Find companies:
NYPD
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
223 reviews

NYPD Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the comradely and the excitement.
Police Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 9, 2014
Pros: very rewarding and exciting.
Cons: i was laid off.
Each day was different you never knew what was going to happen. The supervisors that were on patrol with you were supportive in any way possible, The hardest thing was that I was laid off due to budget cuts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a great experience!
Detective Investigator/Crime Analyst (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 5, 2014
Enjoyed most of the twenty years with ease of mind. Was able to advance to Detective during a very generous work ethic. Would do things differently if I had the chance to do it over again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatest job ever
Detective Investigator Command - SID (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 5, 2014
Pros: everything
This was my life time dream & job, but I had to take an early retirement due to my mother being diagnosis with cancer for the first time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employment at the NYPD
Custodian-ground keeper (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 1, 2014
Pros: seniority within the department
Cons: lack of manpower, city is not hiring
I have been employed with the NYPD for the past 12 years. I am responsible for maintaining and waxing floors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The greatest Police Department in the country
Police Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 27, 2014
Working along side true Professionals of Law enforcement has allowed me to become a complete and deticated Police Officer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
place to learn both management and trial skills
Deputy Commissioner, Department Advocate (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 26, 2014
I worked at the KCDA for almost 15 years. I was able to move up the ladder from an assistant district attorney assigned to criminal court to a bureau chief where I supervised 40 people. I also tried over 70 cases many high profile and with complex scientific or medical evidence.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review Summary
Auxiliary Police Officer (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 24, 2014
Pros: great job
Your Review. It is a really great volunteer job. A lot of hands on work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious workplace
Custodial worker (Former Employee), Queens, NYJune 21, 2014
Pros: breaks, experience
Cons: lack of pay
While being excepted through summer youth explorers program (SYEP) to work at 113th pct I had the privileged to known what goes on behind the law enforcement system. I also observed that while it was a very friendly environment it was also a serious in the sense that all officers never took their work lightly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience
auxiliary police officer (Former Employee), Brooklyn, New YorkJune 11, 2014
Pros: great learning experience
Cons: volunteer position - did not get paid
I loved to work there. I learned a lot about policing experience (street patrol).
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Road Patrol
officer (Former Employee), New York, NYMay 28, 2014
Big City, a lots of issues. Must see, but be careful and stay out of area's that are not safe.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Job was a great job if you cared for people
Homicide Detective Second Grade 2006-2010 (Former Employee), NYMay 21, 2014
A typical day at work for me was totally different from that of others. Sometimes I would come in and there wouldn't be anything going on or I would be called in the middle of the night for a triple homicide. The detectives that you worked with were top of the line, we usually got a lot done. The hardest part of the job was that sometimes no matter – more... how hard you worked a case, that case would go cold pending further leads. The most enjoyable part of job was giving families some sort of closure so that they could start the process of healing. One other enjoyable part was going home to your family. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public servant
School Safety Agent Level (Former Employee), New YorkMay 5, 2014
Supervising personnel, ensuring safety at NY public schools and using courtesy, professionalism and respect at all times. Law enforcement position.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable place to work
Auxiliary Police Officer (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYMay 1, 2014
pros- love the schedule and the involvement within my community.

cons- its only voulanteer work why would they demand im always available for them when I'm not and then think I am lying.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatest Detectives in the World
Assigned as Commanding Officer (Current Employee), Brooklyn NYMay 1, 2014
Proud member of the NYPD. Supervising and Carrying out investigations of recent Homicides and non fatal shootings. I have 9 Detectives that I supervise
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding career
NYC Police Officer (Retired) (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYApril 28, 2014
Pros: medical insurance
Cons: long commute
learned how to deal with all types of situations, made a lot of lifelong friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Employment I ever had
Police Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 28, 2014
Pros: being in the forefront of peace and safety
Cons: emotionally demanding and at times dangerous
Rewarding, Exciting, and Vital work. Not for the Faint of heart.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patrolling, Safety and making arrests.
Safety Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 23, 2014
I was responsible for maintaining the safety of the students and faculty. Making arrests when necessary and completing the necessary paperwork for the Police Department. The most enjoyable part of this job was knowing that the well being of everyone was insured by me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun and interesting
POLICE OFFICER (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 17, 2014
.I enjoy going to work everyday its a rewarding job. I meet lots of people and every day is a different experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service Oriented
Traffic Enforcement Agent (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 15, 2014
the associates and management worked well together. keeps employees up to date with testing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and challenging work environment
Police Communications Technician (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 2, 2014
Working for the NYPD was challenging and exciting. I enjoyed my time there as a PCT.

About NYPD

There has never been a better time to join the NYPD. The New York City Police Department leads the nation with the most dramatic – Read more