Find companies:
NYPD
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
195 reviews

NYPD Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience
auxiliary police officer (Former Employee), Brooklyn, New YorkJune 11, 2014
Pros: great learning experience
Cons: volunteer position - did not get paid
I loved to work there. I learned a lot about policing experience (street patrol).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Road Patrol
officer (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 28, 2014
Big City, a lots of issues. Must see, but be careful and stay out of area's that are not safe.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Job was a great job if you cared for people
Homicide Detective Second Grade 2006-2010 (Former Employee), NYMay 21, 2014
A typical day at work for me was totally different from that of others. Sometimes I would come in and there wouldn't be anything going on or I would be called in the middle of the night for a triple homicide. The detectives that you worked with were top of the line, we usually got a lot done. The hardest part of the job was that sometimes no matter – more... how hard you worked a case, that case would go cold pending further leads. The most enjoyable part of job was giving families some sort of closure so that they could start the process of healing. One other enjoyable part was going home to your family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public servant
School Safety Agent Level (Former Employee), New YorkMay 5, 2014
Supervising personnel, ensuring safety at NY public schools and using courtesy, professionalism and respect at all times. Law enforcement position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable place to work
Auxiliary Police Officer (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYMay 1, 2014
pros- love the schedule and the involvement within my community.

cons- its only voulanteer work why would they demand im always available for them when I'm not and then think I am lying.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatest Detectives in the World
Assigned as Commanding Officer (Current Employee), Brooklyn NYMay 1, 2014
Proud member of the NYPD. Supervising and Carrying out investigations of recent Homicides and non fatal shootings. I have 9 Detectives that I supervise
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding career
NYC Police Officer (Retired) (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYApril 28, 2014
Pros: medical insurance
Cons: long commute
learned how to deal with all types of situations, made a lot of lifelong friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Employment I ever had
Police Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 28, 2014
Pros: being in the forefront of peace and safety
Cons: emotionally demanding and at times dangerous
Rewarding, Exciting, and Vital work. Not for the Faint of heart.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patrolling, Safety and making arrests.
Safety Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 23, 2014
I was responsible for maintaining the safety of the students and faculty. Making arrests when necessary and completing the necessary paperwork for the Police Department. The most enjoyable part of this job was knowing that the well being of everyone was insured by me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun and interesting
POLICE OFFICER (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 17, 2014
.I enjoy going to work everyday its a rewarding job. I meet lots of people and every day is a different experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service Oriented
Traffic Enforcement Agent (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 15, 2014
the associates and management worked well together. keeps employees up to date with testing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging work environment
Police Communications Technician (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 2, 2014
Working for the NYPD was challenging and exciting. I enjoyed my time there as a PCT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a rewarding twenty year career with the New York City Police Dept
Patrolmen/Detective (Former Employee), New York CityMarch 30, 2014
Pros: i worked in a variety of units within the nycpd in my 20years.
Cons: none applicable
I started with the NYCPD in 1982 and retired in 2002. I worked in a variety of units within the NYCPD.

I became a investigator in 1988, and was promoted to Detective in 1990. I was a Detective from 1990-2002.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HECTIC fast paced job
Police Communications Technician (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYMarch 23, 2014
Great job for those looking to make money while helping others. This is a very stressful job because you will be dealing with the people of NYC but it's rewarding knowing that you were the person behind a emergency phone that sent help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the nypd is a serious
Police Dispatcher (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYMarch 22, 2014
Pros: getting help to where its needed
Cons: more breaks and gym equipment is needed to relief stress for the workers
the nypd is a serious workplace ,and very stressful at times,i get along with my co-workers even though they can be challenged at times,but over ll i respect my job to the most,i enjoyed helping others ......
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New York State Penal law
Parking Control Specialist (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 20, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: dealing the weather
Make inspections of traffic condition's to regulate and control parking.
Remove foreign objects from parking meter.
Prepare and issue summonses for violations: records data regarding meter location, conditions and activities.
Operate motor vehicle.
Deputation as Special Patrolman by the New York City Police Department defines in the New York State Penal – more... Law. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Law Enforcement Agency
Detective, Criminal Justice Bureau (Former Employee), New York CityMarch 20, 2014
Detective Investigator, Investigating complex confidential investigations, using a vast knowledge of theory and technology to bring closure to a case.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult place to work
Tour Commander/Administrative-Lieutenant (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYMarch 18, 2014
Requires personal sacrifice required. Can be rewarding place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Evidence and Property Control Specialist (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 8, 2014
a typical day at work your co-workers, are hard workers they all loved working there.. and myself also.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
DB2 UDB DBA (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 27, 2014
Great place to work. Has a good Work/Life balance.Great place to work. Has a good Work/Life balance.Great place to work. Has a good Work/Life balance.Great place to work. Has a good Work/Life balance.Great place to work. Has a good Work/Life balance.Great place to work. Has a good Work/Life balance.Great place to work. Has a good Work/Life balance.Great – more... place to work. Has a good Work/Life balance.Great place to work. Has a good Work/Life balance.Great place to work. Has a good Work/Life balance. – less

About NYPD

There has never been a better time to join the NYPD. The New York City Police Department leads the nation with the most dramatic – Read more