Find companies:
NYC Administration for Children's Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
14 reviews

NYC Administration for Children's Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Child Protective Specialist (Current Employee), Queens, NYMay 15, 2014
A typical work day constitutes; field visits to either, homes, hospitals or schools and/or making appearances in court if necessary. From doing this I have learned how to assess safety and furture risk. My supervisory team and co-workers are supportive and all assist each other as needed. I enjoy the job because I get to assist families with finding – more... the appropriate services that suit their needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CRISIS MANAGEMENT
Child Protective Specialist (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 14, 2014
Pros: flexible holiday schedule & networking
Cons: the nature of the job is heart breaking.
• Investigating allegations of abuse, neglect, and maltreatment to monitor a caseload of 15+ cases a month.
• Assessing homes for safety and risk; interviewing mandated reporters, children, and parents regarding abuse, neglect, or maltreatment.
• Providing safe and secure foster care homes for removed children.
• Providing clients with intensive based – more... preventive care services.
• Filing neglect and abuse petitions in the Five Boroughs of NYC Family Courts.
• Representing cases in court, on the behalf of the ACS Commissioner.
• Training new staff and colleagues on placement policies, regulations, crisis management, and guidelines.
• Guiding emergency responders to proper procedures when involving children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult Job but needed for childrens safety
Child Protective Specialist (Former Employee), Bronx, NYSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: saving children from abuse, meeting many different people, keeping families together
Cons: long hours, not enough time for your own family
Working at ACS was hard. On a daily basis you could receive anywhere from 2 to 3 investigation reports of alleged abuse. Sometimes a family you were already servicing would receive another report (probably because someone was upset with them). You had to go into people's homes and you never knew exactly what you were walking into. I learned a lot while – more... working at ACS. People just want to be treated as people as and feel as if they should not be judged based on the community they reside in. The hardest part of the job for me was when I had to remove infants from the hospital soon after the mother gave birth. I found that hard because I am a mother too and I always felt as if the mother should have at least got to at least kiss the child before we removed the child from the hospital. The reward for me was being able to save children who were being physically and sexually abused in their home by their biological parents. My coworkers were always supportive and vice versa. Working in that particular field, you require the support of your coworkers especially when you are sent into a community you are not aware of. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a productive and exciting place to work.
Family Preservationist (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: friendly environment
each day was a new adventure. I've learn to work with many different people from different back grounds / Mental health/ substance abuse. and parents how had no idea of how to parent. All my co-workers were great and helpful. I think the hardest part was separating children from there families and assuring them that every thing would be alright. I enjoy – more... most about the job was working with people and seeing that I've made a difference in their lives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dangerous environment overwhelming caseload
Child Protective Specialist (Former Employee), Far Rockaway, NYJune 29, 2013
Interviewed and counseled children and their parents about allegations on case report. I made court appearances representing the City of New York, wrote court reports discussing the steps that were taken to bring the case to court and continually have court visits until the matter of the case was resolved. I provided necessary services for the family; – more... either mandated by family court, or voluntary agreement – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORK WITH ALL TPYES OF DIFFERENT PEOPLE
Administrative Intern (Current Employee), NEW YORK,NYJune 24, 2013
Pros: timeing is good a 9-5
Cons: a lot of paper work
 Organized paperwork and files in a careful and detail oriented manner.
 Entered information into the time keeping system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job but highly stressful and lack of understanding from management
Child Protective Specialist (Former Employee), Bronx, NYMay 23, 2013
I would say the agency means well but as a worker you're expected to do the workload of two people and be at 5 places at the same time. I've had lots of great experiences there and met some great people but I've also had horrible experiences that made me just not want to show up anymore.
There is a lack of uniformity at ACS. Some people get lucky and – more... work with great management and some people have horrible management that makes your work life brutal. It all depends on who you're assigned to and it shouldn't be so.
The hardest part of the job is usually dealing with management's unrealistic expectations.
The best part of the job is when you feel that you've made a positive difference in the lives of the families you work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Administration for Children's Services (ACS) is an essential government agency that protects the city's children from abuse and neglect.
Child Protective Specialist (CPS) (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 17, 2013
The work performed at the Agency is vital and honorable. Additionally, employees are provided with with a very good benefits package and vacation time.

However the Agency has severe management issues and there is generally a very low moral among employees, creating a very poor working atmosphere. Additionally, there is very little opportunity for advancement – more... and financial compensation is poor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thank you
Child and Family Specialist/ Supervisor III (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 23, 2013
The financial compensation for the hard work was good. Co-workers are supportive an wonderful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Summer Youth Employee (Former Employee), 150 William StreetDecember 12, 2012
Great company would love to work here again but this was a seasonal job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NYC Administration for Children's Services is a dynamic agency
Director (Current Employee), New York, NYNovember 8, 2012
Pros: diverse services and families, utilizing evidence informed models
NYC ACS is the agency responsible for providing child protection, permanency, juvenile justice, child care and early education services to NYC's children and families. ACS works with over 100,000 families every year and contracts with over 50 agencies for preventive and foster care services. The work is dynamic and NYC offers many resources and diverse – more... experiences that further my experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy office
Juvenile Counselor (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 15, 2012
Pros: benefits
Cons: double shifts
A typical day at work involves answering numerous inquires; very heavy phones; Data entry on 5 database; Tracking the census throughout the day.

I learned to ensure all court papers are accurate and all Judge orders are satified.

As a liaison to the Commissioners and Managers, we are to inform them of imperative issues; court orders, emergencies, – more... medical/mental health issues, etc .I take incident reports and enter the reports in system and notify appropropiate parties, if critical.

I share the workload with one another staff; rotate assignments day by day and assist in special projects for Administration.

The hardest part of the job is working a double shift ; it is very tiring being you have to report back to your shift the very next day on time.

The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing all the work is completed for the day and you are relieved to go home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and the moral was very high.
Director of Finance (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 13, 2012
Pros: great enviroment, team players
Cons: long commute
Very busty almost every single day, very challenging, great pleople to work with and I learned great management skills.