NYPD Employee Reviews in United States

Found 406 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training
NYC Auxiliary Police Officer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 4, 2015
the very best is really all i can say about this department the NYPD is 2nd to none and stands out among the elite law enforcement agencies around the world.
Pros
being a part of the best police department in the world
Cons
salary should be higher
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job experencie, room for advancement
School Safety Agent (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 3, 2015
I start my day at 6am. i have learned to work with children of all ages from 5 years old until 22 years old as well as their parents. I deal with different attitudes and behavior issues. I have learned to be a leader. I get along with my co-workers and always willing to lend a helping hand when needed. The hardest part of my job is arresting the kids or adults when needed be. I love working with the public you meet new and exciting people
Was this review helpful?Yes6No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An awesome experience
Auxiliary Officer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 2, 2015
I would highly recommend this for anyone wanting to develop character and/or desiring to gain experience in the law enforcement field.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great opportunity to learn about the NYPD
Internship (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 24, 2015
This was an internship for me, but I loved how much I learned about what the NYPD does on a daily basis. There are many stigma's out there, but after being on the inside for a while, I can tell you for a fact that many of them work extremely hard. Everyone I encountered was helpful and more than willing to educate me on their daily jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working hard, and I love challenge
Help Desk (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYNovember 13, 2015
I love Mondays, mostly because the day flies by in a flash. On a given day, during the early hours you will find me speaking to the clients, finding out – proactively – what their priorities are for the week, meeting with team for half hour to communicate the clients’ needs and organizing the team schedules around the client’s priorities. I do this on Monday so that the rest of the week is well organized and we can effectively use our team’s time in exceeding client’s expectations and avoid Friday evening surprises. Rest of the week goes in delivering the product(s), updating the status with the client, answering emails and calls from our global teams. My role involves extensive management responsibilities and staying organized is not an option.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
o having to opportunity to grow as a prefesional
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a great job to use as a stepping stone
Traffic Enforcement Agent Lvl II (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 11, 2015
If your dreams are to become an avid positive force within the community, being a traffic enforcement agent is a great way to get your foot in the door of the police department and work your way around different departments.
Pros
knowing the community, sharping public surroundings and awareness, how to read parking signs and violations
Cons
Working in all weather conditions, civilian mistreatment, not fully protected legally from harm, bodily injuries are frequent, if gone for more the 12 mons due to on the job injury your job is at risk of termination
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a first city job.
Traffic Enforcement Agent (Former Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 10, 2015
The most enjoyable part is that they don't micromanage. Co-workers were cool, the hardest part was working in all weather conditions.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The US Army
Sergeant Detective Squad Supervisor (Former Employee) –  PanamaNovember 3, 2015
I Served just under six years and in that time, I met and worked with the most amazing people, We fought lived and died together. I will always be proud of my service and the men and women I served with.
Pros
comradery, travel, a sense of pride in being apart of the tradition of service
Cons
bad food, long days and night, lost friends
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for.
Special Officer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYNovember 3, 2015
Every day is different, all could be well and then something burden sum could happen. It's up to the trained professionals to tame the situation and bring about peace. I love my co-workers we all look out for each other and its a pleasure to go to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive and Challenging
School Safety Agent Level III (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 2, 2015
I like the job, but its time for change and I feel I can advance myself in another field of work. This job has become overwhelming in the pass year. i would like to utilize my skills in other classes.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A learning experience
School Safety Agent (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 27, 2015
Working for school safety was a learning experience. I worked inside various public schools: elementary, middle, and high school. Staff was always supportive and willing to assist when necessary. Some students were fun and memorable. Others were rude and disrespectful. Overall, I enjoyed my experience as a school safety agent.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice, busy, strict, fun, and a Good learning environment,
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 26, 2015
good place to work but was not a fit for me, performed a lot of duties while working with the NYPD it was a great learning experience
Pros
job security, union, benefits
Cons
dangerous, long hours, different shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great life experience
Lieutenant Commanding Officer, Leadership Training (Former Employee) –  One Police Plaza New York, New York 10007October 22, 2015
There is no such thing as a typical day in the NYPD. I have learned how precious life is over the last twenty five years. Management can be demanding and I have worked with some great people. It is very hard when a fellow officer is killed in the line of duty. This is offset by the support that is always given by peers.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best
Inspector, Commanding Officer Support Services (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 14, 2015
Great place to work. Great people. Great benefits and retirement. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting place to work
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 13, 2015
A typical day in the NYPD is a long and stressful day with a lot of exciting but dangerous stuff happening around you. It may start off slow and in a few minutes everything around gets crazy. A lot of angry people, a lot of emergency calls to attend to and so let little time to manage them in. I learned a lot from the NYPD, including discipline, courtesy and respect, knowing how to calm a person under pressure and not letting personal feelings get the best of you. The hardest part of the job is trying to answer to everyone's problem in a manner in which they do not think you not giving their problems priority over another.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderfull experience and life changing
Probationary police officer (Former Employee) –  college point, nyOctober 13, 2015
Working for the NYPD was a great experience. Everyday is different. I got to learn more about the task and the responsiblities of a police officer. The most enjoyable part of the job getting hands on training for fire arms and drivers training. The hardest part of the job was the hours.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
work hours are not stabled
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting as an Intren
Internship (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYOctober 9, 2015
When I Intren at the 46th precinct I have learned a lot about legal research. I also learned how many trainings a police officer has to through. They have a lot of things for you to learn as working on and sorting out the traffic violations.
Pros
long break and helpful officers
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy sometimes
Clerical Worker Intern (Current Employee) –  Bronx, NYOctober 8, 2015
Very busy place it is never boring It does get a little slow sometime but right now it is real busy non stop. The hardest but of the job is not get to emotional to each case you have to be neutral. Forget what you typed for the day and move on to the next day.
Pros
quiet place
Cons
Crime never stops
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Day
Crossing Guard (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 8, 2015
I would arrive at my post mostly 7:30am and check the traffic lights, and make sure the cross walks are clear. As the children would come to the crosswalks I would cross them with the light. At times I would have to move traffic to clear up the crosswalks, so the kids could cross safely.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Detective Investigator
Detective (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 3, 2015
Most satisfying job a person can have along with the most dedicated people of the City of New York. Great pay along with great benefits. Able to move up the ranks with hard work.
Pros
close ties with co workers
Cons
long hours some days
Was this review helpful?Yes2No

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 407 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.4
Job Security/Advancement
4.4
Management
4.0
Culture
4.2