Find companies:
NYPD
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
165 reviews

NYPD Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being able to work with the community and promote a positive image of law enforcement
New York City Auxiliary Police Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 14, 2013
Pros: being able to make people feel safe in their communities
Cons: volunteer position
Assited the NYPD during community fairs, parades and other functions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
PrAA I - Equipment Section (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 7, 2013
Pros: good benefits
It is a place where anyone would love to go work. You work with and meet all types of people. If you love working with people you would love working at the NYPD.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding
POLICE OFFICER (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 1, 2013
Pros: having the opportunity to make a difference for people
Cons: dealing with so much pain and suffering
dealt with every possible emergency as well as interacted with the general public regarding crime and domestic issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting
Senior Police Administrative Aide (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 27, 2013
Pros: stable work
Cons: different attitudes
Everyday is an adventure. You never know what you will encounter from day to day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my task.
School Crossing Guard (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 26, 2013
A typical day at work would be ensuring children safety. I learned how to interact and maintain a positive mood towards different kinds of people and situations. Basically, i work independently in the absence of direct supervision. I attend work on time and stay a couple of minutes after school dismissal to confirm students protection. My relationship – more... with my co-workers is on a professional level, we respect each other.Working in the critical weather would be the hardest part of the job. Serving others would be the most enjoyable part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse Workplace
Senior Police Administrative Aide (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: fast pace
I thoroughly enjoyed working for the NYPD. I was able to take on different jobs and receive many different trainings. I loved the diversity and the fast pace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great diverse work atmosphere
Police Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 14, 2013
Pros: helped others
Cons: had to place my hands on people
worked solving crimes assisting civilians with problems I learned from this job how to be patient and compasionette
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was amazing
Helper (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYSeptember 11, 2013
I really enjoyed working for the NYPD. Working alongside the police officer and with the programs administered to the children such as the explores program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at work
School Safety Agent (Former Employee), New York, NYSeptember 4, 2013
•Maintained order in assigned New York City Public Schools.
•Established relationships with the faculty and parents in order to create and maintain solid lines. of communication regarding the safety and welfare of the students within my assigned duty location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
POLICE OFFICER / COMMUNITY AFFAIRS SPECIALIST (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 29, 2013
Pros: great
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT JOB
POLICE OFFICER (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 29, 2013
Cons: hot in summer-[cold in winter
GREATEST JOB IN WORLD , GREAT PEOPLE TO WORK WITH DANGEROUS AT TIMES OF COURSE, BEST BENEFITS ,MEET PEOPLE FROM ALL OVER THE WORLD GREAT RETIREMENT BENEFITS, EVENTS HAPPEN HERE, WISH I COULD GO BACK
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and Gratifying
Cadet (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 26, 2013
Pros: great benefits
Working in the NYPD was one of the best decisions
I have made. It was a multicultural environment which fostered understanding and acceptance of every creed. It was gratifying to know that I had helped make a difference. I attained a number of invaluable tools, which include, but are not limited too : timekeeping, ability to juggle intense workload, – more... responsibility. I learned what it means to have pride in your work. Hardest part could also be the stress and the tight deadlines, but having a hardworking team of police officers at your side meant that we always accomplished the tasks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life as A School Safety Agent
School Safety Agent (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 26, 2013
working With Children everyday allows me to learn new things everyday. i am able to muli-task daily with different situations going on. Being responsible for the safety of others is a serious job. the hardest part of the job is being able to understand that there are no two days alike as a school safety agent! my Co-workers are great and we always work – more... as a Team. I think the most enjoyabl;e part of this Job is seeing these student succeed & graduated from HS. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it
Police Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 24, 2013
it the best job i ever had, everything is great it a dangerous but i loved being a police officer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working job
Police Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 19, 2013
Cons: no weekends off.
It is a department of diversity. It can be somnewhat hectic with famiy life.. It is a wonderful career as long as ypu get your education so you may advance with promotions .. Management is the key.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting experiences everyday
Police Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 18, 2013
My experience as a police officer has allowed me to become a more responsible individual, has strengthened my interpersonal and investigative skills, and has allowed me to establish good working relationships with other law enforcement agencies. Furthermore, my work experience and educational background has prepared me well for dealing with people with – more... different temperaments and working in the field of criminal justice. I utilized community based policing; performed investigations leading to arrests; safeguarded and vouchered evidence; found seized and recovered property; issued summonses; prepared reports and forms; and testified in court proceedings regarding various arrests, summonses and investigations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An organization that has excellent core values to serve & protect the citizens of New York City with Courtesy, Professionalism & Respect.
NEW YORK CITY POLICE SERGEANT (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 17, 2013
An organization with great core values that provides employees with room for advancement through hard work. There are many different type of units/positions with in this organization to allow employees to be exposed to all different skill sets & provide different types of services that all achieve the goal of serving the citizens of New York City & – more... providing the best Police Service possible. At times a very high stress Job that in the long run can be a very rewarding occupation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
30th Precinct Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 16, 2013
Pros: it's never quiet.
Cons: at times, very angry people would call.
Upon entry of the workplace, I was greeted by everyone. It was a very warm and welcoming workplace, believe it or not.
Before this job, I never worked as a Data Entry Clerk. Most of the experience I got for being a Data Entry Clerk came from my activities at home. I'm on the computer for almost 60% of any day.
I only had 1 co-worker. I was told to teach – more... her how to use the computer because she wasn't as good as I was.
The hardest part of the job was reading the police reports. Some of the officers would write really sloppy, so I had trouble reading their handwriting.
The most enjoyable part of the job, would probably be the days that I had to go to the back and move boxes. Some of these boxers were REALLY heavy but it didn't bother me. The job was done and I had fun doing it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Law enforcement Job
Police Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 14, 2013
Patrol an assigned area on foot or in a vehicle; apprehend crime suspects; intervene in various situations involving crimes in progress, aided cases, complaints, emotionally disturbed persons, respond to and investigate vehicular accidents; investigate specific offenses; interact with prisoners; operate and maintain patrol vehicle; issues summonses; – more... obtain information regarding incidents by interviewing witnesses, victims, and/or complainants; safeguard and voucher found, seized or recovered property; provide information to the public; handle situations involving maltreated, abused or missing children; interact with juveniles; prepare forms and reports; testify in court; and perform related work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding at times.
School Safety Agent (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 14, 2013
Pros: mostly worked while school was in session
Cons: short breaks, can be dangerous at times.
This was a good job. with great hours opportunity to work overtime mostly voluntary. Overall I like this job if it paid more I would still be working there.