NYPD Employee Reviews

Found 533 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Civil Service Job
Lieutenant Commander Detectives (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYJuly 19, 2017
27 years with the NYPD.
Civil service Job.
Good benefits and compensation.
Long hours.
Work shifts, weekends, and holidays.
Culture is constantly changing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer
Special Patrolman (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 19, 2017
Excellent job, more sensitivity traing a must.
For futher info check out the website.
I served 35 yrs 6 months with the nypd -now retired.
I passed up promotions in the intrest of family.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Very demanding physically and emotionaly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Auxiliary Police Officer (Current Employee) –  Queens, NYJuly 12, 2017
The best experience of the job is working and resolving issues in a dynamic society. Self actualization is only accomplished in helping those inn need. A typical day is maintaining awareness of my environment and attending to the most critical issues first. As an APO being hungry, wet, tired, or overheated does not disrupt community needs. Management and the workplace culture is a true brother and sisterhood memory. Its an upbeat productive culture and one I embrace. The hardest part of the job is the inability to prevent all crimes and knowing another being was either harmed or worst. On the other hand, the most enjoyable moment is the ability to work another day while gaining broadened knowledge with NYPD within diverse communities.
Pros
The shifts are too short at times
Cons
Shifts can be too long at time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to help people and protect life and property
Detective Investigator (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 10, 2017
If you like to help others and protect life and property and meet different people every day this is the job. Also get paid vacation and advancement options to management positions.
Pros
Trained in multiple areas of law enforcement
Cons
Sometimes mandatory overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many offices have great people and great atmosphere
Principal Administrative Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 9, 2017
I have been with the police department for almost 8 years and there are great people. The pay is okay, but the benefits are really good. Also the union will help with anything you need: housing, legal, etc
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 4, 2017
Great place to work. The people are wonderful, good benifits and time off. The job is exiciting and fun. There is never a dull moment. Like every job it has some downfalls.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace. Great enviroment
Auxiliary Police Officer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 30, 2017
An amazing job. Learned a lot about the laws and procedures to protect the citizens of New York City. Great managers that helped further your career in the NYPD or other law enforcement agencies
Pros
Amazing leadership
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learn alot
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 28, 2017
must of my family are in the police department I wanted to follow the tradition keeping the family with in the force, n make My parents proud of me n my family
Pros
always stay focus
Cons
sometimes u thought you were dobe with your shift n u get a call, but it was our job serve and protect the public
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Police Officer (Current Employee) –  1 Police PlazaJune 28, 2017
With any police department there will be pros and cons.
Being a police officer is rewarding, from community service, youth services, helping and assisting those in need.
Pros
overtime
Cons
lack of accountability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience of a lifetime
Police Cadet (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 15, 2017
This agency is by far the best City agency I've worked for. The skills you learn will last a lifetime. The camaraderie is so strong and they all look out for you and each other even after you leave NYPD.
Pros
limitless skills training
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about NYPD?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work
Auxiliary Police Officer (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 14, 2017
Its a great place to work and if you trying to get to the next level of the nypd i love being a helping hand during parades or just when im just on patrol and wish to do more in the near future.
Pros
Great people great experince
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it
Community Service Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 14, 2017
i just love it , it fun , challenging , and all the above. it has tought me alot of skills, such as, being on time, respectful, focused on one task at atime, and just do your best that u can.
Pros
work
Cons
hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a healthy place
Okay to contact this Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Queens, NYJune 12, 2017
Never get into traffic enforcement. Worse agency 2 work 4 especially nypd traffic. Union sucks. Job sucks. Never make it a career. U well get stuck with all the headaches.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and diverse environment
School Safety Officer (Former Employee) –  Queens NYJune 10, 2017
Great career field! Highly recommend! Great way to make a change and better improve our New York city Schools. If you want to ensure safety for school staff and students, this is the career field for you!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deputy Inspector
Deputy Inspector (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 5, 2017
Thirty-two years of service in the NYC police Department consisting of patrol, and administrative assignments with twenty-six years experience in a supervisory capacity. Ascended from the rank of Police Officer to Deputy Inspector during this time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Police Officer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 29, 2017
You work Lots of hours, you are forced to work OT, overall the higher uppers don't know what they are doing. However you receive great benefits and retirement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stress
School Safety Agent (Current Employee) –  Ny nyMay 27, 2017
Very stressful bully bosses talk down to u New L3is very rude some time I don't feel I like going to work eat at the desk smoke in there uniform there take advantage of you
Pros
Stressful
Cons
Stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable part of my line of work
School Safety Peace Officer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 25, 2017
The most enjoyable part of the job is that it allows you the flexibility to engage with the community and the students, which makes it easier when helping people and changing the course of trouble youths. That's a great feeling.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job
School Safety Agent Level III (Current Employee) –  Staten Island, NYMay 25, 2017
It has been a great place to work. The job environment is sometimes hectic. I have met the good people along the way. I have also learned, many things that I can carry on to my next career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
How is it working
Technical Support Aide (Former Employee) –  New York, NYMay 23, 2017
Atypical day at the New York City Police Department is exciting to me at the time. I understood the concept of being an additional eyes and ears for the company. Once you know the expectations of a boss, you quickly adapt or bail out. Diversity is real, you will be tested.
Pros
the pros about working for the NYCDOE is knowledge and assisting others
Cons
The negative is that your life is in constand danger
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report