NYC DOE Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for benefits and for your well being
SRSLH (Former Employee) –  Queens Village, NYSeptember 2, 2017
Great job overall poor management, culture is great love working with children , working with food is amazing , paid vacations and plenty of holidays perfect job for either retiree or someone who needs to get out and just want to earn decent money
Pros
Feee lunch, very great benefits
Cons
Hard labor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice relaxing environment in the work place
Paraprofessional (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 30, 2017
I loved working as Paprofessional i would love to go back to this job. I enjoyed working with children they are a pleasure.They education of our young ones are very important to me. they are our future.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Security, Difficult Work/Life Balance
Visual Arts Teacher (Current Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 11, 2017
Don't do it for summers off, or the benefits. The job security and work life balance make this a very difficult career to embrace. Do it for the rewarding feeling of working with everyday kids.
Pros
Great benefits, full time, rewarding
Cons
poor work life balance, administrators don't care about you, pay is low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to have a positve impact in a childs life.
School Aide (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 3, 2017
I always consider working as a school aide one of the best experiences of my life. Being an individual in ministry and having children of my own, this position allowed me to easily balance my time outside of the work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great boss but needs to learn to shorten decisions to one page
Hearing Officer (Current Employee) –  Canarsie, Brooklyn NYCJuly 24, 2017
Management needs to work harder at learning to take suggestions and making necessary changes.

Write ups of hearing are obnoxiously too long.
No hearings in absentia should be held. If a respondent does not show up then they are in default and the case is processed without a hearing as a default and no hearing needs to be commenced.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Need to implement rules that make the job more effective.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's Great!
WBLRC Program Consultant (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 13, 2017
I really enjoy working here. The environment is spectacular. I feel like anyone who is qualified could definitely benefit from working here. I value the experience I am gaining.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place, like my second family
Certified Teachers Asssistant (Current Employee) –  Bayside, NYJuly 12, 2017
i love my job, currently I am a substitute, i am looking to become a permanant employee but I am weighing my options and looking into other opportunities in case I need to change my career path.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of my best experiences has been working as a substitute teacher
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 30, 2017
The most enjoyable part of my experience working for NYC DOE has been applying the knowledge learned in my education courses in the classrooms. Additionally, I enjoyed differentiating instruction for students of different strengths.
Pros
Working with a diverse group of students
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job
Special Education Teacher (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYJune 5, 2017
Working for the DOE requires patience and a lot of hard work. I think that I have gained a lot of knowledge as an educator by working in such a diverse environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome
Paraprofessional Educator (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYApril 5, 2017
Great job wonderful benefits.
wonderful work environment great vacations. great union and easy to move up the ladder and pay raise goes up. School is also payed for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching is one of the most important jobs there is.
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYMarch 25, 2017
I believe educating the young mind is one of the most challenging yet rewarding jobs there is. I continuously raise the bar for my students' achievement for it is critical for their success in the real world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PD's are great
Non Public School Representative (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMarch 14, 2017
Best place to learn about education.
Great professional developments.
Great opportunity to lead.
Management is not great.
Highly qualified professional staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Physical Education Teacher K-5 (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 26, 2017
•Develop and implement school wide physical education program
•Create lessons aligned to common core learning standards
for all general education and special education students
•Complete the NYC fitness gram assessment for 99% of school
population
•Use team sports to create a sense of unity amongst students while
promoting a competitive desire to improve individual skills
•Implement NYC DOE HIV/AIDS K-5 curriculum
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On-Line Training Video Developer
Sr. Developer of On-Line Training Solutions (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 24, 2017
It feels great leaving a mark in the world and knowing that so many people is getting benefit from your work, all I ever want to do was save the world "One Student at the Time"
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYFebruary 23, 2017
I need a job closer to home traveling to queens to work is difficult. I also want to embrace my goal if becoming a literacy coach to truly help children who struggle.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast pass environment
NYC adult ed teachet (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYFebruary 2, 2017
The adult ed program is fast pace, open enrollment of students. Be prepare to teach at multi-level large classes at least 30 students.
Pros
Nice food places for lunch, use of technology in most classes. You can take TASC test any time you want.
Cons
No breaks for 3 hour or 4 hour class.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corrupt Administrators
Special Education Teacher (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 26, 2017
In some schools principals are deliberately trying to get rid of senior teachers because of salary purposes. Teachers are being told to teach to a task, not to the learning needs of its students. Creativity is out the window. Data is the only way to measure student growth. Special needs students are being denied services. The work load is three times what it was ten years ago. Medical benefits and pension is good. The new evaluation system can easily be falsified by an administrator in order for teachers to set up for a bad evaluation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
education
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYDecember 22, 2016
dealing with hazardous temperatures and extreme heat and extreme health risks yourself and your family. I would recommend to stay away, although the money is definitely something to live on
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Paraprofessional (Current Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 4, 2016
Excellent job, with extraordinary benefits and great work hours during the week with good days. Eight to three and mondays through friday, can't get any better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable income
Speech Language Pathologist (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYAugust 16, 2016
Pros: The NYC DOE provides a stable Income that increrases with the amount of time you work there. The work environment differs from school to school. Working during the summer for extra money is an option.

Cons: However, there is insufficient time to complete mandated paper work during the school year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NYC DOE. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 38 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6