Find companies:
O'Charley's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
128 reviews

O'Charley's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast casual dining, $2.5 million per year, great concept
Managing Partner (Former Employee), Roanoke, VANovember 14, 2014
I started with O'Charley's right out of college. It is a great company to be employed. I learned everything from the front of the house to the back of the house. My staff levels I maintained below 100% turnover.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kept you on your toes
Server, Shift Leader, Bartender, Crew Trainer (Former Employee), Richmond, INNovember 10, 2014
Did my first internship there. Learned basic operations of food service management. Inventory food cost, served guests, bartender and trained new hires
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Hostess (Current Employee), Canton, GANovember 3, 2014
Pros: good coworkers
Cons: i don't make enough money.
O'charley's is a good and fun work environment. I work with a lot of good people and the management actually care about you. I've learned a lot about the food industry. I love the friendships i have made!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
O'charley's was an o.k.place to work
Cook (Former Employee), Orlando,FLOctober 15, 2014
It is a "what have you done for me lately" type of place. They dont care what you did for them last month or last week just what have you done for me lately.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Regional HR Manager (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INOctober 7, 2014
Talent Acquisition and Planning, Personnel Development, Retention Practices, Legal Compliance Issues, Employee Relations, Succession Planning, Complaint Resolution, Managerial Support, Training and Development, Policy Administration, Recruiting, Coaching and Counseling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I hated it
Guest Assistant (Former Employee), Champaign, ILOctober 6, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: management and immature coworkers
I was stuck standing at the front door to greet guests, rarely allowed to move around restaurant. The management team was never on the same page, all but one of them continuously took over my job to the point of not needing me there. I loved most of the people I worked with, they made it fun and relaxed. The hardest part of my job was keeping my mouth – more... shut when it came to the managers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prodcutive and fun workplace with staff members.
Hostess (Current Employee), Fort Oglethorpe, GAOctober 2, 2014
Pros: 50% off if you work that day and come in and eat.
Cons: no breaks.
A typical day at work. If you open O'Charley's then you have to come in quite early. Your duties are to get all the menu's ready to go. You are in charge of making sure all spray bottles are full so the staff can clean their tables. You need to make sure plates and silverware and ready at the front lobby. Clean the door windows, and walk around the – more... store and make sure all windows are cleaned. You need to check the bathroom's and make sure toilet paper and paper towels are in their. And then when it's time, you unlock the front door. We have a rotation and that's so our staff get's equally sat. And I walk the customers to their assigned table sit them with menu's and let the server know they have a party. I also answer the phone up front, and sometimes plan parties. I learned that hosting takes a lot of concentration. The hardest part of the job, is when we get slammed and tables need to be cleaned so we can sit people. The most enjoyable part of the day is when we come off our rush, and have a hour left of work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Hostess (Former Employee), Dothan, ALOctober 1, 2014
fast pace
good management
good people to work with
good food
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace!
Hostess (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: meeting new people!
Cons: not enough hours to be worked!
I enjoyed working there! The staff that I worked with felt like family and I got to meet new people on a daily basis!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to be
service Manager (Former Employee), OhioSeptember 29, 2014
The job was not very nice the staff was great the managers on the other hand were bad and upper managment had no standard for any rule there were always 5 ways to do it right. I worked 6 weeks in a row on my day off and had to go in after close to clean because the other managers wouldnt make the staff do it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed atmosphere
Server/Hostess (Former Employee), Dayton, OHSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: discounted lunch
Cons: short breaks
taking care of the customers and keeping them happy. management was always very efficient. my co-workers always kept it interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, pushed too hard
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee), Kennesaw, GASeptember 17, 2014
Pros: free meals
Cons: work/life balance
Changed corporate leadership too often trying to find its identity in the casual dining market.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostess/To-go Server Review
Hostess/To-go Server (Former Employee), Huntsville, ALAugust 25, 2014
Pros: team work
Cons: long hours and weekends
As a hostess and to-go server at O'Charley's I learned different advertising and hospitality skills. I enjoyed greeting and serving the guest. I kept the front of the house and to go station cleaned and organized. I welcome guest with a friendly smile and did my very best to meet their every need as well as assisting my team members. I am very thankful – more... for all this job has taught me. I not only learned many management tactics, advertising skills, payroll, scheduling, and hospitality. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Server/Trainer (Former Employee), Greenville, NCAugust 19, 2014
Great place to work. Family friendly environment, both to eat at and to work at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable, easy to learn.
Guest Assistant (Former Employee), Avon, INAugust 13, 2014
I learned about customer service and the requirements that were needed to be met on a day to day basis with individual and group responsibilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pros and Cons
Music Instructor, September (Former Employee), Columbia, SCAugust 1, 2014
Pros are simple, if it's busy you make a good amount of money and the longer you stay the more money you make so you're kind of your own boss in one way, the con to that is when it's dead, you make no money.

The people were great to work with, I never had issues with a co-worker or a manager. If it was slow the sent me home if it was busy they let – more... me stay, but most of the time they would ask me either way, and most people were considerate of each other and everyone's schedules – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Server (Current Employee), Rock Hill, SCJuly 29, 2014
Guests are served and Management sees to the needs of each guest personally.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super Busy
Hostess Coordinator (Former Employee), Elizabethtown, KYJuly 23, 2014
Pros: busy, customer service, fun place to work
Cons: sometimes no break, hardly any days off
A typical day was extremely busy you came in and started working and usually didn't stop until the time you got off. I learned that organization is very important and being a leader is also very important. The management was always readily available just not always the most understanding. Co-workers were wonderful, everyone helped one another. The hardest – more... part of the job was that it was so busy that a lot of the time you never even got a break, even if you worked from open to close. The hardest part of the job was that I worked almost everyday. The most enjoyable part was that I was busy all the time which makes time go by faster and I also very much enjoy people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Mananger (Current Employee), Huntsville, ALJuly 17, 2014
Pros: benefits available
Cons: constantly changing, no breaks and work 12 hour shifts
Busy and meet a lot of new people everyday. You are expected to prep, cook, wash dishes, maintain daily inventory counts, write schedules, wait tables, train, hire, maintain invoices, check email, perform quality checks, complete daily check lists, travel to pick up inventory, maintain health standards, complete repairs, maintain grounds, document and – more... counsel employees, clean, maintain inventory,and help others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
values but dont live up to them
General Manager (Former Employee), Camby, INJune 25, 2014
Pros: lots of promise
Cons: no support
good place to work, strong values that dont flow down to operations. Computer systems antiquated

1 2 3 4 5