NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene Employee Reviews

Showing all 28 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department of health and mental hygiene
Public Health Sanitarian (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 18, 2016
I enjoyed the opportunity to work with the department of health, I learned a lot and was exposed to various areas dealing with public health. These work experience guided my path to a degree in public health.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Work for the Dept. of Health
Data Entry Clerk (temporary) (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 9, 2016
I would go to my desk and type in the information that was on the application into theire filing system. It seemed boring but it wasn't. You work alone but under the supervision of the manager.

It got this job through GoodTemps.
Pros
Financial District, pay, people are nice
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great work environment
Zika Testing Call Center Operator (Current Employee) –  Long Island City, NYAugust 23, 2016
Would love to work for this company permanently. Great management with people from different departments willing to help out in any other department that is in need of help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Health analyst (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 5, 2016
No promotions at workplace. Staff morale is always low. Pay is not good. too much bureaucracy. Wrok/life balance is not good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work depending on you
Assistant to the Directors (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 13, 2016
I loved working at the department of Health but it can be a bit stressful depending on how you take orders from others. Also the cowokers weren't positive people
Pros
Great city benefits. You'll be part of the union
Cons
co-workers were a bit nagative
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
City Research Scientist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 9, 2016
If you are serious about public health, the DOH is the place for you. I work with a lot of smart and dedicated people. However, there are also people here who just care about the compensation alone.
Pros
Salary, benefits, job growth, union
Cons
pay raises, job growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Call Agent, Information Support Services Aide (Former Employee) –  Long Island City, NYApril 25, 2016
the department of health is a great place to work especially in the section i worked which is operations typical day always involves constantly receiving call from the public
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok work place. Good and bad like anywhere else.
Human Resources Manager (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYFebruary 2, 2016
Pay for work life balance with poor management and hierarchical structure. Some areas are better than others. Your experience depends on where you end up. Upper management has good intentions.
Pros
work life balance, pension
Cons
poor management to the point that people quit without finding another job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great and fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 4, 2016
dealing with different agencies in the city and providing great customer service thru out the clinics around the five borough and most importantly help the clients in need of assistance in the new york city area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great finge benefits
Associate Public Health Sanitarian Level I (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 11, 2015
Great job advancement throughout various bureaus in agency.
Work equipments are updated frequently allowing workers to conduct their jobs tasks more efficiently.
Pros
TRAVELING IN 5 BOROS
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place is ok depending on your department
Finance Associate (Current Employee) –  Long Island City, NYOctober 30, 2015
Good place to work. Job security is good.Must take city exams to secure guarantee position. Each division is different so different experience for everyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but could be more productive
Physician Support Intern (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYSeptember 26, 2015
I was an intern here for a period 6 months. The position could have offered a more challenging opportunity. However, there is plenty of room for growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and productive work place
CUNY Service Corps Member, Data Management Intern (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYSeptember 25, 2015
I have learned many skills and gained experience in administrative services in the hospital settings. Enjoyable work environment where we put patients first.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
organizational
College Aide (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 9, 2015
Working at the dept. of health is a very fast past enviroment. Distributing birth and death certificates to customers. Its a great place to learn clerical work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and efficient
Supervisor of Administration & Quality Assurance (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYJuly 30, 2015
Very fluid and hard working. Fast placed environment that's very goal orientated. Co-managers and subordinates operate very cohesively.
Pros
Flexible management, Health Care Benefits
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job environment is very comfortable.
Public Health Inspector (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYMarch 31, 2015
A typical day at work involves doing inspections and writing reports

Learned how to interact with the public.

Improved on my writing skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Environmental Projects Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 23, 2015
Great benefits with some drawbacks....

Hard to move up without moving around...

Quality of work varies greatly within organization...
Pros
Pension Plan, Healthcare Included
Cons
No bonuses; Increases sporatic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People I've worked with through the years are nice, fun and caring people
OTPS Coordinator (Current Employee) –  NYMarch 10, 2015
this is an alright place to work.
my co-workers are great to work with
management is alright to work with
My co-work are fun and entertaining. We go out laugh, eat and have loads of fun. But when it is time to work we do know to stop and handle our business. Thank you
Pros
They show good informative movies about health issues
Cons
Needs a healthier environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily yoga classes.
Principal Administrative Associate/Office Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 17, 2015
My day differ day to day because I worked for the disaster preparedness and response unit; because there may be an citywide emergency at any given time. Preparing/coordinating a training, conference, seminar and/or workshop. Composing correspondence, heavy phone contact while performing administrative/logistics duties.
Pros
Large kitchen and sitting area.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
HIV and AIDS Educator/Consultant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 16, 2015
Really fun and cool job to work at. Great customers, co-workers and environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.7
Culture
3.4

NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene Reviews by Location