NYPD

319 reviews

NYPD Employee Reviews

Found 318 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The US Army
Sergeant Detective Squad Supervisor (Former Employee) –  PanamaNovember 3, 2015
I Served just under six years and in that time, I met and worked with the most amazing people, We fought lived and died together. I will always be proud of my service and the men and women I served with.
Pros
comradery, travel, a sense of pride in being apart of the tradition of service
Cons
bad food, long days and night, lost friends
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for.
Special Officer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 3, 2015
Every day is different, all could be well and then something burden sum could happen. It's up to the trained professionals to tame the situation and bring about peace. I love my co-workers we all look out for each other and its a pleasure to go to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice, busy, strict, fun, and a Good learning environment,
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 26, 2015
good place to work but was not a fit for me, performed a lot of duties while working with the NYPD it was a great learning experience
Pros
job security, union, benefits
Cons
dangerous, long hours, different shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great life experience
Lieutenant Commanding Officer, Leadership Training (Former Employee) –  One Police Plaza New York, New York 10007October 22, 2015
There is no such thing as a typical day in the NYPD. I have learned how precious life is over the last twenty five years. Management can be demanding and I have worked with some great people. It is very hard when a fellow officer is killed in the line of duty. This is offset by the support that is always given by peers.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best
Inspector, Commanding Officer Support Services (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 14, 2015
Great Place to work. Great people. Great benefits and retirement. XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting place to work
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 13, 2015
A typical day in the NYPD is a long and stressful day with a lot of exciting but dangerous stuff happening around you. It may start off slow and in a few minutes everything around gets crazy. A lot of angry people, a lot of emergency calls to attend to and so let little time to manage them in. I learned a lot from the NYPD, including discipline, courtesy and respect, knowing how to calm a person under pressure and not letting personal feelings get the best of you. The hardest part of the job is trying to answer to everyone's problem in a manner in which they do not think you not giving their problems priority over another.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderfull experience and life changing
Probationary police officer (Former Employee) –  college point, nyOctober 13, 2015
Working for the NYPD was a great experience. Everyday is different. I got to learn more about the task and the responsiblities of a police officer. The most enjoyable part of the job getting hands on training for fire arms and drivers training. The hardest part of the job was the hours.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
work hours are not stabled
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting as an Intren
Internship (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYOctober 9, 2015
When I Intren at the 46th precinct I have learned a lot about legal research. I also learned how many trainings a police officer has to through. They have a lot of things for you to learn as working on and sorting out the traffic violations.
Pros
long break and helpful officers
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Day
Crossing Guard (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 8, 2015
I would arrive at my post mostly 7:30am and check the traffic lights, and make sure the cross walks are clear. As the children would come to the crosswalks I would cross them with the light. At times I would have to move traffic to clear up the crosswalks, so the kids could cross safely.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Detective Investigator
Detective (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 3, 2015
Most satisfying job a person can have along with the most dedicated people of the City of New York. Great pay along with great benefits. Able to move up the ranks with hard work.
Pros
close ties with co workers
Cons
long hours some days
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Want to know more about NYPD?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical work day
School Safety Agent Level III/Training Coordinator (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 22, 2015
I enjoy working with student of diverse backgrounds. I enjoy working with the parents and staff. I enjoy dealing with the public, I just feel that they should recognized their employees more for the work that we do.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
song help pay for education advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SCHOOL CROSSING GUSRD
School Crossing Guard (Former Employee) –  Ozone Park, NYSeptember 18, 2015
I WORKED A 5 HOUR DAY 2.5 HOURS IN THE MORNING, AND 2.5 HOURS IN THE AFTERNOON. MY PARTNERS AND MYSELF WORKED AN EXTREMELY BUSY INTERSECTION JUST OUTSIDE
KENNEDY AIRPORT. THE SCHOOL I WAS ASSIGNED TO WAS
A K TO 8TH GRADE SCHOOL WITH OVER 1300 STUDENTS.
I REPORTED TO THE 106 PRECINT, AND THERE WAS A SARGEANT WHO WAS IN CHARGE OF US. HE WOULD COME
AROUND AND SIGN OUR MEMO BOOKS.
THE HARDEST PART OF MY JOB WAS THAT SOMETIMES A LOT
OF THE DRIVERS ARE VERY RUDE, AND DON'T WANT TO WAIT FOR PEOPLE TO CROSS THE STREET. THEY RUN THE LIGHT, THEY SPEED, AND MAKE ILLEGAL U TURNS ANYWHERE
THEY PLEASE.
I LOVED WORKING WITH THE STUDENTS, ESPECIALLY THE
LITTLE ONES. I ALSO GAVE A LOT OF DIRECTIONS TO THE
TOURISTS WHO WOULD COME FROM THE AIRPORT.
Pros
I WAS ABLE BE HOME DURING THE MORNING TO CARE FOR MY MOM AND TAKE HER TO HER DR APPTS
Cons
BAD WEATHER......SNOW, RAIN, COLD, WE HAD TO BE OUT THERE
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working place
Auxiliary Police Sergeant (Promoted) (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 17, 2015
This job is very rewarding and can sometimes become overwhelming if you don't know how to handle it.The most enjoyable pat of the job is coming to work with highly committed officers each day of my tour.
Pros
Rewarding
Cons
Too Political
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding and challenging work environment.
Police Officer, Detective, Sergeant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 17, 2015
Performed many different jobs and held numerous ranks during my 23 year long career. Every job and rank had its own challenges.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loving family
Auxiliary Police Officer (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 16, 2015
We work as one. Never give up on each other.Auxiliary police officers assist local police departments in maintaining order and protecting the safety of a community's residents.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job takes a toll on your body, with all the standing it is not very productive. Have no protection out in the streest while crossing the children.
School crossing guard (Former Employee) –  BrooklynSeptember 11, 2015
Typical day at work is hard if you do not like standing for 5 hours, or like to deal with all types of weather. But you do have nice and pleasant co-workers. Some of the police officers are nice. Dealing with the public could get to you if you do not have a strong back bone. Other than this. the hardest part of the job is dealing with the bitter cold, the unbearable winters.
Pros
Time works around your children.
Cons
Bad weather.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great experience as a Criminal Justice Student.
Intern (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYSeptember 10, 2015
All of the persons I worked with were older than I was but they were great, and I'm very thankful for the opportunity. My supervisor, a Lieutenant was great, she gave me great advise and was a good role model. I was her first intern and I think that I made a good impression on her.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging workplace
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 8, 2015
Great place to start your career if you look to further your policing career elsewhere. Very good support by fellow officers and supervisors.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very professional with a very high level of integrity.
DETECTIVE (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 6, 2015
supervise juveniles and help them stay on a straight path.responsible for home visits and executing warants on probation violators.
Pros
rewarding
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
Police Officer NYPD (Former Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 4, 2015
co workers are good. Work environment was ok. Management was alright. hardest part of the day was waking up early after a 15 hour shift
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 319 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture