Find companies:
NuStar Energy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

NuStar Energy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Accountant (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 6, 2014
It is a great company to work for
Job Security is good with no lay offs, but advancement is difficult.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with great management
Facility Operator (Former Employee), Cotulla, TXJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: growing within the company
Cons: have to deal with weather
Very inventful day at work, with a learning around every corner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to Work For!
Advanced Leak Detection Simulations Intern (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: good compensation, great benefits, very professional, great people
Did an internship here and really enjoyed the work culture!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall NuStar Energy would currently merit 3 1/2 stars out of 5
Health & Safety Specialist (Current Employee), Corpus Christi, TXOctober 16, 2013
NuStar is still fairly new to the industry. The company's core values come from the top leadership team. The safety of employees is the top priority and discussed on a daily basis.

NuStar believes in giving back to the community from Coast to Coast. Volunteerism, United Way and other charities / event are part of the every day business.

Compensations – more... and Benefits are some of the best in the industry.

The company does seem to be struggling a bit with its sense of direction for the future. There are some new faces on the upper management team while some have retired or moved on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace. Culture for advancement
Operator (Current Employee), Texas City, Tx.October 3, 2013
Pros: great benefits, positive management culture, safety first
Cons: union leadership at this terminal is divisive and overly critical
Great Company, solid and positive goals even in this shaky economy. very physical job in all kinds of weather. supportive management group even with the hard line union workers that resist change. company places safety first as the employees are the number one asset.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
e
Net Developer (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXSeptember 12, 2013
I get to work between 7:50 and 8:00 ,I go to my desk and check my notes that I left from yesterday .I get lunch at 11:30 to 12:30 with my co-worker. Lots of times I check my project with my manager during 1:00 to 2:00 . I get home between 5:00 and 6:00.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Oriented company to work for.
Information Systems Specialist (Current Employee), Stockton, CAAugust 26, 2013
Pros: gret pay and benefits. a family type atmosphere. support for communities
Cons: hard to advance in the information services department
I perform a variety of tasks during a typical day to inlude imaging computers, monitoring network systems, installing printers, resetting user passwords, etc...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lab manager
Manager Scheduling & Logistics (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJuly 29, 2013
Oversaw lab functions including setting budgets and refinery product quality control.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work place
Associate Risk Contract Administrator (Contract) (Current Employee), San Antonio, TexasJuly 10, 2013
Pros: nice, new corporate office & on site cafe
Cons: the position was not temp to hire
Overall it has been a positive work experience, a lot has been learned, most people were friendly and helpful when it came to learning the job,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to build a career
Terminal Operator (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INJune 12, 2013
Steady work. Good management. Great opportunity. It's the type of place where you can build a career for the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to work for in terms of luxury
Corporate Service Coordinator (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMay 14, 2013
Pros: everything, great place to work for a career with great people.
Cons: company outsourced to a lot of temps
Was a temp for the Corporate Service department and the amenities were amazing! Everyone there was very helpful and polite, excessively professional and overall very respectful. This is a dream job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nustar Energy is a great company with great benefits.
Terminal Operator Supervisor (Current Employee), Piney Point, MDMay 3, 2013
Pros: pay and healthcare
Cons: shift work
I have nothing bad to say about a superb company. It is shift work which takes its toll on body and family but they compensate well. I would recommend Nustar Energy to anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Health, Safety, & Environmental Intern (Former Employee), San Antonio, TexasMarch 6, 2013
Pros: hour lunches, gym membership
Cons: corporate dress
Work from 8am-5pm with a 1 hour lunch break give or take depending on the reason. Daily activities included working on my regulatory based projects and helping my boss revise emergency plans for facilities. Everyone was very accommodating and supportive.

March 22, 2013

How long was your internship and were you able to stay with the company when your internship was over?

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Terminal Operator, Maintenance (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FlJuly 20, 2012
Pros: good organization
Cons: nothing to mention
I like what I did at the terminal and everyday was an learning experience. I really thought that the new management was greatly needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Assignment
Executive assistant (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXJuly 5, 2012
Pros: compensation and morale
Cons: politics
Great environment to work. Extremely professional and well educated people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding 24/7 operation.
SR. Area Terminal Manager (Former Employee), Baltimore, MDApril 14, 2012
Pros: great company with great benefit options.
Cons: extremely long hours.
24/7 bulk storage terminal operation with operations, personnel, EHS, and customer service responsibilities. Learned budget process and forcasting of maintenance/capital projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Operator (Current Employee), ENGJuly 1, 2014
Great place to work with great people. Been given lots of training and help to develop my skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NuStar
Operator at NuStar Energy (Former Employee), Point Tupper, NSMarch 20, 2013
Pros: high wages, steady schedule
Cons: long hours
a typical day at work at Nustar would be gauging oil holding tanks and connecting or disconnecting ships to loading arms. The management were excellent, I learned a lot about oil and the holding facilities. my coworkers were great and very helpful. the hardest part of the job was the long hours but the most enjoyable part was the wages and schedule

NuStar Energy Photos