NYJTL Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Youth Worker (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJune 17, 2017
it was okay working here just didn't like the short hours during the school year but otherwise the people were very nice and help me alot this job actually made me want to become an educator
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stepping Stone
New York Junior Tennis League- Science Teacher (Former Employee) –  East Elmhurst, NYApril 11, 2017
It was a great experience. Being able to teach science to all different grade levels. Also being able to go on trips for tennis and working one to one with kids.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment with the students
Group Leader (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYMarch 20, 2017
A typical work day is interesting I get to interact with about 300 students on a daily basis. The kids are absolutely amazing and cooperated very well.
Pros
Students, Staff, parent involvement
Cons
Lack of time, lack of help from higher up
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Sports Counselor VOLUNTEER (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJanuary 19, 2017
Typical day at the work place is a real laid back day. I loved the work place because was able to work with kids with disability's. I learn how to watch kids and make a day fun for them. Management is really helpful. The work place is a fun place. The hardest part of the job was making sure that every kid is enjoying themselves. the most enjoyable is when everyone is happy.
Pros
its a fun place
Cons
was just a day worth of volunteer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and learn new things
Tennis Coach (Former Employee) –  Woodside, NYOctober 14, 2016
This is a good job because you work with younger kids and teach then new things they don't no about and are willing to learn from some one experienced.
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Review
Activity Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJune 22, 2016
The students were truly great. Teaching step routines to students is great co-workers were all great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has potential to grow.
Activity Specialist / Group Leader (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMay 19, 2016
Just from working here a month I have learned a lot of about the company. Not to mention I started once rules and regulations were being changed so it was easy for me to adapt. On a normal day we will have homework help. supper, then great ready for the activities listed for the day. There is a daily schedule that we all follow, but it changes from time to time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and make a great connection and be a role model to young students
Activity specialist (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYOctober 27, 2015
I had a great experience working in this place. The curriculum that they offer the students is appropriate for their age group. A normal day includes daily homework help for the students, tennis, chess, dance and arts craft.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
not enough hours a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has been fun
Director of the afterschool program (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn,NYDecember 3, 2014
Great company with a lot to offer to many communities. NYJTL, is run by a lot of fabulous people.
Pros
Have met some great helpful, dedicating and hardworking people who are compassionate about children
Cons
paper work, Low Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Youth Worker (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYSeptember 27, 2014
Working with kids
Making sure homework is completed
Light paper work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great staff
admin assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 15, 2014
great staff
great management
good part time job for student
Learned communication skills
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Assistant Director (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYFebruary 14, 2014
I loved this job because it combine two things I loved the most; children and creativity. I learned how to work with new software. I move up to management level. My co-workers were great. The hardest part of the job was The most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with the students.
Pros
Free trips and trainings
Cons
Worked and made most decisions on my own/
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment for both children and teachers
Group Leader - After School Program (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYFebruary 2, 2014
Fun Afterschool Program with some very talented Young children
Pros
Amazing kids
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the job for everyone except if you love tennis
New York Junior Tennis League (Former Employee) –  NYCDecember 14, 2012
it was overall a descent job considering i loved tennis at the time and had the time. if you work for NYJTL you are not their to make friends and i wouldn't recommend it you're there to work like every other job you apply to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
AfterSchool Staff Member (Former Employee) –  Elmhurst, NYMarch 31, 2012
I had a great experience working for NYJTL. Tennis was surprisngly fun and competitive. Kids are always fun to tutor and be around with. This program is amazing and such a great environment.
Pros
everything
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NYJTL. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.0
Culture
4.0