Find companies:
NYPD
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
223 reviews

NYPD Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a rewarding twenty year career with the New York City Police Dept
Patrolmen/Detective (Former Employee), New York CityMarch 30, 2014
Pros: i worked in a variety of units within the nycpd in my 20years.
Cons: none applicable
I started with the NYCPD in 1982 and retired in 2002. I worked in a variety of units within the NYCPD.

I became a investigator in 1988, and was promoted to Detective in 1990. I was a Detective from 1990-2002.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HECTIC fast paced job
Police Communications Technician (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYMarch 23, 2014
Great job for those looking to make money while helping others. This is a very stressful job because you will be dealing with the people of NYC but it's rewarding knowing that you were the person behind a emergency phone that sent help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the nypd is a serious
Police Dispatcher (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYMarch 22, 2014
Pros: getting help to where its needed
Cons: more breaks and gym equipment is needed to relief stress for the workers
the nypd is a serious workplace ,and very stressful at times,i get along with my co-workers even though they can be challenged at times,but over ll i respect my job to the most,i enjoyed helping others ......
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New York State Penal law
Parking Control Specialist (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 20, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: dealing the weather
Make inspections of traffic condition's to regulate and control parking.
Remove foreign objects from parking meter.
Prepare and issue summonses for violations: records data regarding meter location, conditions and activities.
Operate motor vehicle.
Deputation as Special Patrolman by the New York City Police Department defines in the New York State Penal – more... Law. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Law Enforcement Agency
Detective, Criminal Justice Bureau (Former Employee), New York CityMarch 20, 2014
Detective Investigator, Investigating complex confidential investigations, using a vast knowledge of theory and technology to bring closure to a case.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult place to work
Tour Commander/Administrative-Lieutenant (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYMarch 18, 2014
Requires personal sacrifice required. Can be rewarding place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Evidence and Property Control Specialist (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 8, 2014
a typical day at work your co-workers, are hard workers they all loved working there.. and myself also.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
DB2 UDB DBA (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 27, 2014
Great place to work. Has a good Work/Life balance.Great place to work. Has a good Work/Life balance.Great place to work. Has a good Work/Life balance.Great place to work. Has a good Work/Life balance.Great place to work. Has a good Work/Life balance.Great place to work. Has a good Work/Life balance.Great place to work. Has a good Work/Life balance.Great – more... place to work. Has a good Work/Life balance.Great place to work. Has a good Work/Life balance.Great place to work. Has a good Work/Life balance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working enviornment
Police Officer and Police Sergeant (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 27, 2014
Best job in the world.Exciting and never a dull moment.Loved it every minute.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and excellent health coverage.
Payroll Clerk (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: great benefits.
Cons: sometimes lots of overtime.
A typical day at work entailed data entry of uniformed employees timesheets, I received all timesheets, requests for days off once approved, and inputted this information into the system. Excellent management staff and co-workers everyone got along. Most enjoyable part of this job was resolving problems with a members timesheet.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The NYPD has been a great experience
Emergency Service Unit (ESU) Commander (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 10, 2014
Pros: the many opportunities for its employees
Cons: buraucracy
The NYPD has been a great opportunity. It has opened many doors for me and has help me to achieve my career goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was an Intern
Intern (Former Employee), Astoria, NYJanuary 30, 2014
Learned from detectives true dedication to a job. As an intern I would attend to the detectives request. I found it to be an opportunity to apply and see what I learned as an International Criminal Justice Student in the community. I loved the passion the detectives they brought to work in order to follow up and solve crimes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responding to different calls in the community.
Police officer (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: benefits and salary
Cons: never knowing when your shift is actually done.
My job at the deparment varies daily with different scenarios and jobs. Everyday I met a group of different people from differnet cultures and learned something new eveyday about the community
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I acquired the skill sets of managing difficult individuals.
Police Attendant (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 21, 2014
I have previously serviced New York City residents as a Police Attendant, incarcerating/processing individuals with in the Judicial System which developed my understanding Criminal Sociology and the Penal Systems Law Enforcement services. I acquired the skill sets of managing difficult individuals by developing my knowledge base in the study of deviant – more... behaviors’. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An experience
SCG (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: learning about people everyday
Cons: unable to make life for everyone fair
To make sure everyone is safe and secure, Hard part is when i knew justice wasn't fair
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Detective Investigator, Police Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 19, 2014
To work for the greatest department in the greatest city. Once a you become a police officer in NYC you become part of 50,000 family
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am very outgoing and a peoples person.
School Safety Agent (Current Employee), Manhattan, NYJanuary 19, 2014
The hardest part of my job is not being able to help a person. being affiliated with the police department a lot of people will come to you with many different abnormal situation that i cannot helped them with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, challenging work place
Police Communication Technician (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: fast to move up in the company
Take 911 emergency calls
also building permit operator
big call center with several co workers
taking a real threatening calls
everyone was like family
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The New York City Police Department is the best career opportunity that I have experience so far in my life.
Detective (Current Employee), New York, NYJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: the new york city police department has many career opportunites throughout the department.
Cons: not enough time within my life span to experience them all.
The New York City Police Department(NYPD) has provided me the opportunity to make everyday a new experience with unlimited possibilities to learn and teach new ideas and techniques to my co-workers and the general public. The most difficult situations that I dealt with while working for the NYPD was being a first responder to the attacks of the World – more... Trade Center on February 26, 1993 and again on September 11, 2001. The highlights that I experience were the rescue of several individuals at the World Trade Center in 1993 and having the opportunity to bring new technology to the NYPD that is being used to protect the city of New York and citizens of the United States of America. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
School Safety Officer (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 10, 2014
Pros: great healthcare, vacation and sick time, great people
Cons: need higher pay
I really enjoyed working here learned a lot and meet a lot of great people.

About NYPD

There has never been a better time to join the NYPD. The New York City Police Department leads the nation with the most dramatic – Read more