Find companies:
NV Energy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
23 reviews

NV Energy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent salary and benefits
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJuly 9, 2014
Pros: good wages and healthcare
Cons: some confusion as to policy
Worked with wonderful people. Difficult spending all time in small cubicle. Most difficult part of job was the overtime hours and dealing with irate customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive Salary/Benefits - Poor Management
Programmer III(Senior Software Developer) (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJuly 3, 2014
Pros: salary
Cons: management
This company likes to outsource it's work to India regardless of the fact that nothing gets accomplished in terms of IT related tasks when you do this. They do not value experience at all and they are extremely top heavy. About a dozen VPs and over 50 executives(not including the directors-250k+/yr that report to the executives) for company with 2000 – more... employees is bit excessive. The execs keep promoting each other and then they cut the lower wage positions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor work life balance & company morale
Analyst (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVApril 25, 2014
- long hours and hard work not compensated for or advanced
- work/life balance not aligned
- poor management
- opportunity for learning great; however as noted above hard work was not appreciated & no career advancement or planning was offered by management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Fun place
Technical Lead(Maximo/Java) (Current Employee), Las VegasMarch 16, 2014
• Technical lead for Upgrade, support & enhancement related activities, Interacting with Business
• Created the Integration Requirement Specification document from Business requirement document.
• Java MBO Customization & Screen level customization
• Providing extensively support on Production system
• Takes care of Data Migration activities.
• Actuate/Birt – more... Report Modification.
• Extensive use of SQL to write the complex queries & stored procedures
• Weekly status update meetings with business clients & offshore development teams
• Involved in code review and ensuring the timely resolution of the same
• Identifying the best practices and making sure that they are implemented in the project
• Lead the team of 8 members at onsite/off-shore – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Drafting Technician (Former Employee), Reno, NVJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: a lot of hours, very good pay
Cons: boring and repetative
I would go in and look at pictures and compare them to what is in the computer. I would then report any discrepancies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
employer always showed their appreciation of a job well done
o Drafter II, Reid Gardener Power Plant (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 14, 2014
Started out as a drafter and was promoted up words to Utility Coordinator. After the first reorganization I was moved to a Utility Designer. After the second reorganization I was moved to a designer in the Asset Management department. I learned a lot about the Utility Business. Interacting with customers, engineers, internal customers.
Everyone I worked – more... with were very helpful and educational. I learned a lot from my co-workers. The hardest part of the job was trying to get everything coordinated with the internal customer to get the power delivered to the customer. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to look at something that you designed, created. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVJanuary 7, 2014
Pros: fitness center
Cons: mandatory ot, limited work shift selections
Co-workers , Management relationships , showed employee appreciation with rewards, breakfast , lunches, goodies, prizes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very wide range of responsibilities with limitless skills to learn and perfect.
Journeyman Lineman (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVDecember 14, 2013
working for nv energy was very beneficial for my career. overall a pleasant work environment with advancement opportunities available. as a lineman you had exposure to all aspects of the utility industry and its functions. you were always learning and being challenged so it definitely made for an interesting day at work for the majority of days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working
Feb' 11Business Objects developer/Analyst (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVDecember 3, 2013
it was good working with the company.Interacted with Risk Managers and analysts for gathering requirements.Involved in migration from existing Business Objects XI and Crystal XI to Business Objects XI R2/Crytal Reports XI R2.Interacted with Risk Managers and analysts for gathering requirements.Provided design document (RDD) and Report standards document – more... for report development.Designed Universes and used Linked universes concept.Developed Customized reports (Master Detail/Drill Down/Chart reports) as per business usage using Business Objects, Webi and Crystal reports.Created Adhoc and Canned reports using Business Objects, Webi and Crystal reports.Published reports to different repositories based on their origin of development.Controlled security for Folders/Users/Universe/Reports (CMC).Set up scheduling of reports based on data loads.Involved in debugging stored procedures used for reporting purposes in PL/SQL, created VB apps and add-ins for customizing Business Objects along with creating universes with dynamic joins to generate master detailed reports.Was responsible for Running Daily and weekly production reports.Attended weekly change review meetings for any production changes.Was primary person for trouble shooting tickets assigned to Business Objects team.

Environment: Business Objects XI R2/XI R1, Crystal Reports XI R2/R1, Web I, Oracle 9i, PL/SQL, Informatica 7.1, UNIX (AIX/Solaris) and Windows 2003 Server – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent and diverse company to work for.
Call Center & Rates & Regulatory Coordinator (Former Employee), Reno, NVNovember 20, 2013
Pros: a very lucrative and stable company to have a career with.
Cons: company travel.
The only reason I was not able to make a career out of NV Energy, was because I have a son, where at the time was 12 years old. This position required frequent travel to Las Vegas for rate hearings. My spouse's employer also required a great amount of travel, resulting in personal home-conflict. Due to those circumstances, the family made a decision – more... for me to resign from NV Energy to stay home to care for my son. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
electrician/instrumentation specialist (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVNovember 10, 2013
Pros: great pay and benefits.
Cons: training tradesman to also perform operation duties. poor arc flash procedures.
Challenging place to work. Completed a recent 5-month outage removed rotors for CT's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Student Intern (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVSeptember 13, 2013
Pros: great policies, work environment, opportunity
Cons: competitive environment for people who want to move up
Really great company to work for. There is a lot to learn about each aspect of the company. Work environment is pretty relaxed as long as the necessary work to be done is complete. Most of the co-workers are outgoing and easy to get along with. Has great policies and ensures its employees are well trained. Puts an emphasis on safety of its employees. – more... There are opportunities to move up in the company but it is very competitive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Customer Service Representative/ (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVAugust 20, 2013
Busy workday, good leader Loved working there

Hardest part of job was coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Work Experience at NV Energy
MicroStrategy Architect (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVAugust 11, 2013
Pros: work environment was very friendly and accommodating.
I worked for NVEnergy through Wipro Limited. I was the onsite team lead from Wipro.

When i first joined the company i had no experience in Energy and Utility domain. But the NV Energy team has helped me a lot to understand the business, which is very valuable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CSR
CSR/CLERICAL REP (Former Employee), Reno, NVJuly 11, 2013
ANSWERED MULTI-LINE CUSTOMER SERVICE CALLS
AVG DAILY CALL INTAKE 60-100 CALLS
WROTE WORK ORDERS FOR METER READERS, AND ALL OTHER FIRLD TECHS
SCHEDULED BOTH TURN ON AND TURN OFFS
MADE PAYMENT ARRANGMENTS
USED UP TO 7 DIFFERENT SCREENS IE; PROGRAMS AT ONCE BY TAB
WORKED NUMEROUS OVER-TIME SHIFTS DURING WINTER MONTHS TO ASSIST IN POWER OUTAGE AWARNESS
EFFICIENT – more... IN FIRST CALL RESOLUTION STRATEGIES – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Internship
Intern (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVMay 25, 2013
Learned a lot, good people to work with. Just not the kind of work that I was interested in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mondays most stressful day
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Reno, NVOctober 19, 2012
Pros: co workers
answering calls 40 hrs shifts emeregency staff avaivable and caferia on site
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My daily day
Customer Service (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVOctober 6, 2012
My typical day at my current job is answering call after call of up set customers ,because of there power bills are too high, assist them in payment arrangements, billing issues, internet issues,commercial accounts,places move in and move out orders for there electic servie.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and efficient work place
Lead Support Services (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 27, 2012
Pros: hour lunch
I direct, lead, assist, and work with other departmental personnel to ensure the efficient operation of related activities. Also I develop schedules, direct work assignments, prepare job related reports, complete other administrative duties, function in a customer or field capacity, and perform other work as needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away.
Blue collar (Current Employee), NVApril 12, 2012
Pros: since the takeover there are no pros
Cons: no job security, benefit reductions, retirement reductions, goal to become mediocre company
CEO stated he only wants people to work here for 7 years then gtfo!

CEO makes over $7 million/year yet wants all employees to earn no more than median of all US utilities (union + non-union).
The company's goal is to make the CEO the highest paid ceo in Nevada and the highest paid ceo in the industry at all costs.

Most upper management came from FPL, – more... that alone should keep you away.

Retirement was one of the best in utility industry now it's below median. It is a cash balance plan, but the plan sucks.

All trucks are gps tracked.

Worse of all the union is for and by and controlled by the clerks who could get a 50% reduction in pay and still make more than anyone else in NV doing similar jobs. There aren't enough Trades people to counter the clerks votes who are giving things up left & right. – less

About NV Energy

As Nevada's dominant electric utility, NV Energy (formerly Sierra Pacific Resources) keeps casinos powered 24 hours a day. Subsidiaries – Read more