Nucor Employee Reviews in United States

Found 160 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Weigh Scale Operator (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJuly 9, 2016
great company, learned a lot about the steel industry, met great people, interacted with many departments daily, traineed all new hires for scale house, implemented training manual they use today
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great experience working with the helpful engineers to model the furnace.
Senior Design, Purdue University (Former Employee) –  Crawfordsville, INJune 23, 2016
Our team worked off site and on the campus of Purdue University mostly. We were in touch with the staff to make sure we were on track.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  Grapeland, TXJune 23, 2016
I have the chance to work with a very good and nice people, I was always introduced to the company in a professional matter and I did my best to complete projects ahead of schedule, and all my concerns met with friendly atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Employee (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 22, 2016
Nucor is a great company to work for and full of great coworkers. No complaints at all can be said. Super fun and relaxed environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bow down to the all mighty nucor
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Portland, TNJune 7, 2016
If you like working your life away this is the place for you one day off a week you think you are making good money but really it's just all the hours you work during busy season but you need to work the long hours to save all your money for the months that you only work 20 hours a week production pay is based on tons out the door walking into the shop is like going back in time everything is way out dated so working efficiently is out of the question their solution for everything is just more labor and more hours they don't believe in working smarter not harder. But if you have no life family or friends and want to drink the corporate kool aid and believe all the bs they feed you this is the place for you but if you have a brain and can think for yourself stay away
Pros
Free water and gatoraid when its hot
Cons
Clueless upper managment only one personal day a year
Was this review helpful?Yes9No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK-ish.
Steel Detailer (Current Employee) –  Terrell, TXMay 24, 2016
The culture is eroding. I can tell even though I have only been here 5 years. Management is becoming more and more like other companies as the hiring practices and culture erodes.

Good opportunities to learn. You can advance if you do well. It is possible to get 'locked in' from advancing due to sitting in one position too long (you are considered too valuable to move).
Pros
No layoffs, consistent pay.
Cons
no work/life balance, culture is eroding, pay increase caps that limit raises, management is worsening.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety process is driven by the Team Members on the floor
Safety Director (Former Employee) –  Auburn, NYMay 16, 2016
Enjoyed working with the Nucor team. Safety is their number one goal but some Manangers are very slow to accept new ideas
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
career job
operator (Former Employee) –  PennsylvaniaApril 12, 2016
this is the kind of job you want. the benefits are good, the pay is great, can be long hours but at the end of the week its worth it.
Pros
pay safety
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company no advancement opportunity
Quality Assurance Technician (Current Employee) –  Plymouth, UTApril 11, 2016
Great company but I feel like just a number. Feel like we have to walk on egg shells and there is no trust.
It is harder for an older person to compete with young men half their age.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good or honest company to work for
Switchboard Operator (Current Employee) –  Washington, DCMarch 29, 2016
The company use to be a great company but has went downhill. The upper management isn't trustworthy and the company is all over the place. I wouldn't recommend working for this company.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional environment, but not stuffy.
Maintenance Drafting Intern (Former Employee) –  Plymouth, UTMarch 21, 2016
Safety is very important here, every week there is a safety meeting and everyone looks out for each other. Each person has their own work and stays pretty busy. The people I worked with were patient with me and helped me to learn procedures and skills for the job. Management was supportive. Personal accountability is the main thing here.
The hardest part was sitting at a desk for long periods of time. I was able to get up every once in a while and stretch my legs with a short walk or jumping jacks.
The most enjoyable part was being able to focus on my work and stay busy. Every day was an exercise that built my skills and knowledge.
Pros
Safe environment in spite of the dangerous industry.
Cons
The position I filled was only temporary, and not very close to where I live.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Relaxed
IT INTERN (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, NEFebruary 17, 2016
Interning there was great I was able to learn a lot over my summer and was able to bond with the I.T. Team and the other Interns.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Raw Materials Procurement Clerk (Former Employee) –  Darlington, SCFebruary 12, 2016
Work hard long hours (plan about 60 hours a week). Very hard lifestyle if have young children. However have great benefits.
Safety driven!!!
Great place to work if you can commit to the hours
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace With Great Benefits
Pipefitter (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ALFebruary 8, 2016
Great Job Learned A lot Of New Things. Great Co-Workers Management Is Consistent ..the hard part was the pipe woke but some times it was easy but I got the hang of of the the job in it worked out just fin.the most enjoyable part was the people im am a good peoples person I make friends easy in im always in a good mood
Pros
Numerous Hours
Cons
N/A
Was this review helpful?Yes10No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid forward thinking company that will continue sustainable growth for years to come.
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Kankakee, ILFebruary 7, 2016
Nucor overall has a great culture that promotes a bottom up management style. Giving the opportunity to individuals at all levels to make decisions and improvements to better the company. Nucor has taught me how to be an effective leader. You have the ultimate freedom but this freedom comes a great amount of responsibility.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive work place
3-D Drafter/CAD Drafter (Former Employee) –  Swansea, SCFebruary 2, 2016
sit in my cubicle, draw/draft building plans
I learned a lot about AutoCAD, Tekla, and just the whole process from rough to final drawings.
My co-workers were very helpful, involved people.
Hardest part of the job was understanding fully the job at hand.
Pros
hours, kind of work
Cons
management, felt like I was isolated
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very depressing environment
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Kankakee, ILFebruary 1, 2016
Nucor boasts of a culture where the employees are empowered to make decisions. It couldn't be further from the truth. Kankakee Management has a long way to go.
Pros
The benefits of a fortune 500 company
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Network Engineer
PC/Network Administrator/Technician (Former Employee) –  La Crosse, VAJanuary 10, 2016
Was the sole IT employee for a steel building manufacturing plant -- I was the Helpdesk, Network administrator, phone administrator, etc. -- I took care of everything technical in the plant from employee provided cell phones to the network servers
Was this review helpful?Yes4No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship was not what was advertised
Mechanical Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  South CarolinaJanuary 2, 2016
Going into this internship I was under the impression I would be challenged. Over the course of the summer I was there, I had done more very little actual engineering work but instead worked right along side the maintenance crew on the line. This was not bad, however its as not what was advertised to me at my career fair.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Huger, SCDecember 14, 2015
its a work place, very loud and dirty. job consisted of installing hvac units and answering service calls. did trouble shooting on units and maintained different equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 171 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8