Find companies:
NYPD
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
192 reviews

NYPD Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was an Intern
Intern (Former Employee), Astoria, NYJanuary 30, 2014
Learned from detectives true dedication to a job. As an intern I would attend to the detectives request. I found it to be an opportunity to apply and see what I learned as an International Criminal Justice Student in the community. I loved the passion the detectives they brought to work in order to follow up and solve crimes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responding to different calls in the community.
Police officer (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: benefits and salary
Cons: never knowing when your shift is actually done.
My job at the deparment varies daily with different scenarios and jobs. Everyday I met a group of different people from differnet cultures and learned something new eveyday about the community
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I acquired the skill sets of managing difficult individuals.
Police Attendant (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 21, 2014
I have previously serviced New York City residents as a Police Attendant, incarcerating/processing individuals with in the Judicial System which developed my understanding Criminal Sociology and the Penal Systems Law Enforcement services. I acquired the skill sets of managing difficult individuals by developing my knowledge base in the study of deviant – more... behaviors’. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An experience
SCG (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: learning about people everyday
Cons: unable to make life for everyone fair
To make sure everyone is safe and secure, Hard part is when i knew justice wasn't fair
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Detective Investigator, Police Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 19, 2014
To work for the greatest department in the greatest city. Once a you become a police officer in NYC you become part of 50,000 family
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am very outgoing and a peoples person.
School Safety Agent (Current Employee), Manhattan, NYJanuary 19, 2014
The hardest part of my job is not being able to help a person. being affiliated with the police department a lot of people will come to you with many different abnormal situation that i cannot helped them with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, challenging work place
Police Communication Technician (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: fast to move up in the company
Take 911 emergency calls
also building permit operator
big call center with several co workers
taking a real threatening calls
everyone was like family
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The New York City Police Department is the best career opportunity that I have experience so far in my life.
Detective (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: the new york city police department has many career opportunites throughout the department.
Cons: not enough time within my life span to experience them all.
The New York City Police Department(NYPD) has provided me the opportunity to make everyday a new experience with unlimited possibilities to learn and teach new ideas and techniques to my co-workers and the general public. The most difficult situations that I dealt with while working for the NYPD was being a first responder to the attacks of the World – more... Trade Center on February 26, 1993 and again on September 11, 2001. The highlights that I experience were the rescue of several individuals at the World Trade Center in 1993 and having the opportunity to bring new technology to the NYPD that is being used to protect the city of New York and citizens of the United States of America. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
School Safety Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: great healthcare, vacation and sick time, great people
Cons: need higher pay
I really enjoyed working here learned a lot and meet a lot of great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NYPD
Dispatcher/911 Operator (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 7, 2014
I was a Senior Dispatcher. This job was exciting and rewarding. I received six commendations for excellence in the performance of my duties. I saved many lives both civilian and officers. The training I received from this job is still very important for customer service. I learned to be professional and kind even in the face of adversity.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place
Chief of Explorers (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 5, 2014
Typical law enforcement must be your passion, teaches about law enforcement and provides great training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety
School Crossing Guard (Former Employee), Bronx, NYDecember 23, 2013
Pros: christmas bonus
Cons: part-time
1. A typical day at work - I encouraged safety & precautions.

2. What I learned - Provided a safe environment to people in my community.

3. Management - Reported daily observations.

4. My coworkers - Great Team Players.

5. The hardest part of my job - Bad Weather.

6. The most enjoyable part of my job - Meet and greet people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is great when you call help
911 dispatcher (Current Employee), New York ,NYDecember 17, 2013
Pros: being first response in helping others
Cons: not seeing your family to much
A typical day at work would be to come in , check in and put our your headset . When the phone beeps on the other line you never know what you are gonna get . Most management is very helpful and even though this job is not suitable for everyone to handle i enjoy being able to help people when they need it most and since your always at work it is great – more... to have co-workers that become family to you . – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & Skillful
School Safety Operational Administrator (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 9, 2013
Pros: enjoy providing excellent customer service.
Cons: when busy no lunch.
Job essential on a daily basis consistence, of having excellent communication verbal & written correspondence with staff. Being a friendly team player at all times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Police Department in the country
Lieutenant Operations Coordinator (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYDecember 7, 2013
Pros: learned how to establish relationships with diverse communities
Cons: some situations are out of your control unforseen tradgedies
I enjoyed working with the NYPD and had many positive experiences and learned a lot by supervising officers and supervisors. I believe this can transition to business management and make me an effective leader in the private sector.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Police work @ it's finest
Task force Sergeant (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 6, 2013
The job was exciting, busy, corrupt, and a whole lot of job stuff happen on and day to day basic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very stressful and fast job.
Police Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 5, 2013
Teaches you to be a leader to the community and see how you can make a difference in people's lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GET IN & GET OUT !
NYPD Traffic Agent LEVEL (Current Employee), Flushing, NYDecember 3, 2013
I worked for traffic for 3 years. The job pays little for the amount of revenue the traffic agents are creating for the city. Management pressures agents to write tickets. THERE IS NO QUOTA contrary to Popular belief. if you don't write tickets they'll make your life a living HELL.If you need the employment apply but don't stay long, seek other means – more... of employment in meantime. MANAGEMENT SUCKS, AND BENEFITS ARE GOOD IF THATS IMPORTANT TO YOU. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Responder
Police Communications Technician (Current Employee), New York, NYDecember 3, 2013
You have to be tough, motivated and extremely focused. You are the life-line of the city.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job is great and exciting.
Auxiliary Police Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 25, 2013
Pros: great benefits, training and collegues
Cons: unknown and unexpected challenges
This job has daily unknown challenges which you must be prepared to deal with.

About NYPD

There has never been a better time to join the NYPD. The New York City Police Department leads the nation with the most dramatic – Read more