Find companies:
Nyack Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Nyack Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many nice employees
Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Nyack, NYJune 8, 2014
Pros: close to home
Cons: everything else
Very negative workplace. Lots of nepotism. Very poor treatment of nurses. Poor staffing, poor communication. Management is lousy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caregiver
PCA (nurse assistant) (Former Employee), Nyack, NYMay 6, 2014
Attending to patients needs.
I learned many things from my charges. I had no problems with my co-workers. They were all angels. The hardest part of the job for me was trying to lift someone into a chair. The rewarding part of the job was when my patients would compliment me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
small community hospital
Director of Nursing (Current Employee), Nyack, NYApril 10, 2014
Pros: excellent work enviroment for coaching and mentoring professional staff., cno very pro active with professional development, clinical outcomes and staff satisfaction.
Cons: small community hospital, struggling with fiances and demands to meet patient care needs.
Hired as a consultant to prepare for successful Joint Comission visit in June 2013.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working environment
Food Host (Current Employee), Nyack, NYMarch 4, 2014
Pros: customer service experience
Cons: not enough growth withing the company
Great place with friendly people, great working atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Local Hospital
SUNY Cortland Fieldwork Experience (Former Employee), Nyack, NYFebruary 20, 2014
Small hospital with a lot of room to move up in the ranks and grow professionally as an nurse.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
ICCU, ECU, telemetry, Full time staff nurse (Current Employee), Nyack, NYJanuary 30, 2014
The most enjoyable part of my job is helping my community. My co-workers are team oriented.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best shift is the night shift over all shifts
Patient Transporter (Current Employee), nyack new yorkJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: evrerything about the faciltiy is a con
Dramatic, no opportunity. if you want to work at a hospital just to say that you do ; well Nyack hospital is the place for that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and rewarding workplace
Certified Central Sterile Technician (Current Employee), Nyack, NYNovember 22, 2013
Pros: excellent benefits, family oriented hospital
A typical work day may vary depending on the number of surgeries, I have obtained my skill set by on the job training, I have learned patients safety comes first when pro forming my job duties, and you need great communicative skills to be productive and efficient. My co-workers are like my family, we all work well as a team. The most enjoyable part – more... of the job is when management thanks staff for there hard work and dedication. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1:1
Patient Safety Attendant (Current Employee), Nyack, NYOctober 17, 2013
I thoroughly enjoy the patients I interact with on a daily basis- Being able to make them smile on the worst day of their life is truely rewarding!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stepping stone can not stay for the long hall
Supervision (Former Employee), Nyack, NYOctober 2, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Cons: horrible management
NO Communication at all between upper management and lower management and the staff.

Management is extremely clicky and if you do not fit in to that click or brown nose they will not except you and turn the cold shoulder to you. Extremely unprofessional, the worse is they are all smiling to your face but behind your back watch out.

They lie and do – more... things to better there outcomes rather than thinking of the big picture – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's like anywhere else
Patient Access Coordinator (Current Employee), Nyack, NYSeptember 28, 2013
Pros: great for resume
Cons: poor management
They talk a good game. You go to orientation and they dazzle you with their talk of their culture and patient centric care. In the day to day though, management doesn't follow through with the necessaries to accomplish patient centered care or even efficient and consistent levels of care. It's good for your resume, the money is good, the benefits are – more... great. This isn't a good place to build a career because promotions and raises/bonuses are rare even for those people who go way above and beyond. It's not a bad place to work, but don't let them raise your expectations in the beginning because it's a fairy tale. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They work you as a dog and then blame you at everything
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Nyack, NYSeptember 26, 2013
To say that this is a busy place is to say nothing. It was funny to read somebody's review that said that some RNs are lazy. At Nyack hospital nurse cannot possibly be lazy. A typical work day at Nyack nurses work 13 hours shift straight without breaks, bathroom time, or water. It is all luxury. Somebody can say that I exaggerate. People do not believe – more... when nurses tell them about working conditions. Management is eager to blame nurses at all mistakes and errors that occur due to unhealthy and unsafe working conditions. Indeed, it is easier to blame staff than analyze roots. The worse part is to see patients suffering and not being able to help them. I know nurse who quit nursing profession after Nyack experience. My experience working at Nyack was also very bad. I still have my stress level up when I remember my time I worked at Nyack. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
RN BC (Current Employee), Nyack, NYAugust 15, 2013
Pros: good health care plan
Cons: rarely any brakes, lack of linnen, basic supplis, have to go and borrow from other floors
changing shift by giving report at bedside introduction to the pt. preliminary assessement. chart and medication check. then vs answering call bells attend to pt needs. communicate with md , pharmacy and lab. adm night meds do compleate assessment. document findings collect speciments. finger stick, dressing changes. suction as needed document, .
time – more... management, leadership. being a team player.
the hardest part of the job is feeling in adequate not mesuring up feeling you forget something because of patient load and lack of staff.
most enjoyable is when i know i have made a difference in a pt and his familie members life, made a difficult situation a little easiere for the pt. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pleasure to work at Nyack Hospital
Patient Transport Supervisor (Former Employee), Nyack, NYJuly 18, 2013
I worked at Nyack Hospital for 23 years, and working there was like being around family. I liked working with my staff, teaching them and learning from them whether or not it was job related. In the 23 years I worked at Nyack hospital I learned how not to judge people, everyone has a story. The hardest part of the job was managing a department on certain – more... days, when I was understaffed, but I learned how to get creative, and I had a great participating staff. I learned how to be a strong manager by always communicating, and always listening to other peoples needs. I was fortunate enough to work with may great administrators in the 23 years that I worked at Nyack Hospital. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work job security
PCA (Former Employee), Nyack, NYJuly 14, 2013
start day at 630 am draw blood finger sticks pt care
keep unit clean and input pt information in computer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible work experience
other (Former Employee), otherJuly 10, 2013
Pros: somewhat good benefits
Cons: horrible organizational culture
Poor organizational culture= poor service delivery.
Employees are treated horrible= patients are treated horribly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy community hospital
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Nyack, NYJuly 3, 2013
Pros: team work great - overtime available
Cons: pressure to move patients is great sometimes over pt care
Extremely busy with big focus on time management and moving patients in and out fast - very concerned with pressganey reports. Staff works as a team very well - Management is very demanding and nursing has little voice - roving triage with a 30min guarrentee to be seen - big pressure from mds to make the time -
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not somewhere you would want a career
nurse (Former Employee), private officeJune 2, 2013
Pros: pretty good insurance/ direct deposit
Cons: unorganized, over worked and not appreciated
Very Busy and unorganized. there is no room for growth. Management i just terrible. Negative environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To many clicks in the company
RN (Former Employee), ICUApril 17, 2013
Pros: human resources has it together
Cons: older rn's rude.obnoxiouse, management clearly needs a wake up call on how to treat people
I wanted so much to work there due to great reviews and there were a bunch of RN's and other staff that were friendly and understanding however you can not teach an old dog new tricks would be a better phrase for the older clicks who made it their business to make a person just wish they had never gotten hired there to begin with. Their main goal is – more... to make it a friendly environment for the patients as well as the staff, Looked good on the video right, but then the camera turns off and the back stabbing and lies begin. Higher staff treats lower staff like second class citizens is what I wittnessed – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has it frustrating moments but overall not that bad
Patient Care Associate (Former Employee), Nyack, NYJanuary 6, 2013
Pros: union, extra hours if you need, at times friendly co-workers, zero co-pay
Cons: floating, under staffed, late raises, pay, work load
Nyack hospital is a decent start if you are starting a career in health care! Best part of the Job is helping people who really need your help! As a PCA it can get stressful when the unit is under staff and at times the RNs solely rely on you to get tasks done! Great place to learn if you are a nursing student. PCA are required to draw blood, EKG, answer – more... call bells, a lot of total patient care, turn and position, vitals(twice per shift), finger stick, empty out foleys, clean ostomy bags and some nurses even ask you to perform ememas! Worst part of the job is dealing with a lot of isolation contact patients. – less

About Nyack Hospital

Nyack Hospital rocks when it comes to medical services in New York's Rockland and Bergen counties. Formed in 1895 and originally – Read more