Oakley Transport Employee Reviews

Showing all 29 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Recommended
Driver Manager/Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 28, 2017
This company does not care very much about the circumstances of its employee's family. If you want to be able to make it to your special family events and feel appreciated you should stay away from here. Your on the road all the time and they constantly make you late for your requested vacation days. Sometimes by 3 or four days after you needed to be home.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair new equipment
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNApril 19, 2017
i drove a mack Vision super ten, i loved it. Was gone a lot. I learned how to offload a tanker. Training was good. i drove from Florida to Oregon to Washington then to Oklahoma, then home to memphis TN.
Pros
fairly new trucks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent,Outstanding Experience
Night Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLNovember 7, 2016
Food Grade Tanker, Kosher and ISO Certified Transport Company. Excellent opportunity to earn the transport of manufacturing materials to consignees who manufacture the foods and beverages we consume.
Company has a "Mentoring Culture", everyone is so willing to stop what their doing, assist when asked a question to mentor a new hire in their acclamation process.
Extremely Pro-Driver, retention, goal orientated!
Pros
Mentoring Culture, Pro Driver retention, goal orientaed.
Cons
Non really for the Leadership side of the business
Was this review helpful?Yes8No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A family company
Over the road driver (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLSeptember 23, 2016
If your local Oakley is a great company to work for. But living across the other side of the country, trying to get home is a bit of a pain. They require you out for a min of 4 weeks. Doing this does not help if you are married.
Was this review helpful?Yes36No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not organized
Diesel Technician (Current Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLSeptember 18, 2016
Shop not up to date with tools and software. No order in management and not organized. Work is giving out excessively can't get one job done and have two more on top of that job, not enough mechanics in the shop to handle the work load.
Cons
No management order
Was this review helpful?Yes22No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent North American Scenery & various customer interactions.
CDL Driver Class A Tanker (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLAugust 30, 2016
Interesting moments in seeing food grade processes & procedures. How meticulous attention to detail the transport vehicles are prepped for hauling various food commodities in liquid bulk tankers.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No27Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely no home time
Driver (Former Employee) –  Lake whalesAugust 18, 2016
At first, they throw money at you for orientation, good company feel. Trainers were excessive smokers and all talked bad about each other. Once on your own they expect you to be out for 2 months at a time and when you get home, Dispatch blows your phone up after the second day. It's absolutely ridiculous. Once your back on the road your just sitting at truck stops not making money. What a waist of time. I would never work at a place like that again. The recruiters bait you in with a smile, all lies.
Pros
Good equipment, great insurance package plans
Cons
No home time, no miles, poor management, dispatch could care less.
Was this review helpful?Yes46No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible communication
Driver/Laborer (Former Employee) –  IdahoJuly 9, 2016
Job posted for work in home state but no work there. Sat in truck for days waiting for loads could never locate loads to haul. Training sucked. Trained on things that were not needed and didn't train on things needed in the field. Try to call dispatchers and managers. Never get a return phone call. If you need help after 5:00 good luck! They will leave you stranded until the next day and they might text you but no phone call. Promise you lots of miles but have to spend so much time at truck wash outs that you lose miles. Also they only pay practical miles so you lose a lot of miles like 150 a day that you don't get paid for! Was told to take very little with me because they would send me home right away with truck. Weeks later got me home. Company wants you to pay for everything, tole roads, fittings, hard hat, everything that can possibly be bought cheaper else where. Not a good experience. Read and pay attention to the reviews. There is a reason they bring in 10-15 people every Monday for orientation!
Pros
Clean trucks
Cons
No communication
Was this review helpful?Yes37No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sit in the truck every weekend
Driver (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GAJuly 3, 2016
I would not advise anybody to join TAKE MY WORD. Driver Managers are terrible. They don't care about drivers at all. You will be out for 6 to 8 weeks before you can get to see home time. You will sit in the truck every weekend.
NB: Drivers pays for everyou little this including gloves, fittings, rubber hammer, seals cutting tool e.t.c it comes out of your pocket.
Pros
Free Nothing
Cons
Healthcare terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes35No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waste of time
Driver (Current Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLJune 26, 2016
I have been here a couple of months and I have only had one decent paycheck so far. The equipment is good and the people are really nice, but there's no way I'm going to get near the kind of money the recruiter told me I would make. The company doesn't seem to care either. They have a new group of recruits every Monday so the freight will get moved and that's all they care about.
Pros
Good equipment, easy work
Cons
Low pay, weeks at a time in the truck. Sitting in a truckstop or terminal every weekend.
Was this review helpful?Yes42No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Management
Recruiting Processor (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLJune 25, 2016
Managers do not care about employees. They tell you that it is a family company but they could care less if you are dedicated. If you are a women there is no chance of getting promoted.
Pros
Experience
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes34No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The real truth
Driver (Current Employee) –  Unknown, USAJune 5, 2016
When I was first contacted by the recruiting department, I had my doubts and for good reason. Recruiter lied! Comes with the territory right, wrong. We do not have to keep doing this to other drivers, we do not have to accept it, you promise it, you should deliver it.
It's forced dispatch.
Anything west of Laredo and Dallas, 5 to 6 weeks before home time.
Dedicated goes to seniority, unless you out perform them if you can manage to get on.
Medical is over 125 a week, unless your single.
They do not care if your sick as long as job gets done and would rather to give you days off in the truck instead of send you home to get better.
At first they do make it seem like a good company spending that money to get you to orientation but it's most defiantly not training.
After orientation, they throw you to the wolf's. Set you up for failure but they do give you a list of driver trainers to call when you realize that they didn't show you how to do that in orientation but did talk about it or mention it, briefly.
I am disappointed in the company. I expected better not more BS.
Pros
The welcome is awesome
Cons
They rush you through orientation without proper training. Not enough home time. Forced dispatch.
Was this review helpful?Yes48No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of Work
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLNovember 22, 2015
Long haul from Florida to California every week running teams. However the company is not family oriented so there is not a lot of home time.
Was this review helpful?Yes90No18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seemed to have turned a new leaf compared to prior reviews.
truck driver (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MINovember 16, 2015
Driver for Oakley. Great pay, benefits are expensive but good, no complaints. Dispatch talks respectful and customers are friendly and we have a good reputation with them. Trucks are good but older, new ones go to senior drivers as they should. No complaints.
Pros
Pay. Orientation pay and hotel. Support
Cons
Older trucks. Tank washes but that's this business
Was this review helpful?Yes71No26Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Falsely Advertising To Suck In More Drivers
Driver (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLNovember 16, 2015
Oakley hired me, and many other drivers, under their current advertising claiming that drivers will get 2 days off work for every 7 days worked. We were also told break down and layover pay had no caps. Now Oakley is telling it's drivers that they only get 1 day off at home for every 7 days worked, and they basically have capped break down and layover pay at 1 day no matter how long you sit. They do this with a smile on their faces and telling you that it's a good thing. It might be for the company but it sure isn't for the driver that has a family at home and likes to spend time with them. It's a all new low for Oakley Transport that claims to be family oriented and know that home time with drivers family's is important to them.
Pros
The cpm (if they don't lie and change that as well)
Cons
Read the Review
Was this review helpful?Yes101No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oakley
Driver (Former Employee) –  lake Wales, Fl.July 18, 2015
i have worked at Oakley for a few years. They do promise you the world. When you get on your own they will not run you at first for two reasons. First they don't want to push you until your ready. Second they want you to go to management to tell them your not getting mile. Once you do they will make sure you get what you need. When something is bothering you they want you to tell them. As you know squeaky wheel gets the grease
Pros
benefits and pay
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes106No32Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no no no
driver (Former Employee) –  flFebruary 22, 2015
Don't do it they will hang you out to dry in that hole in florida.bad training,over worked,wont pay you for travel time.wont pay as promised
Pros
bed bug hotel
Cons
work 12 hours a day four the first month
Was this review helpful?Yes128No25Report
Official response from Oakley Transport
September 3, 2015

Oakley Transport now uses the Holiday Inn Express in Lake Wales. Full breakfast, nice clean rooms and any amenities needed within walking distance.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work enviroment, fast paced
Driver Manager/Dispatcher for a Kosher Certified (Current Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLJanuary 16, 2015
Fast paced office that requires good multitasking skills.
Pros
Salary & benifets
Cons
24 hour responsibily and commitment
Was this review helpful?Yes37No44Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this place sucks
former driver (Former Employee) –  lake wales, flApril 26, 2014
Poor old equipment, always at the shop, poor planning low miles, everyone else breaks down they want u to help constantly. Facilties are soso. Smaller company feel with nice people, to bad cant make a living on a 600mi weeks pay, seeya
Pros
nice co-workers
Cons
junk equipment, low miles look elsewhere
Was this review helpful?Yes142No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unexplained policies
Trailer Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Lake Wales, FLApril 9, 2014
the management wasn't that great and i was terminated for violating a company policy i was unaware of that is NOT mentioned in any employee handbook i received when hired
Was this review helpful?Yes114No22Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Oakley Transport. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.6
Based on 29 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.0
Compensation/Benefits
2.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.3
Management
2.1
Culture
2.3

CEO Approval

33%
12 ratings
Add your rating