Find companies:
Nucor
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
21 reviews

Nucor Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work for the hardend worker
Welder/Fitter (Former Employee), Brigham City, UTOctober 16, 2014
Pros: great wages, benifeits, retirement, people, management, almost everything.
Cons: 8 hours strait through (a 10 and 20 minute break), rotating shifts, slow advancement
The work will destroy your body if you let it. The most important thing is to remember its all worth it. The compensation is beyond what is available for any other type of work of its caliber, period.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here if you can help it!
Painter (Former Employee), Portland TnSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: none!
Cons: all of them!
Job started out good. Then we went to very short and almost no hrs per week. Work schedule is always shady, meaning the management will lie to your face about the actual hrs you will be working that week. Management team was very incompitant from the GM all the way down to my lead man. Some of my co-workers were good friends, others would stab you in – more... the back in a heartbeat just to make themselves look better. It would be a great place to work if they would get rid of the buddy system in management and actually put people in charge who knew how to run a business! The only reason I gave one star for an overall rating is because I had to! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Welder (Former Employee), Florence, SCSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: fre lunch good ins
Cons: very hot job
hard work but paid well wasn't for from home most all people there was good to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good pay isn't worth it.
Crane Operator/ Shipping Utility (Former Employee), Kankakee, IllinoisJuly 14, 2014
Pros: pay, schedule.
Cons: management discriminates and lies.
The work is good and compensation is best, but money isn't everything. There are meetings on top of meetings. The only way to advance is to be a boot licking, yes man, that is less intelligent than those doing the promoting in order to make them look good. Management has no integrity. After years of proving I was the best in my field, even setting an – more... unofficial production record, they were only too happy to let me leave. After bidding to relocate and being told I was getting that job. One person who gave me a great endorsement, upon getting contacted for my release date, started to bash me and lied. They took the offer back. Even stated in writing it was medical history as to why they wouldnt take me. The persn that bashed me was demoted. After seeing ex-coworkers after I quit I heard management was telling lies about what happened. I contacted lawyers and they said even though I would win the case, it wouldn't be worth it in the long run. I recently started working for another company and found out Nucor was a part owner. I quit there almost immediately. I would stay as far away from Nucor as possible. – less

August 2, 2014

The person I mentioned as being demoted, "retired" exactly 1 years after being demoted.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Melt Shop/Coal Finishing/Shipping and Recieving (Former Employee), Timmonsville, SCMarch 3, 2014
Pros: good pay and very safe with friendly enviroment to work in
Cons: pay for lunch
Stay busy and try to make the day go by, and do as i was told ny my supervisor
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pretty laid back place to work.
Senior Draftsman (Current Employee), Swansea, SCFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: on site medical once a week
Cons: good 'ol boy system
I work with a great bunch of folks who strive daily to give the customer what they pay for in a timely manner. Job can be very demanding mentally but that makes for a short day keeping so involved in your work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible work environment. They treat their employees amazing.
Payroll/HR Internship (Former Employee), Plymouth, UTFebruary 8, 2014
Incredible work environment. They treat their employees amazing. Great pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A goal-oriented company with high expectation for teammates
Sales/Marketing Administrator (Current Employee), Starkville, MississippiJanuary 18, 2014
This is a high-paced environment where work is self-motivated and independent among the team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nucor itself is a strong diversified company
Estimator (Current Employee), Alpharetta, GADecember 13, 2013
Pros: large company with solid future
Cons: small offices have some issues that needs to be addressed.
Small offices have issues that need to be addressed. Training of new employee should be done by mature competent staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IMS at Nucor
Equipment Mechanic (Former Employee), Tuscaloosa, ALOctober 30, 2013
Pros: maintnance was able to work when the plant was not opperating.
Cons: reliable equipment, outdated equipment
I learned how the company worked and what they were about and the manufacturing of steel. My co-workers and managers were easy to get along with. The hardest part of the job was repairing equipment in the mud, up to your knees, when it rained. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning how to work on all the different types of equipment that they – more... have. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stable company
Product Manager (Current Employee), Alpharetta, GAOctober 24, 2013
Pros: stable company
Cons: lots of travel
The hardest part of the job is to get other divisions to work efficiently with each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Discoveries
Metallurgical Lab Technician (Former Employee), ARJune 17, 2013
Working in the Steel Industry was vastly different from my upbringing on the farm. It provided a new prospective in life as well as learning how steel was made and how the numerous ingredient mixtures effected how malleable the material may become
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.Net Developer
Net Developer (Current Employee), Blytheville, ARJune 12, 2013
• Responsible for the Design, Development and Delivery of all the modules.
• Design and develop the GUI, Business Logic Layer and Data Access Layer.
• Developed Stored Procedures and functions in PL\SQL and communicated using WCF services which use ADO .NET for communication with database.
• Involved in development and usage of user controls as views – more... for different modules.
• Worked on business components and business objects.
• Implemented the business logic in the middle tier using C#.
• Developed UI using WPF Controls and Telerik RAD UI Controls.
• Used Command objects for validation and communication with UI.
• Improved the performance of old applications using App fabric Cache.
• Analyzed and fixed defects.
• Involved in developing new batch jobs using VB.
• Supported Production jobs which run using OpCon scheduler.
• Visual Source Safe has been used for all the source code maintenance.
• Involved in creating Proof of Concept application for migrating mainframe applications to .NET with centralized business logic layer using Windows Workflow Foundation.
• Web pages in the web sites were secured using Site Minder which handles Single sign-on.
• Communications between different domains of same counties are done in SAML to achieve Single Sign-on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dirty, dangerous job with good compensation
Melt Shop Mechanic (Former Employee), ARFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: good compensation
Cons: dirty, dangerous, no breaks, extreme heat
Weld water leaks in 3000 deg. steel furnaces, fight carbon leaks, alloy belt problems, hydraulics problems, etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love this job
Welder Helper (Current Employee), Memphis, TNJanuary 11, 2013
Pros: great job
Cons: not that safe also not stable
love the job, really like what i did and learn also like the fack that we traveled just wished it was stable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Team leader (Former Employee), Crawfordsville, INOctober 18, 2012
Pros: paid lunch good people
Cons: dirty job but someone has to do it
Working for Command Labor. We had to wear tie vest suits to keep from getting our clothes dirty. We pressure washed equipment inside the Nucor mill and used a suck pump truck to suck all water and debris up that had to be hardest dragging the hose from truck to inside plant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent company
plc tech (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 22, 2012
Pros: great pay, good benefits, good management
Cons: hours
Great co to work for, good pay, good benefits and some of the highest motivated employees I have ever worked with. The only down side I had with this company was the hours, it was 12 hour days rotating days to nights every week sometimes 5 to 6 days a week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Determined, productive
Team leader (Former Employee), Crawfordsville, INMay 2, 2012
Pros: paid lunch good people
Show up 15 mins early to communicate with the shift before me. To get any information that would help the shift that I am to be the most productive day. I am very hardworking, honest, quick learner, trustworthy. I work well alone or with others. Hardest part of the day is getting started and getting things in order to get it planned out. Most enjoyable – more... the people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, largest steel producer in USA
District Sales Manager (Current Employee), Boardman, OHApril 30, 2012
Pros: great culture, very innovative company, very secure job
During a typical day at work I am responsible for the management of the Cleveland, OH, Columbus, OH, and Pittsburgh, PA sales markets. I manage 8 employees within our office including sales and engineering personnel. First and foremost it is my responsibility to promote safety on and off the job for all of our employees.I am also responsible for establishing, – more... tracking, and meeting sales projections, developing pricing strategies, coaching teammates, travelling the sales markets with sales representatives, mentoring employees with their career development initiatives, in addition to many other daily tasks. We are a high volume office and it is a crucial part of my job to lead by example and create a positive, energetic environment. We place a very strong emphasis on building and developing strong, durable, and loyal relationships with our customers and internal employees. This in addition to mentoring and coaching my employees are the things I enjoy most of my current role. During the last 12 years of my employment with this company I have learned countless things especially with how to manage employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One great company where everyone is comfortable
Maintenance Engineer (Former Employee), Blytheville, ARApril 18, 2012
Pros: great people, employee benefits, wage increase
Cons: location was in ar.
Nucor is full of employees who take pride in results. Nucor is the nation's leading recyclers of Steel. The ouput(end product) determines pay. While interning in the summer of 2010 I worked as a Power Engineer for the Melt-shop.A typical day at work went as follows: Meeting in the morning, employees are given task, and then everyone goes home. I enjoy – more... the people because they didn't 't care about the politics in the work field, they are only worried about results. – less

About Nucor

Nucor takes a minimillist approach to succeeding in the steel industry. At its various minimills, Nucor produces hot- and cold-rolled – Read more

Nucor Photos