cons: integrity fell short on some of the managers, team leads, and hr people. also, pay rate too low, insurance too high, work to hour to person ratio is off.
There are certain people at this company that really shouldn't be there. One in particular would will actually interrupt you, talk over you, and yell at you that you are wrong, but then turn around and say that you were argumentative. He says he wants to help, but really he means he wants to help you out the door. They say they don't want excessive – more... overtime, but when you stop getting so much overtime, they want to know why the amount of work has gone down and they still accuse you of getting excessive overtime.

Don't get me wrong, I loved working with some of the people in the corporate office, as there were many that did live up to the motto Integrity and Loyalty. But a few select people made you wish they would just call out every day of work. Their constant complaining about aspects of their job, their constant pushing things off on you so they wouldn't have to do it, and their constant negativity just brought everyone down.

When I was a temp working for this company, I busted my butt so they wouldn't have too. Once I got hired on they waited until the day before my benefits started and paid time off that I had earned started before they fired me. In addition the problems you have to put up with, the cattiness of some of the women, the pay isn't that much more than what you would make as a temp working for this company. When I went from Temp to Full-Time I made a quarter raise...a no I don't mean 1/4 more than what I was making before I mean .25 cents more. The benefits are higher priced than what I paid for better insurance plan through Anthem, but with a different company. The only plus side was the ability to have my phone pretty much paid for, only have to pay taxes and insurance.

I was told it was a blessing in disguise that I am no longer with this company and to be honest, I consider this a blessing that I don't have to work with those people anymore. Ntelos is a great company, but if they want to stay in the game there are some changes they need to consider making in order to improve.
1) Do away with people who are not happy with their jobs to the point they are making lies to push competition out the door.
2) Upgrade your insurance package to a better for your employees.
3) Upgrade your Towers...everything is 4G now. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace.
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Lynchburg, VAMay 5, 2013
It was a well established company with great people in management. I enjoyed working with this company and the pay was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviorment
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Covington, VAApril 29, 2013
Everybody was very nice and willing to teach you things, very productive company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Great Place to Work
Corporate Manager (Current Employee), Waynesboro, VAApril 23, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits, caring work enviroment, and the tools to learn and grow with the company
Cons: long work hours
While the work is fast-paced and demanding, it is a great enviroment for someone to learn and grow within an organization. Every company is going to want you to do more with less these days and the beauty of Ntelos is that you are actually given the tools to accomplish that goal and not expected to do it without any help.

I have been increasingly impressed – more... with how well the company treats its employees. There is a level of fairness that I have not seen from other companies where I worked.

Overall, I am very happy to be a part of the Ntelos team! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Analyst (Current Employee), Waynesboro, VAApril 23, 2013
Great place to grow and learn with wonderful people to help you.

About nTelos Inc.

nTelos Wireless is a leading provider of wireless communications services to consumers and businesses in select areas of Virginia, – Read more