NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and pleasant environment
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Long Island City, NYNovember 9, 2017
A productive and pleasant environment very informative on issues
of health lifestyle and mental health, Prevention, and alerts.

Management is very nice to work with, down to earth type of
manager.

the work culture is diverse of different ethnics and very pleasant
and friendly.

Some days a bit stressful but worth it at the end of the day.
A sense of a job well done, and very productive. and enjoyed
the challenge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Enviroment
Office of Contracts - Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 3, 2017
My work experience was great. The superiors in the office were extremely helpful and my co worker still keep in contact still. I enjoyed the experience and learned a lot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to be employed
Coordinator / Trainer (Current Employee) –  GothamOctober 13, 2017
Good place to be employed. Great healthy environment. Respectful culture implemented.

Clean Environment
Lots of educational experiences
Many Divisions share processes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and exciting place to work
Director (Former Employee) –  Long Island City, NYOctober 11, 2017
The work is fast-paced and requires having a broad understanding of many moving pieces of information within the Department and externally, particularly with other government agencies. It is essential to hold the big picture while never losing site of the details. It is also essential to develop a network of contacts across divisions, bureaus and offices. It is important to learn as much about everything as possible from operations, epidemiology, policy, research, evaluation and quality improvement and to have an adaptable style to roll with changes in leadership. The most enjoyable part of the job is the learning and collaboration that leads to projects and work that transform the way healthcare is conceived of and delivered to New Yorkers.
Pros
Exposure to a wide range of engaging and interesting projects
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for entry level
Program Specialist (Current Employee) –  Long Island City, NYOctober 6, 2017
They prefer to hire from outside rather than promote from within

There is age discrimination and reverse racial discrimination

Poor working environment..Open work space. Lack of confidentiality.
Pros
Generally job security, and contributing to enhanced mental and physical health of NYC consumers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 17, 2017
Relaxed environment, supportive and independent work.

Able to incorporate clinical skills when completing psychosocials.

Time management and documentation is key
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front Desk
Administrative Support (Current Employee) –  Long Island City, NYJuly 20, 2017
A typical day at work is giving administrative support to my team and also cultivating contracts. I have actually learned how to create a certain type of contract for DOHMH even though I am not a contract manager. There really isn't any hard part of the job because I am a sponge so I learn everything I can. The most enjoyable is assisting anyone who needs the help even though I have my own tasks.
Pros
Team Lunches
Cons
Exercise classes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place and people to work with.
Wellness Advocate (Current Employee) –  Long Island City, NY 11101June 20, 2017
I only work here part time, but from what I have seen DOHMH is the best place I've worked so far and I'm 55 years old. lots of work experience. Clean environment.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and Fun
Community Health Worker (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 8, 2017
Interesting and fun workplace especially when conducting outreach and interacting with people. Location varies but for the most part a great place for professional development with longevity in mind and ability to move upwards. Salaries vary however.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fridays are good
Public Health Sanitarian (Current Employee) –  125 worth St NY, NYFebruary 26, 2017
Social gathering on Friday afternoons where workers enjoy cake and small talks with their friends. It is a field job so most work duties are done outside of the main office.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department of health and mental hygiene
Public Health Sanitarian (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 18, 2016
I enjoyed the opportunity to work with the department of health, I learned a lot and was exposed to various areas dealing with public health. These work experience guided my path to a degree in public health.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Work for the Dept. of Health
Data Entry Clerk (temporary) (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 9, 2016
I would go to my desk and type in the information that was on the application into theire filing system. It seemed boring but it wasn't. You work alone but under the supervision of the manager.

It got this job through GoodTemps.
Pros
Financial District, pay, people are nice
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great work environment
Zika Testing Call Center Operator (Current Employee) –  Long Island City, NYAugust 23, 2016
Would love to work for this company permanently. Great management with people from different departments willing to help out in any other department that is in need of help.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Health analyst (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 5, 2016
No promotions at workplace. Staff morale is always low. Pay is not good. too much bureaucracy. Wrok/life balance is not good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work depending on you
Assistant to the Directors (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 13, 2016
I loved working at the department of Health but it can be a bit stressful depending on how you take orders from others. Also the cowokers weren't positive people
Pros
Great city benefits. You'll be part of the union
Cons
co-workers were a bit nagative
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
City Research Scientist (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 9, 2016
If you are serious about public health, the DOH is the place for you. I work with a lot of smart and dedicated people. However, there are also people here who just care about the compensation alone.
Pros
Salary, benefits, job growth, union
Cons
pay raises, job growth
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Call Agent, Information Support Services Aide (Former Employee) –  Long Island City, NYApril 25, 2016
the department of health is a great place to work especially in the section i worked which is operations typical day always involves constantly receiving call from the public
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok work place. Good and bad like anywhere else.
Human Resources Manager (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYFebruary 2, 2016
Pay for work life balance with poor management and hierarchical structure. Some areas are better than others. Your experience depends on where you end up. Upper management has good intentions.
Pros
work life balance, pension
Cons
poor management to the point that people quit without finding another job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great and fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 4, 2016
dealing with different agencies in the city and providing great customer service thru out the clinics around the five borough and most importantly help the clients in need of assistance in the new york city area
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great finge benefits
Associate Public Health Sanitarian Level I (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 11, 2015
Great job advancement throughout various bureaus in agency.
Work equipments are updated frequently allowing workers to conduct their jobs tasks more efficiently.
Pros
Traveling in 5 boros
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 39 reviews
516
414
38
21
10

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
3.7Culture

NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene Reviews by Location