Find companies:
Oakland University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
41 reviews

Oakland University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with the students
Office of the Registrar, clerical staff (Current Employee), Rochester, MIApril 2, 2013
Pros: flexibility of hours
Cons: not enough scheduled hours
Love working in a higher education setting.
Recent addition to part time staff as well as conversion of computer tasks being automated has resulted In A reduction of part time hours. Presently wish to augment the number of hours I work each week.
The best parts of my present job are interaction with students and flexibility of days.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nursing student office job
Student Nursing Office Assistant (Former Employee), Rochester, MIMarch 29, 2013
Pros: i could do homework while at work
Cons: very low pay ad long hours
I got to learn about nursing from the inside out from OU nursing instructors. I got to help other students with their nursing modules and exams.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Teaching Assistant for 6 semesters (Former Employee), Rochester Hills, MIMarch 7, 2013
Never have I enjoyed doing something as much as I did working in the lab. From watching the light go on when a student understood what I was teaching, to seeing the final product of a dissection. This was the best experience of my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good seasonal position
Student employee (Former Employee), Rochester Hills, MIMarch 7, 2013
Pros: outdoors, left before 3pm almost everyday
Cons: early start, outdoors, low hourly pay
A typical workday was spent outside mowing or digging holes.

Learned that sometimes it can get very hot working outside.

Co-workers were mostly migrant workers.

Hardest part of the job was when it got hot out.

Most enjoyable part of the job was working independently.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Working Conditions in Higher Education
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee), Rochester, MIDecember 28, 2012
As an adjunct professor, my schedule varied from semester to semester. I taught American History - both introductory and advanced level courses.

The History Department was an excellent department for an adjunct. The staff was very supportive.

The students were the most enjoyable part of this job, and the hardest part of this job was to cover all of – more... the material in a relatively short period of time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Go OU!
Instructor, Dept. of Communication and Journalism (Current Employee), Rochester, MINovember 19, 2012
A great experience that allows me to interact with students while they work to achieve their goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative place to work
Director of Constituent Communications (Current Employee), Rochester, MI 48307November 5, 2012
Oakland University is an upbeat creative place to work. The most enjoyable part of the job is the autonomy I have to try new ideas and implement improvements.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair opportunity for advancement
Student Intern (Former Employee), Rochester, MIOctober 12, 2012
Pros: wonderful supervisor and co workers
My employment with Oakland University was through a work study program when I was a student. I enjoyed working closely with individuals who were former students of Oakland. The office setting was very comfortable and I was well trained.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome workplace
Fitness Intern (Current Employee), Rochester, MIOctober 2, 2012
Pros: scheduling, communication, staff, facilities, members
Cons: income
A typical day at work would be working with my team in the morning. Meetings around noon with group members, team leaders, marketing staff, board members, and educators to review things going on in the fitness, wellness facilities. Afternoon is setting up, coordinating and preparing for the fall into fitness program, biggest loser program and harvest – more... to health wellness fair. The end of my day begins with educating students for the Fall into Fitness wellness program for all students.

The most enjoyable part of my job is working with people. I like getting to know people, working with people and talking to people to get to know them, learning their stories and learning how I can help them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love sharing my knowledge and experiences with adult learners
Adjunct Faculty, Executive MBA Program (Current Employee), Auburn Hills, MISeptember 25, 2012
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: not full time
One passion is to help management create the best workplaces they can. Technical knowledge is important. Application, even if in the classroom is valid also
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top shelf State University in SE MI!
Director of Graduate Marketing & Recruitment (Former Employee), Rochester Hills, MISeptember 21, 2012
Pros: beautiful campus, great coworkers, solid benefits.
Great education, location, faculty, staff and student body. Nice variety of undergraduate, graduate and doctoral programs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Team and Benefits!
Finance and Administration - Executive Secretary (Former Employee), Rochester, MISeptember 11, 2012
Pros: benefits, team mentality, co-workers
Cons: hours, monthly pay schedule
Throughout my career, I have never worked for a company that provided such amazing and affordable benefits!

A typical work day consisted of running errands, managing excel spreadsheets and supervising the master calendar. By directly assisting the Budget Manager, I learned the basics in accounting. Both upper management and my co-workers worked hard – more... as a time, which has directly impacted the success of Oakland University. The most enjoyable part of my job was the incredible knowledge/experience I gained. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
During college
Help Desk (Former Employee), Auburn Hills, MISeptember 7, 2012
good management
good coworkers
worked during college time, had fun working there while student
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely productive place to work and learn.
Research Technician (Former Employee), Rochester, MISeptember 5, 2012
Pros: extremely productive experimental laboratories.
Cons: no advancement.
A typical day included laboratory work which included working with cell lines, as well as animal models. I learned great laboratory techniques and was given the responsibility of training other students in the lab.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On campus employment is fantastic!
Student Office Assistant (Former Employee), Rochester, MIJuly 3, 2012
While at Oakland University I worked in the Academic Skills Center on campus. The work as manageable, the staff were wonderful, and the higher education environment is very appealing. I had the best co-workers and meeting other departments was always fun and interesting as you learned the ins and outs of other departments. Understanding how the university – more... works makes even more loyal and thankful to attend. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Rochester Hills, MIJune 8, 2012
Pros: scheduling
Great job. Was able to work when I was available and work was fun. Loved running the tests.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University campus life extends to employees
Staff Attorney (Former Employee), Rochester, MIMay 8, 2012
Pros: all
As In house attorney at Oakland University I had an abundance of interesting legal work and challenges. I was given incredible opportunities to work for all levels of University employees from the President's cabinet, University Deans & on campus University Police. My workload was very high paced with strict deadlines but I had the Assistant General – more... Counsel and General Counsel to seek guidance and advise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allows me to work independently and utilize my exceptional organization and communication skills
Event Coordinator & Project Manager (Current Employee), Rochester, MIApril 10, 2012
Pros: freedom to manage events, work with little direction
Cons: can be difficult to navigate the system.
My typical day consists of communicating with other departments and outside agencies to coordinate events, order supplies and services, obtain information and communicate needs and desires for events. I compile and manage databases, I do budget projections, I work with volunteers and volunteer organizations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Administrative Secretary (Former Employee), Rochester Hills, MIJanuary 24, 2012
Pros: awesome benefits
Cons: low pay, not career oriented, poor management
Oakland University has great benefits, with mediocre salaries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent work place
Teaching Associate at Oakland University (Former Employee), Rochester, MIApril 25, 2013
Atypical day at work is easy going. I learned a lot. Management is friendly. My co-workers are nice and very smart. Nothing is hard of my job. I enjoy every part of my job.