O'Charley's Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful and poor management
Server (Current Employee) –  Lebanon, TNJanuary 17, 2018
Wouldn’t recommend this place to anyone wanting good money or lots of hours. Management doesn’t really care about their workers they just want to get their day over with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at O'Charleys was a high school job, but I wouldn't recommend staying there
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Mooresville, NCJanuary 17, 2018
Working at O'Charleys was a job to pay for gas and my phone bill throughout high school, however it was never meant to be a job that I planned on staying at long term.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to serve.
Server (Former Employee) –  Aiken, SCJanuary 17, 2018
This really is a great place to be a server. Tips weren't always the best, but there were always shifts available to pick up if you needed to make more. Management (excluding current GM, he was fantastic!) at this specific location needs a little help, but restaurants typically do.
Pros
Food discount, Free Pie Wednesday.
Cons
Free Pie Wednesday, too many menu items.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love OCharley's
Manager/Bartender/Lead Server (Former Employee) –  Acworth, GAJanuary 17, 2018
Ready to start my career with the degrees that I have acheived and not working late nights for me and my family. I was able to grow with this company from a little girl to a grown woman with the ability to advance with the company, but now i have a daughter and a family and need to work towards my career with the time that I have went to school for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run poorly by management
Hostess and Waitress (Former Employee) –  Columbia, SCJanuary 17, 2018
Basically management had their pets or I should say affairs and those people always got the best hours and best locations in the restaurant to work during their shifts.
Pros
none
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJanuary 17, 2018
Good company, excellent money but lots of hours. 7 days a week and many times were at the store from morning till night. Sometimes an employee could work 2 weeks before receiving a day off
Pros
meeting people
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic
Lead/Closing Server/Trainer (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYJanuary 16, 2018
O'Charley's is a great start to being a server. It is not as fast-paced as others but not slow enough to were you can't grow. Chaos came into play because the managers weren't as stern as they should be.
Pros
Friendly Environment
Cons
Chaotic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VAJanuary 16, 2018
Very laid back environment, good amount of regulars. Day shifts were slow depending on the week but night shift were pretty decent. They give you the hours you need if you dont request certain days off.
Pros
Customer service skills
Cons
Lack of advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 13, 2018
No comment..............
I really don't have much to say about them.
They took away the bonus program while I was working there.
They made goals in reachable. No growth, no positive movement in the company.
Pros
Had great guest relations
Cons
No promotions given dead end job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
WAITRESS (Former Employee) –  Simpsonville, SCJanuary 13, 2018
Ocharleys was a fun a very high pace work place, the staff and management were very helpful and friendly. There was always room for advancement and extra hours!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Shift Leader (Former Employee) –  Gulfport, MSJanuary 13, 2018
It's laid back not to busy but it can be. The managers are down to earth and reasonable. Get paid every week. And on top of all of that the food is pretty good.
Pros
get paid every week
Cons
Have some discrepancies on vacation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay was not much but there is room for growth.
Closing Server (Former Employee) –  Tucker, GAJanuary 11, 2018
As a server at O'Charley's the company was fairly stable but the as an experienced server the tips did not add up to the work you put in. I only stayed for as long as I did because I was beginning to move up. Along the way some of my coworkers judged me differently and purposely made my job harder.
Pros
Stable work environment
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful group
Front of House Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Warner Robins, GAJanuary 9, 2018
After working with O'Charley's, the management is wonderful, encourages the group of hosts and servers to work as a team. Make busy nights less stressful and fun!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked there a long time ago
Waiter (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJanuary 9, 2018
I had this job a long time ago and the management at the time was pathetic to say the least but now adays it may have improved. Food was always good though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and fun work place
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Glen Allen, VAJanuary 9, 2018
O'charley's was a fun, energetic, and fast pace environment. Really good management. Some parts got stressful but over all a friendly place to work at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a typical day at the O
Server/Trainer (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJanuary 8, 2018
Everyone that I worked with was really nice. The guests were usually understanding on busy nights. The money was decent, especially if there's not a lot of responsibility to take care of at home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJanuary 7, 2018
Awful management and workplace. The atmosphere was tense and there was no helpful team within the workplace. The money was okay on the weekends but not worth the management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible !
Server and Hostess (Former Employee) –  Champaign, ILJanuary 7, 2018
Management has ruined this place. They’re very unorganized and just flat out rude, if there’s an issue with anything. I have heard them belittle other coworkers as well as myself. They do not have the respect to speak to you like a human being. This is why the turnover rate is so high :(
Pros
Quick
Cons
Management. Schedules.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Something I Expected
Server (Former Employee) –  Boardman, OHJanuary 6, 2018
I never knew what I was walking into when I would come into work. It was usually unorganized, along with the management, and would get penalized for minor mistakes. I did learn a lot such as the menu, customer service skills, and better time management.
Pros
Customers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun People
Server (Former Employee) –  Mansfield, OHJanuary 6, 2018
The employees were the best part of the job. It was fun to work there but they just didnt have enough hours to give out. Oh and they made a big deal of making sure you took out the tray holder and it made me feel like they didnt trust me to do my job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at O'Charley's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,034 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5